We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai ever!”

regent thai restaurant
Ranked #204 of 1,612 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Thai ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went here with friends last week and was blown away. We started off with a Prawn Tom Yum soup and it was to die for....then shared the deep fried whole barramundi with ginger, mushroom and spring onion - which was amazing!..and the vegetable curry with tofu which was also good. Our friends also had the soup but then both had the chicken with vegetables, garlic and chilli which they said was brilliant. The owner Te came over and introduced himself, Te, and as we went on about the amazing food he told us his wife was the chef and had cooked at the Shangri La in Singapore for 15 years.

Definitely don't miss an amazing meal here!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“"A most enjoyable meal spent in the company of good friends"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

With so many choices available in North Adelaide we opted for Regent Thai and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and courteous and topped up the wine glasses during the evening which was a nice touch. The food had excellent flavours, and for the quality and quantity we felt they were very reasonably priced. Remember that when the Menu states Hot that is exactly how it is presented. The choice of Mango and Coconut Ice Cream for Dessert was an excellent palate cleanser for an end to a most satisfying meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandykperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai food, good service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This restaurant is well located, though parking can be a little hard to find at peak times. The service was quick and efficient; friendly yet professional. You can bring your own wine at $10 per bottle corkage. However, this offers limited advantages as the wine list was excellent with some hard to find drops (eg Rockford's Basket Press) at very reasonable prices. However, the real standout for our group was the quality of the food. This was some of the best Thai food any of us had eaten anywhere - and we are all seasoned travelers. The salt and pepper soft shell crab was superb and the duck red That curry ... one of our party wanted to lick the bowl! Fabulous night out at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had heard conflicting reports about this restaurant but decided to give it a go as we had not been here before. The staff were very attentive and the food was absolutely fantastic. We had read that the staff were cold and quite rude but we found it to be quite the opposite. Maybe the reviewers who perceived they were harshly treated could be partly to blame and with a few smiles and thank yous it is amazing how much better you are looked after.
I highly recommend this restaurant for a pleasant meal in comfortable surroundings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyalaterAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very high quality Thai in ambient setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Run by a charismatic restauranteur with a fascinating personal story, this stylish eatery is Thai at its best. The ingredients and clever spicing lift the menu out of the normal run of the mill Thai fare. You palate will enjoy the variety and the surprises. Take your interstate and overseas guests there and they will be impressed. It's a bit more expensive than most other Thai places in Adelaide but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed regent thai restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to regent thai restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing