We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful public transport with the trams”
Review of Glenelg Tram

Glenelg Tram
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.69*
and up
McLaren Vale and Glenelg Tour with Wine Tastings from Adelaide
Ranked #5 of 206 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Goulburn, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful public transport with the trams”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just loved the trams for getting around, were very impressed. Thank you Adelaide. We were very fortunate to travel free as we held a seniors card, a pension card is not accepted, it must be a seniors card. The reason being anyone can be on a pension and work?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,527
    1,088
    236
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tusket, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quick excursion”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great side trip to the beach town that is both reasonably priced and convenient. The museum display is worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MemereLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Service from Glenelg to Adelaide”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This tram service to and from Adelaide CBD to Glenelg was well worth the trip. The trams are modern and clean that run regular and on time. We visited on a Sunday and found getting one no problem at all.

Good to see there was not only a driver but a 'conductor' as well. He was a wealth of information and was only too happy to impart any knowledge he had and answer any questions we asked. He even helped us through the onboard ticketing process.

One downside was the online ticketing machine, only one per tram, and it accepted only coins or credit cards. There was 2 of us and we had to do 2 individual ticket purchases - why could we not buy multiple tickets on the one credit card transaction?

Also the number of people getting on and trying to buy a ticket and having no coins was frustrating to watch as the machine did not take any bank notes!!! The conductor was unable to give change and some people resorted to asking other passengers to exchange their notes for coins....all the while the line up was getting longer.....this is the only problem I saw with an otherwise great service.

The end of the line in Glenelg was well thought out with easy access from within the mall area. Well done SA as we need more of these types of services in other tourist areas so we can leave the car behind. Each trip was $4.90 per person one way....not that cheap :(

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigGBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great way to travel to the seaside”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Loved the trip.Took the tram outside of central market to Glenelg and back. Took in the sights along the way. Stress free way to travel

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichandLou720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
“Tram Ride”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

it was great to travel on the tram like my mum used to as a little girl. There was no information at the stop in Glenelg to tell you how to get a ticket.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenelg Tram also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Glenelg Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing