We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“V8 weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“V8 weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the V8 Clipsal weekend in 2014. We had the double bedroom. One room with a double bed and the other with 2 single beds.The hotel room was big, comfortable and clean. The shower was for short people. we had to bend our knees to get our hair wet and the pressure wasn't very good. As it was full there was a lot of noise at night from in side the hotel but we couldn't here any street noise. The staff was friendly. the hotel was walking distance to Rundle Mall. we did walk to the v8 track but took 40 mins but there are buses you can catch to and from the track.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Amanda W

Thank you for your review of Breakfree Adelaide on Trip Advisor.

The feedback you gave regarding the shower head is very valuable as we will soon be undergoing a refurbishment of the rooms.

Its great to hear that you found your room to be big, comfortable and clean. I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree Adelaide if you return to the V8's again next year.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    387
    172
    57
    41
See reviews for
247
266
62
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Our apartment was clean and well equipped with a small kitchen (full fridge, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster), living area with 3-seat couch, single chair and table for four. Our two boys had their own room with two singles and we had a queen room. We thought the price was reasonable, considering it was a CBD apartment and we saved $$ by cooking in. All rooms were small, nothing flash, but still much better than being in a standard hotel room.
Location is great. Hindley St is known for its bars and 'adult' stores/clubs, but it was always fairly quiet and we felt safe, even with the kids at night. VERY handy to Adelaide Oval for footy, and we found it an easy walk to Rundle Mall and Central Markets, both of which have supermarkets (and great fresh food at the market!). Free CBD transport - bus and tram- are nearby and the front desk were helpful with info.
A few negatives, but these weren't major to us:
Rooms are accessed through outdoor walkways and things got a bit noisy outside with some late-night revellers.
Our room was often missed by cleaning, even though we hung the sign out asking for our room to be made up. Perhaps because we came back at lunchtimes and missed our chance? Had to do the walk of shame to ask for toilet paper :(
Location and fantastic service by all the front desk staff made up for it, though. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Louise O,

Its good to hear that you thought our location is great! The free CBD transport does make it easy to get around. I apologise that your room wasn't serviced every day and I will investigate this with my team.

I will make sure the front desk team receive the lovely feedback you provided. Thank you for taking the time to review Breakfree Adelaide.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Arrived at railway station approx 6pm, caught a taxi to the hotel. Had 3 nights at the BreakFree then onto the Murray River and planned to come back for another night after Murray River.
Unit was up a lift, across the courtyard, up another lift to the 3rd floor. The design of the building allows for noise to carry and echo. Could easily hear full conversations of people talking outside. That was an issue.
Units were adequate although I found it difficult getting in and out of the bath for a shower.
Washing machine and dryer were in our unit, as was a hair dryer.
A little balcony outside each room.
There were 2 computers in the foyer, with free WIFI.
McDonald's was along the road at the corner - not far. You could buy a Ferrari on the opposite corner. There was quite a walk up to the (traffic-free) shopping mall, but well worth it. Buskers were worth taking a seat and listening to.
Got the free bus from a couple of blocks away, to the Zoo and since it does a circuit of the area got to do some free sightseeing along the way, and got back off the bus at the same area as we got on, having completed the circuit. It was a very good trip.
After our time on the Murray River we returned for our final night at the hotel. I asked for a unit with a walk-in shower and was given a disabled unit which was on the ground floor and very good wet-floor bathroom. The rest of the unit was also excellent.
The staff at reception were excellent value. They accommodated us by securing our baggage while we went on the Murray River. They ordered taxis for us and gave us all information we required, with a smile,
If it wasn't for the noise / echoes outside the apartments we would definitely stay again. Maybe they do have quieter units. We didn't ask. More fool us.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a quiet room and if you require a walk in shower, then ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Catwatching,

It sounds like you had a fantastic trip! I hope you enjoyed the Murray River and I'm glad that we could help out with holding your baggage while you were away.

I'm sorry that your room was noisy, we do have quieter rooms as you mention and I'm sorry that you weren't able to experience that.

If you come to Adelaide again I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree Adelaide. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Needed a two bedroom unit so choices were limited. The unit was roomy enough for us but the interior was ordinary. The lounge was covered in stains and the stain on the lounge room floor was scary. On the upside linen was clean and beds comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Laura D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the interior of your room and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I am happy to add, however, that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of the rooms which includes new lounge room furniture.

Kind Regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here during business trip for 3 nights whilst working at the Adelaide Convention Centre (which is a short 10 minute walk away).

We upgraded from the queen bed and single bed rooms to a queen bed - queen bed rooms for only an extra $15 per night ( I think standard rooms are $99 ).

The bed was comfy so had a great nights sleep. Room had a lounge area with two sofas, dining room table, kitchen with microwave, oven, fridge, tea coffee making facilities. A little balcony off the living room and off one of the bedrooms.

Although not a problem for us as we were up early most mornings, if you are after a sleep in you may want to see if you could get a room in the centre of the complex or one that doesn't face the road as 3 sides do and can get a little noisy - but it is in the city after all.

The only minor complaint would be the shower, which if you are tall requires you to assume a contorted pose to get under the nozzle, which is in a small well err bath maybe, but its way to small to be a bath, so not sure who designed this? A shower head on an extended hose/ nozzle would fix this!

There's access to a gym just down the road.

But other than that a great stay, close to everything you need, quick 10 minutes walk to centre of town, Maccas just down the road and plenty bars and dining near by. (Parking on site is $15 per night!)

Friendly staff at check in , I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room in the centre of the complex or one side that doesn't face a road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBronco351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear BigBronco351,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the rooms at Breakfree Adelaide and your feedback regarding the shower is very valuable.

Its great to hear that you found your room to have everything you need and most importantly that the bed was comfy!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Reception staff were very helpful, however there's only so many times you can ask the directions to your room - I found the directions a bit tricky to follow and after a day of work and flying, I wasn't in the mood for a treasure hunt to find where I would be sleeping the night. The room itself provided all the basic necessities, was clean and had a good home feel (didn't really feel like a hotel room). The fully equipped kitchen and stocked fridge surprised me however room service was a little bit pricey. All in all, a comfortable well rounded hotel and room, great for short stays (and treasure hunters).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonIsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Simonlsk

I'm sorry that you found the directions given to you weren't clear. I have discussed this issue with my team and I thank you for the feedback so that we can continually improve on our service.

Its good to hear that you found your room comfortable and the staff helpful.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundoora, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very easy check in. Not problems. Arrived early but room was ready. Room was clean and tidy. Thought i booked just a room but when walked in there was a kitchen. Very nice. Check out very easy. Not hassles at all. Nice and close to the city and Adelaide Oval which was nice as i was there for footy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Jodie F

Its great to hear that your stay at Breakfree Adelaide was hassle free and easy and that you enjoyed the facilities in your apartment. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor.

I hope your footy team won! I look forward to welcoming you back should you return in the future.

Kind Regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Property: BreakFree Adelaide
Address: 255 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide's contemporary West End. Guests of BreakFree Adelaide will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities. BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the 'City Free Bus' that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall. BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife. For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing