We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice city break”
Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice city break”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here in a studio room for 2 nights, over the Fringe opening weekend. We chose it because it's walking distance to the Garden of Unearthly Delights, and has a pool.
The pool on the roof was small, but amazing and warm and we had quite a few dips during our stay.
The room was clean and modern, bed comfy.
The shower does go everywhere, but it's no biggie really, just put the bath mat down.
The man on the front desk was very friendly and always said hello.
Overall it was a nice place to stay for a weekend away, close enough to everything we needed, but not in the noisy crazy centre of it all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    130
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
179
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Clarion Soho for Big Day Out with friends, and will definitely remember this hotel for our next stay. Studio Suite looked very nice, although there were a couple of quality issues in the bathroom (shower design is odd, water goes everywhere after a shower, and the basin was emptying at a very slow rate). The staff were very friendly and "kept their cool" even during this very hot weekend. However, the lift and floor corridors were quite hot and stuffy during the afternoons.

Standard queen bed was comfortable and the sofa bed was set up when we arrived at the room as I requested upon reservation which is nice.

Room was clean and looked great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We arrived on a hot afternoon, after 2pm to find our room was not cleaned and the staff a little frazzled. We left our luggage in the small reception area and went for a walk while we waited for the cleaning staff to prepare our room. The lift and corridor areas were uncomfortably warm and stuffy and not particularly welcoming on a hot day. Our bed was very clean and comfortable, the large, opening windows were appreciated too. The bathroom got very wet after the shower had been on and there was an ugly, exposed patch where a fixture had been removed from the wall. Very convenient location for dining and shopping in a vibrant part of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

DO NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!!!

It was a 42 degree day. We got to the hotel at 3pm and asked about valet parking or parking yourself option, as it was on their hotel website. And The hotel staff said to us "it is full! you can park on the street, my boss parked out there for 3 days without getting a fine, I am sure you will be fine." Right!! "Great" attitude to start with. So we ended up need to park on the street, and need go down 2 hours after buy another ticket without getting a fine, we did the same in the next morning waking up at 8am to get another ticket for parking.

When we got into the room, the bathroom is tiny! But not only that the shower design is really bad, after you have a shower, water is all over the bathroom!! This is supposed to be a newly build hotel but you can tell the finish of the room is not great at all. The foxtel channels were very poor quality.

We have always used to stay in the Rendezvous. A night in the Clarion Hotel soho is the same price as the Rendezvous, and compared to Rendezvous, Clarion Hotel soho is no where near or can compare to Rendezvous. (Location, service, quality of the room, staff attitude, parking)

We definitely won't come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lbl_gaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed there two nights, good location, also car park for 15$ a day , very convenience ( limited ), room was nice and same like on a pictures, really quiet , comfortable bed, clean , everything was good about the room.
Staff was nice as well, the cleaners forgot to refill or fridge with milk but except that it was a good experience.
The pool at the top is so amazing , quiet and warm.
Breakfast at the "Decant " restaurant was really good too, but for diner the restaurant was closed so I was disappointed but we walked 5/10mins to Rundle street and we have a lot of choice ( that's basically the restaurant street).
Definitely stay longer next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed one night here - looking for accommodation close to a 2 day meeting nearby. I enjoyed the unusual layout of the room and the quirky modern architecture. Didn't notice any street noise from the room. Great restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a brief two night stay booked for business and generally happy with my stay.
Decor is very modern and stylish but service and conditions were very "motel" like or less then the star rating would suggest.
Restaurant staff were young and friendly but inexperienced - this didn't detract from the service it was just noticeable when they didn't know how to prepare certain drinks and also in their presentation.
I guess the decor and pricing sets a higher expectation then the actual service experience.
Also agree on the not so great toiletries.
But bed was super comfortable and block out blinds were fantastic.
Utilised the rooftop pool also which was a nice touch after days of meetings.
Adelaide doesn't have a great range of hotels - it's either the big chains or some budget hostels, so the clarion Soho does strike a nice modern mid-range option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Soho Hotel Adelaide is located in the fashionable and leafy Adelaide East End within easy walking distance to some of Adelaide's best restaurants, bars and shopping precincts. The Soho is a boutique hotel that caters for both business and leisure stays. The hotels heated roof top pool is the perfect place to relax after a busy day, or enjoy a meal or cocktail in our funky onsite S2 thai projects by Social Street. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast and fantastic coffee at our neighbor restaurant The Flinders Street Project (charge back is available). All rooms feature King size beds with luxe linen, desks, high speed complimentary wireless internet, bi-folding windows, VoIP phones, large flat screen TV's, extensive range of bathroom amenities, T2 teas & Robert Timm's coffee, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers and well stocked mini bars featuring SA wine and craft beers. The hotel offers a $30 per night credit for guests who book direct on their website or call us direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing