We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Feast”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #273 of 1,917 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $7 - $71
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A beautiful dining room overlooking the parklands and a casual dining area for a more relaxed meal. Our menu has a large selection from premium seafood (scallops, Atlantic salmon, tuna) to exquisitely slow cooked pork, lamb, chicken and juicy tender steaks. Our steaks are discounted 30% every day and we have a large variety to tempt you. We have a number of vegetarian options and most of our dishes are available gluten free. Our chefs are very happy to prepare one off meals to suit any dietary requirements and cook special dishes to accommodate any allergy. We also offer a smaller portions menu - our Temptation menu which is based on affordable entree size dishes. You can decide how much you want to eat - two courses, three courses.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We were provided with a private dining room to celebrate two birthdays. The room was warm and comfortable; ample room to walk around and talk to people. The room easily seated 11 people. Air conditioning.
If you sit in the main dinning area, during the day you would have a great view of Adelaide's Parklands. All the dinning areas have wooden floors.
The hotel caters seniors, has a specific children's menu and is able to cater for specific diets.
The meals are small portions, but there is a wide variety of foods to choose from. The independently owned hotel, specialises in seafood and steaks.
The hotel had a selection of about 6 deserts.
The hotel caters for the casual or premium meals.
There was no complaints about the meals, well presented, though you felt like you could eat more. I tried the "Chicken Wellington" which was cooked perfectly and tasted good. You have a choice of 4 vegetables that you pay for separately they don't come with the main meal.
The cheese cake was a popular choice for desert.
The waiter had a good knowledge of the food, the wine list. He made sure the food was what was ordered and everything was alright.
The only slight problem was the slowness between ordering and receiving the meal; I am not sure if the hotel was busy that night. But the experience was still nice.
There is off street car parking in the hotel car park, and at night there is plenty of street parking.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona N, Owner at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel we appreciate all feedback. I feel I need to clarify a couple of issues that you spoke about. Not all dining areas in the Hotel are wooden, the "Pub" area is wooden however the 2 private dining rooms and Bartons restaurant are carpet. We do cater for seniors with our small portion options available in the cafe menu but we do not have a separate seniors menu. In Bartons restaurant the menu is small portion and is priced accordingly. The portion size is between an entree and a main and sides are included, 1 between 3, not paid for separately (unless you ordered from the cafe menu). I will definitely follow up with the kitchen in relation to the time taken to receive your meal. Regards - Management Caledonian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2017

An excellent venue for a function and great easy parking an added bonus. The staff were helpful and having our own bar hutch in the boardroom made for a perfect place to host a small gathering. The function food selection was varied, tasty and value for money. Ideal location for a group networking event. After we stayed for a meal and the Cali Beef Burger was delicious, a nice presentation and reasonably priced. The menu offered a good selection of steaks and side orders, seafood and catered for gluten free. I also noticed a nice selection on the kids menu, offering the usual favourites but a few other things that might interest the more discerning child’s palette.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank tneldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona N, Owner at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Regards - Management Caledonian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

six of us had lunch at the Cally, we all chose the smaller size lunches. The fish and chips were excellent as were the schnitzels , only downside no salad, but for $2 extra the potato salad was very good. A salad bar would be nice, but wasn't missed. Service was good, very friendly staff. We sat in one of the booths which unfortunately wasn't cleaned properly from the night before but the staff soon made emends to that, would recommend this place highly.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona N, Owner at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Thank you for your review John, we are glad you enjoyed our smaller portion option. We do have side salads available as an alternative to share, maybe this was not comnveyed while placing your order. Unfortunately is sounds like you came the night after the college kids had been in, sometimes it is hard to clean everything up, we appreciate your acceptance of this. We hope to see you all again soon. Management - Caledonian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

Dined in the Barton Restaurant on Friday lunchtime. I did book in advance fully expecting the venue to be full but I needn't have bothered as we were the only people in the room. I had a two course menu for $25 which consisted of two small spring rolls for entree followed by teriyake prawns which consisted of three prawns on a small bed of what I think may have been rice. My lunch partner (who paid seperately) and I also shared a bowl of chips which was included for two people in the menu. I will not be returning.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kp0vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona N, Owner at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Caledonian. We are sorry that you decided to opt for the "Light Lunch Option" that is offered in Bartons Restaurant and it was not enough food. We have been offering the small portion menu to patrons since February 2016 and have been receiving very good feedback in relation to portion size and price. We apologise if you did not feel as though you had an adequate portion size. Management - Caledonian Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

Food lovely and good value, although probably not a menu for young children. Service quite average, had to go to bar to get drinks

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona N, Owner at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Caledonian. We take all of our feedback very seriously. We do offer a kids and junior menu in both the restaurant and the cafe. Could you please notify us when you dined and in what area so that we can follow this up with the Staff that worked. Regards - Caledonian Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caledonian Hotel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing