We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BreakFree Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 short stays in 2 bedroom apartments with the kids. Staff where more than helpful. Rooms are small but perfectly serviceable. Tram is only 150 metres away and runs every 10-15 min. A few short minutes to rundle mall. Well recommend a stay. Air con kept rooms nice temp.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QTOWNFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit.
It's nice to read your comments regarding the Team, I will pass these on.
I am glad you found the tram convenient, it's a great way to traverse the CBD and make your way to Glenelg.
Sincerely
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    382
    168
    56
    40
See reviews for
243
260
62
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Agree with others that the location is a bit dodgy - especially further down the road. rooms were fine with good laundry facilities. comfortable beds and a good sleep. Staff are great.
But it gets very noisy outside especially on a Friday night.

Room Tip: get a room that does not overlook the road - you might find sleeping difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

After reading a number of negative reviews I was unsure about staying here but as I was on a work trip and other colleagues were booked in I decided to take a chance.
I had done a little reading and requested an inner courtyard room as suggested by other reviewers. Upon arrival I was greeted by very friendly staff and directed to my room. I found it a little tricky to find where I was going but there were numerous signs and I found my way fairly easily.
The room, although on the smaller side, was perfectly fine for one person. I thought the card, hand written with my name on it, was a nice touch.
As the temp on the day I arrived was in the mid 40's I went straight for the air conditioner - the instructions were easy to follow.
Althought I didn't use them, the washer and drier would be handy for longer stays (although they did make the small bathroom area feel a little cramped).
I took advantage of the Indian meal room service offered by the testaurant beside the hotel and delivery was very quick, and the food delicious.
The one complaint I had was that one of the towels in the bathroom appeared to be stained. I had bought my own towel so it wasn't a problem but if I hadn't had my own I don't think I would have wanted to use it.
All in all the stay was a comfortable one and I would be happ to stay again....in fact I will be booking for my next trip in a months time

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear K T,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you on your return!
Joanne is our Reservations Manager and can be contacted at the property on 1800 882 601, please don't hesitate in asking for Jo to assist with your upcoming stay.
Best regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Don't let the location at the tougher end of Hindley Street dissuade you from staying here. We had no problems, but were aware and careful when out in the evening. Apartments are clean, well-equipped, comfortable beds, nice patios (try to get an apartment on the inner courtyard for peace from the street). Free city transport, tram and bus, only one block away, makes shopping a breeze.

What distinguishes this hotel from so many is the hospitality and enthusiasm of the front desk. Reception staff can make or break your stay, and here, Parash and Robin really care how your trip is going. We had a problem with our credit card and its pin at a pub. To sort it out, Parash did everything possible to help us. He did this cheerfully, as if our problem was his problem.

We will be back next year, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Apartments on inner courtyard very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Kel W,
Great to hear from you. Paresh, Robin and I remember you, we are very pleased to read your kind feedback.
If your travel plans see you return to South Australia once again, please dont hesitate to contact us, we would be happy to assist with a future reservation.
Best regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom room. My brother and I are avid plane spotters and the room we had was great as we saw planes coming to the airport. We were at the Hindley St apartment. The free city bus was outside the hotel which we found a great help. Pretty much we were close to everywhere in the city. The reception people were very very pleasant. The only thing I found wrong was that our laundry/toilet had ants. The rest was very good. We were also told by reception that it was cheaper to get a taxi to the airport rather than an airport bus which the ladty was correct as we paid $4 cheaper.

Room Tip: If you are a plane spotter, ask for a 2 bedroom room closer to the pizza place, my brother and I lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawks_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Hatzina,
Thanks very much for your review, it's wonderful you found the hotel just the right fit for your pass time of plane spotting!
Adelaide CBD is just 15 minutes from the airport, so depending on the wind direction the planes come in just accross at North Adelaide.
We hope to see you next time!
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed one night at Breakfree on Hindley, 255 Hindley St., same chain as Mantra hotels. Very pleasant and friendly desk clerk said he noticed I’d asked for a twin, and I said yes, because the travel agent told me the doubles were Queen, and we prefer a King. He said the studios are all queen, but he would see what he could do. He gave us a free upgrade to a 2-bedroom apartment with a queen and a twin room. Suite 128, on first floor, through a courtyard. Much smaller than the Mantra-on-Hay in Perth was, and sleeps 4 not 6, but again open-plan living area, full kitchen, and washer and drier in the shower room. Iron and ironing board in one of the wardrobes. Again, no safe. Crockery and cutlery for 4 persons. Fridge noisy at night, but constant like rain, not stopping and starting. Comfy bed, good thick mattress topper. Bus stop across the road for the free ‘99c’ CBD bus. Lady at Visitor Centre told us the next block to the Breakfree on Hindley is dangerous, but we walked up there the night before, and had no problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Eleanola,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
Your comments are appreciated. In addition to the Free Bus service you note, there is also a convenient Free Tram service that transits the CBD and then moves on to the beach destination of Glenelg, another nice spot to spend some time.
We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back if your travel plans see you return to our city.
Sincerely
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Staff were very helpful and curtious and they gave me a good deal. I paid a similar amount to what I was going to pay for an old run down backpackers across the road. I was not expecting them to so closely match my deal but luckily they had a special on their website that I nabbed just in time. Expecting a small room, I was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment with lots of space, it was lovely. They also have free wifi in the lobby along with free printing which I desperately needed to utilise so it was an awesome convenience. Staff are always happy to help!

Beds are comfy
Everything is clean
Mini bar is tempting
Everything you need to clean and iron
Sweet air con
Plenty of wardrobe space

Room Tip: The room I was in was perfect for me. I have a high tolorance for noisy cities (although this part o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARREN W, General Manager at BreakFree Adelaide, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Ren H,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
It is indeed great to read your comments regarding the service provided.
I will pass your comments through to the Team.
Sincerely
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Adelaide

Property: BreakFree Adelaide
Address: 255 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree on Hindley)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Adelaide offers business and leisure travellers serviced studios, one or two bedroom apartments situated in Adelaide's contemporary West End. Guests of BreakFree Adelaide will enjoy comfortable accommodation in well-appointed, spacious apartments which include modern amenities and a range of premier guest facilities. BreakFree Adelaide is located close to the Central Business District of Adelaide and a range of local transport options. For leisure travellers with the time to explore the many delights on offer in Adelaide, which is known locally as the city of churches, take advantage of the 'City Free Bus' that stops directly outside the Hotel. Alternatively many local attractions can be reached on foot including the colourful arts district, Adelaide Convention Centre, Casino and popular shopping destination of Rundle Mall. BreakFree Adelaide is within close proximity to a choice of tempting restaurants as well as bars and clubs with a glamorous nightlife. For a day out catch the tram and visit the sea side town of Glenelg (the tram stops 2 minutes walk from the door) or take a trip to the Adelaide hills and visit a wonderful vineyard or the early settler town of Hahndorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On Hindley Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing