We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the rabbit warren”
Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Adelaide
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We booked the two bedroom apartment for my wife-to-be and her bridesmaids for the night before our wedding. I helped cart our stuff up (without assistance) but did borrow the hotel's cart, and was kicked out by the girls. Wheeling the cart through the maze of balconys was not easy as they aren't very wide at all. My first impession was the rooms were small, the kitchen tiny, and the living area miniscule. The balcony overlooked the courtyard which is surrounded by rooms. The hotel is in Hindley st. which means two things; you are in the middle of the city, and you are in the pub and club area. Parking is available at $10 a night, and internet at a minimum charge of $5, both overpriced in my opinion. It is cheap for a reason...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bicepman4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2007

we stayed here ii 2 bedroom premium even though we read the bad reviews as there weren't many left available in Adelaide during the school holidays. on the first night i pulled the cover off my bed and lied down, i looked up and screamed! there as a massive blood patch stain on the top of my pillow!!!! that means that they didn't change the sheets of my bed or pillow! yuk! they just kept apoligsiing and gave no compensation what so ever! a discount or free breakfast would have been nice but no... i could have got a disease from it or something@! besides that the room we were first given was right on the road side when we specifically requested an inside, so be had to get all our things and move to another room. the place is like only 3 stories high and quite small, if its raining u are likely to get wet wen getting to ur room so bring an umbrella. quite an old place, lobby is very small, no facilities. although u do get on site parking, its $10 per day and a real pain to get in as u hav to press a button which is really hard to get and u almost hit the front of ur car on the roller door!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank random_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

The Hotel is conveniently situated to the city, cultural sites and the night clubs(if that's what you want!). The hotel staff were pleasant and efficient. Our 2 bedroom apartment was average in size, and had all the conveniences that we needed. Breakfast was included in our package, there was enough to eat but limited choices.

Our problems were noisy plumbing from neighbouring apartments which was loud enough to wake you in the morning, and the loud noise from the nightclubs down the street that were pumping out music into the wee small hours of the morning, and the sea of people walking the streets. Lets not forget the party above us that sounded like they were playing indoor cricket, fortunately the night staff at reception were quick to put and end to it after my early morning phone call.

Next time in Adelaide we will look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We have stayed many times in the Saville Park Melbourne, so thought the standard would be comparable here...It did not even come close.

We drove ( we normally fly ) from Melbourne to Adelaide to make it an adventure for our twins, which, as one can imagine, by the time we got there we were looking forward to a bit of rest.

The desk clerk was a surly chap who acted as though he were doing us a favor by taking our money !
There was no-one to help us with our baggage so we had to load it onto a trolley and take it up in the very small lift 1/2 at a time because each of us had a child with us.

We had booked the largest apartment ....well they gave us an apartment that was as far from anything available in the hotel conveniences as possible.
The tiny balcony overlooked a noisy street, a prison? or lock-up for temporary prisoners, a very noisy alleyway that was constantly either filled with drunks or speeding youths.
Needless to say, we did not use the balcony or enjoy any views.

The apartment caught most of the sun so was incredibly stuffy without the air conditioner....which broke down the 2nd day and didn't get fixed till 2 days later.
The rooms had unfinished paintwork and shabby plastering.
The were no pictures on the walls and absolutely bare minimal of furnishings.
The kitchen looked as if they had picked up an old 1970 laminate cupboard and bench and tacked it in with a few spare screws. The cupboard under the sink area had a big hole in it where you could see the old fittings had been and was full of dust and crumbs.
The carpet was stained and dirty.....we normally have a shoes off policy in our home, but NOT here!

The bathroom was basically a closet with everything stuffed in so you couldn't turn around in it.
There was no bath only a shower stall with a grubby shower curtain ...honestly I have stayed at caravan parks with better bathroom facilities!

It made me feel they thought we were second class for bringing our children and they didn't want anything ruined or broken!

We love Adelaide, it has beautiful gardens and buildings, lovely museums and art gallery's. It is a city that is very convenient in size and is easy to explore.
The beach is close, you can take a tram down to Glenelg and have a great meal at the Irish pub on the end of the line.
There are plenty of great eating places , all within walking distance of the cbd.
It's not our first visit there and we will be back again....but....

The best thing about the whole stay at this hotel, was leaving!! as I couldn't wait to go back to my home.....and phone the Saville Park in Melbourne to tell them how wonderful they were in comparison.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mytravellertales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

The rooms are nothing like what is on their website. The hotel is old and in need of refurbishment. Our room overlooked a lane way and a brick wall and was noisy. We could hear all the plumbing noises from adjacent units. Overall we were disappointed, but the location is good and a free bus to the city centre leaves from outside.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

Our opinion of these apartments was colored by the fact we had already stayed in three excellent apartments, Mandalay in Port Douglas, Meriton World Towers Sydney and Clarion Gateway Melbourne. The rooms were on the small size, and the area was suspect. However the staff were extremely helpful and the apartments were clean and reasonably comfortable. Perhaps because they were such good value they did seem to attract a younger age group and sound insulation isn't as good as it might be

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gjw5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We had a two bed apartment, we used Saville in four locations this was by far the worst but we only had it for one night and the staff were very helpful. Parking underneath was fine, a bit of a bad area of town, the walk ways and room were gloomy and the double glazing a dead loss thus very noisy. Small bedrooms and bathroom but otherwise the facilities and lounge were good.OK by Australian standards I think and recommend despite reservations although I think we paid way over the odds looking at local adverts for the same hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Address: 255 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#19 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $79 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide’s contemporary West End. Guests of BreakFree Adelaide will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities. BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the ‘City Free Bus’ that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall, or visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door). BreakFree Adelaide has a NO PARTY policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing