We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nu Thai

Nu Thai
Reserve with
Nu Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 1,609 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Nu Thai Restaurant. We are located in 228 Morphett Street Adelaide (previous situated in Gouger Street), only 2 minutes walk from China Town where all different cultures share their best cuisines. Thai food is all about vibrancy and texture, the complexity of flavour is the secret of creating a nice Thai food dish. We offer traditional and modern Thai food and some of our secret recipes have made a big hit with customers. We have an excellent range of food to choose from on our menus, and our special menu is always a favourite with our customers. We aim to provide excellent food and customer service to make your dining experience enjoyable and unforgettable.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant really does deserve all the good reviews and great rewards. The service is amazing, they offered table water without us having to ask for any and refilled glasses, were just so friendly and always smiling. The two of us had one spicy beef dish and some soaked noodles. Both was of very high quality and tasted excellent. Prices are reasonable compared to other places close by and well worth the good meal. It's quite a small place so asking for a table outside is not a bad idea especially if you don't like sitting quite close to other guests.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    66
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favourite Thai restaraunt!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Service is great - cant get here as often as we would like to. It is cosy and the value is awesome - good wine selection and caters to everyone . Discovered this gem by accident and always recommend to friends!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemima12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Being a lover of Thai food, I was highly looking forward to eating at this place, reading the reviews on this site and in my Lonely Planet guide. I was very pleased, in fact, this exceeded my expectations. I just had to try the Crispy Barramundi in Chili Sauce, a dish you'll never find in Thai restaraunts in the States. It was quite wonderful and I left with an empty plate. If your looking for the specials of the day, they are written on a large blackboard for you to read. By the way, Nu Thai is located in an area of Adelaide full of all types of Asian restauraunts, but this is the place for Thai.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank derekp308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Westernize Thai Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food and service was pretty average. Ordered Fish Cake for entree, duck curry, pad thai, chicken basil for main. Nice presentation but very standard foods. Cannot recall any good things about them. You will be disapointed if you aim for authentic thai food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IzzyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is the best Thai restaurant we’ve been to. The food is outstanding, our favourites including ‘Grandma’s Pork’. The only minor criticisms are that service is sometimes slow, the place is a little cramped, and in the Winter it tends to get very drafty; however, the food makes up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dmpm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Thai also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Nu Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing