We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Federation era pub”
Review of Austral

Austral
Ranked #282 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Federation era pub”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

When we visited, the fire was blazing and there was a pub quiz happening downstairs. We drank pitchers of local cider beside the fire, and really liked the atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank OSheaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for lunch”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a fab lunch surrounded by old world rustic features.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Austral Hotel Adelaide”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Good food, friendly staff. Careful a'pint' of beer in SA is smaller than a ;pint; from WA.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Pub but no hot drinks”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice Pub but they do not serve any hot beverages! No chance if you just crave an espresso!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katelijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Booked a table for 4 for a quick dinner before a Fringe show which started at the AustraL.Total confusion with bar staff over running a tab for pre-dinner drinks, the meals and wine etc with dinner. The Irish nachos which were actually hot chips were tacky I thought- and the meal which followed was adequate, but nothing special. (My risotto was tasty but the rice wasn't cooked properly).
The worst thing was the miniscule table they had the 4 of us sitting at- most uncomfortable and as we were in the middle of the crowded dining area we kept getting knocked by people squeezing past us.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austral also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Austral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing