We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most TERRIBLE hotel I have ever been”
Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most TERRIBLE hotel I have ever been”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I regretted a lot I should see the tripadvisor first so I would know these reviews so I would not stay in this hotel for 3 days. This is such a terrible hotel as it should not be rated as 5 star.
The service is really poor. Our booking includes a breakfast buffet which is not that kind of buffet that you can easily pick up what you want from the table. They need you to order. And it take 20mins for the chief to cook it. The first day we were in a hurry and we required a take-away breakfast. The bus was waiting for us and we told them we had to leave. The chief was so angry that he threw the pan into rubbish bin and yelled out "Are you fuxxing serious?!" That was really a bad attitude and we felt no respect.
The room is near the street and the traffic noise is very annoying. And we can not find toothbrush and toothpaste in our room. We called the front desk to ask for some, but the second day it had still nothing. So for day 3.
I will strongly not recommend this hotel. And I will not come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruce0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    130
    60
    25
    21
See reviews for
19
179
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to adelaide for a 2 day weekend conference,16/17 nov.Chose this hotel as was close to zoo,ALSO conference rooms.Got in late as flight was delayed ,lovely room all you need for a 4 star ,i would rate it higher.Great bed/plasma/minibar and really good and well priced room service beeakfast,,no frill exactly what you want

Room Tip: Corner rooms look better,bue as i was alone took standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hadn't heard of this hotel previously so was good to stay somewhere new.

The location is a few blocks from the rundle mall but is an easy 10 minute walk.

There is limited off street parking which is a bit annoying as the street parking is ticketed monday to Saturday. So you either need to be out and about or lucky enough to score a spot.

The rooms have been renovated. They are modern with great colours. There are parts of the roof which weren't fully plastered so that was a bit strange but didn't impede at all. Parts of The bathroom was a bit run down but overall great rooms. They are a but bigger than regular hotel rooms too.

Not to be missed is the restaurant Decant. It is tiny only a few tables, but the food was amazing! Excellent wine list too. Did not expect a dinner so good, would return here,no doubt.

Down side was one of the staff on the desk. Rather rude and not trained very well in customer service.

Overall good stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I bought a Groupon Voucher and used it for our Anniversary. First impressions nice and room size good, but then most things were disappointing. The bathroom is tiny and no screen on shower meant more water out of shower than in, the size only allowed standing room for one so we couldn't get ready at the same time, as my husband needed to shave while I needed hair and makeup, the lighting for these requirements was very poor both in the bathroom and main room. The volume for the TV could only be increase by getting up to the TV as the remote only worked to turn volume down, and the channels were basic, and don't even bother looking at the dated dvds on offer.There was half frozen water in the ice tray when we arrived so I decide to top up with fresh water & turn up the fridge, glad for doing so as the ice tray felt slimey don't know how long it had been since washed, so i washed it myself, but it still hadn't frozen by the time we left the next day. At dinner we were greeted and looked after by a lovely bubbly lady, her personality saved the night as the chef was to arrogant to consider a customers request to alter a meal,(serve the roo with potato mash not artichoke puree, not a big ask as the fillet steak was served with mash). My meal was of average quality and I have had better for less money,although my husband quite enjoyed the pasta after being told they couldn't alter the roo. We didn't bother with desert instead opted for a walk down to Rundle st for gelati. At breakfast we asked to sit outside and were told we would have to take out our own we said ok then were told don't worry they could bring it out, the set breakfast was quite nice. On a positive the king size bed was very comfy and we both had a good sleep. We were not happy to find that the required $100 deposit paid on arrival could not be used to settle our account on departure, and would not be reimbursed until midnight Thursday(4 days later) as we were put short having to find the extra not budgeted for. We have 4 young kids and every dollar is tight this was our first night out in two years. Jay hit the nail on the head with - Wasn't terrible, but would probably try somewhere else next time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A one night stay in a balcony corner room with heaps of space,beautiful comfy kingsize bed.The street was quiet,no traffic noise with a lovely view.Ate in Decant Restaurant for dinner and breakfast,beautifully presented and tasted great!Would be most happy to recommend and will be back for our next stay in SA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adealide
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed one night on a Groupon Voucher. Staff helpful, easy parking. Room nice and large. However bathroom was tiny, no need to be that small and water from shower sprayed all over floor and shower head couldn't be ajusted either. We had trouble figuring out the foxtel channels and TV was damaged with lines through the screen. Think it is really poor that pool was closed due to renovations and we were not informed beforehand. They should have told us it would be closed at the very least or offered a further discount or not state it on the groupon in the first place.
Breakast was good. To make it perfect 2 pieces of toast instead of one and some hollandaise sauce would have gone down a treat. Saying that however, both me and hubby had upset stomach's shortly after breakfast. maybe the sausage??? Wasn't a terrible experience, but would probably try somewhere else next time

Room Tip: higher floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayAdeladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights and had a pleasant experience. The room was a good size, clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. My only criticism was the shower - it didn't work particularly well and sprayed a mist rather than a powerful jet. The shower was also only half enclosed and therefore most of the bathroom floor was wet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer255315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Property: Clarion Hotel Soho
Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Soho Hotel Adelaide is located in the fashionable and leafy Adelaide East End within easy walking distance to some of Adelaide's best restaurants, bars and shopping precincts. The Soho is a boutique hotel that caters for both business and leisure stays. The hotels heated roof top pool is the perfect place to relax after a busy day, or enjoy a meal or cocktail in our funky onsite S2 thai projects by Social Street. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast and fantastic coffee at our neighbor restaurant The Flinders Street Project (charge back is available). All rooms feature King size beds with luxe linen, desks, high speed complimentary wireless internet, bi-folding windows, VoIP phones, large flat screen TV's, extensive range of bathroom amenities, T2 teas & Robert Timm's coffee, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers and well stocked mini bars featuring SA wine and craft beers. The hotel offers a $30 per night credit for guests who book direct on their website or call us direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing