We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a lovely 1 night stay during Fringe and it really felt as though we were in another world. Location is great as its a short walk to Rundle St but far enough away so you don't get the noise. Room nice, modern and big. Staff were fantastic. Decant was lovely food maybe lacks a little atmosphere. Bathroom a little small but still fine. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    125
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
174
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights on a very busy weekend in Adelaide, I had booked the Clarion online through Groupon. I found the staff to be very friendly, its a small 'boutique' type hotel, minimal staff, nice dining area at the front.
The room was very well appointed with all you could need, one small problem was the tap in the bathroom sink, it needed refitting as it was loose and wobbly, otherwise all ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineSydney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

While the hotel interior is very nice, the location pretty good and the staff generally friendly (Except for a couple behind the reception desk on occasion) I was not left too happy with my overall experience of the hotel. For the price I was paying per night I did expect a much higher level of service than we received. The main issue that soured the experience for me was the general quality of housekeeping. Myself and my girlfriend stayed for 5 nights and did not once have our bed linen changed. I appreciate that it is wasteful to do this every night but most hotels leave you with the option to opt out of having your sheets changed to save energy/help the environment. As it was the bed was simply just made rather than cleaned. Even staying in cheap travelodges or hostels you can expect this to be done on a nightly basis so why it was not done for us I do not know, despite raising it with one of the reception staff it still wasn't done and frankly I was on holiday and couldn't be bothered to argue or raise it again. Our fridge was also not stocked each day so I had to go down to reception every day to ask for milk for tea/coffee etc. It really is unacceptable that guests have to take it upon themselves to seek out staff to correct these issues on an almost daily basis and especially seeing as this is a supposed 5 star hotel. I can only assume that the general custom of the hotel is for one night business stopovers in Adelaide and therefore they are not used to people staying for longer, this inst really an acceptable excuse however and I feel that they perhaps need to give their staff more training or have a bit of a shakeup. Luckily Adelaide is a lovely place and we had a great time exploring so it wasn't all bad!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Australia Day in a Spa room. Anthony on the desk was very helpful to us. The restaurant is quite small but has quite a good wine list. Breakfast was very good, with me having eggs benedict and my wife having two egg Mediterranean omelette.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GourmondoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Reception staff very unfriendly and not helpful, can't even say 'hello' when you walk past or look you in the eye when you talk to them. Very abrupt and defensive, not trying to help even with the most basic problem, including an electrical problem in the room or asking for help to heat up a bottle of milk for a baby. Did not feel welcome here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirteZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good location, private, quiet, nice view.
Wouldnt ever order breakfast - room service again. Small quantities, could have been fresher - a bit airlineish! Had a much better breaky at the Loose Caboose in Thebarton the next day for a similar if not lesser price.
Top floor was special with the spa window looking out to the city. However Soho need to call in the maintennance - towell rack nearly falling off, tap head fell off, grout coming away, tiles need a super clean!
Bed was comfy, bummer there were no screens on the fantastic open windows - means one has to be more reliant on the air conditioner (big no no these days!).
Nice to have the room cleaned up on day one.
Good reception for half the time - friendly, helpful - this really makes a difference.
Cheers
Nic and Nin

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAustraliaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th year staying here coming for the tour down under. We really like the location and the rooms are well appointed with a terrific options to open the whole window area. Made a mistake with the booking and ended up having a double booking that wasn't picked up until the this morning so we were facing to pay a whole night for the error. Groan. Just heard from the front desk that they were willing to forgo us paying!! It was not at all a given but what ends up being the reason we like this place, great customer service.

We will certainly be back!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#14 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's hippest boutique accommodation evokes the eclectic, arty vibe of London's Soho district just meters from Adelaide's trendy East End. From its slick contemporary exterior to its stunning interior decor, Soho is an uber-chic experience boasting 30 luxurious rooms, including balcony & spa suites, with views over Adelaide's city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing