We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, above average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice, above average hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights for a conference. The conference room and dining area were quite pleasant. Staff were friendly. My room (Standard Room, I think) was clean, bathroom floor was 70's brown tile making it look dated. Cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk. I had a couple of hot days so appreciated having the airconditioner in the room which worked well. There is free guest parking at the back of the hotel which came in handy for my rental car. A good budget stay near the CBD. Would be happy to stay here again but maybe try a different room - see below.

Room Tip: I was in 29A and could hear the person in the next room talking fairly loudly on the phone, a bit mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cl0udstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    249
    100
    36
    35
See reviews for
132
261
55
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Check in was fast & smooth by friendly and efficient staff. Excellent night staff even offering a late night pizza delivery service when their restaurant was closed. Check out was just as quick and efficient as check in.

Room was clean and comfortable , Not 5 star but well worth what you pay for.

Excellent location everything you need at your door. Close proximity to the city, Public transport out the front. Easy access to major roads in and out of Adelaide to see all that Adelaide has to offer. On site off street parking .

Cafe offers good food and coffee at a reasonable price without leaving the premises, Was great to see a cafe offer plenty of free newspapers.

Would stay here again on my next visit. highly recommend the Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Meridien as it advertised that there would be a kitchenette and as we are spending 2 months in Australia we hoped to cook for ourselves some nights.
Unfortunately although their website states "kitchenette" it was only a sink, a kettle full of mildew, 2 mugs and 2 teaspoons. Not enough to cook or even eat a take away meal!
The rooms are very tired and in need of some upgrading.
The positives would be that it was clean and they offer free wifi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2139, General Manager at Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Adelaide Meridien recently and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your experience was a disappointing one. We greatly value all feedback from our guests so we can continually try and improve.
It sounds as if you were in one of our standard rooms which do not have cooking facilities. We only have a few rooms with cooking facilities and these are styled as 1 bedroom apartment. These rooms have a small kitchenette with cook top, microwave, pots and pans etc. Our sincere apologies if there was an error made with your booking. I have also asked housekeeping to check all kettles in the rooms to ensure these are all up to standard.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked a 4 night stay through a group-buying website for a great price, which gave me an executive suite, complimentary breakfast daily for 2 people and buy 1 get 1 free for lunch or dinner for 4 visits in the Perfect Cup Cafe, located on the ground floor of the hotel. It was excellent value for money! Flying in from Brisbane, I arrived at 10:30am and was able to check into my room straight away. This was great. The bus stop is located right outside and there was free bike hire too. My partner and I ordered from the restaurant each day and had most meals delivered to our room (partner had just come out of hospital). All of the meals (except 1- the roast vegetable salad) were delicious and excellent value for money, even excluding the vouchers we were given. The aforementioned salad did not have a single walnut, as stated on the menu so I rang the desk and the lady said she would fix it for me (I didn't feel like waiting for a new one) or take it off my bill (well we had paid upfront and it was buy 1 get 1 free anyway so I didn't worry but it was definitely the worst salad I've ever had...unlike the night before when I ordered the warm chicken salad- HIGHLY recommend! I digress...) The room was serviced on the second day, with fresh towels and toiletries (this was lovely, however I had hung my towel up as requested to save water from washing). On the third night, I noticed a wet patch on the carpet and realised the air-conditioner was dripping water. I dried it with a towel and turned the air-con off but the night was hot so I phoned reception next morning who said they would send over maintenance in the afternoon. We kept the air-con off all day and opened the balcony doors but maintenance did not come (we were in the room all day). I notified reception that evening when we ordered dinner and she was very apologetic and said someone would be in the next day (we were checking out the next day). She said we could turn the air-con on so we did but had to use the bin as a bucket and empty it a few times. Not a major problem but a bit of a nuisance. Overall I had a pleasant time and was pleased with my stay- until checkout when I left with a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I was informed that I owed $39.95 from a breakfast and dinner. This was NOT the case- we received FREE breakfast each day (using the vouchers reception gave us upon check-in) AND when we ordered lunch/dinner using the buy 1 get 1 free vouchers, we ALWAYS paid then and there because I did NOT want to have a bill at checkout. The lady called the restaurant then asked me for my receipts. I did not have the receipts on me, although I remember throwing the exact receipt in question in the bin that morning. She cleared the bill for me, which I was grateful for, but the whole thing made me feel annoyed. There was no apology (I understand they cannot just take my word for it) but it was a disappointing way to leave. MY ADVICE: keep EVERY receipt and make it CLEAR to the person serving you at the restaurant whether you wish to pay now or charge it to your room. Other than that, the bed was big and comfy, curtains kept every inch of light out at night, modern big TV with few good movie channels and convenient location. Not flashy, but all we needed.

Room Tip: KEEP all receipts! Perfect Cup Cafe is well worth trying- delicious menu at reasonable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marksgirl2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I always stay here when in Adelaide and never had a bad experience. $20 cab from airport, surrounded by great places to eat. I always get the executive rooms they are worth the extra $10 with spacious and slightly more up dated decor. Rooms are always clean and the service wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The shorts package with an executive studio and breakfast included was great value. The room and furnishings were good and everything was clean. The staff in Reception and in the cafe were efficient and very friendly. And free wi-fi- which was nice change from the usual rip-off charges that are all too common. The location is great - lots of cafes in easy walking distance and the city is a 15 minute walk or 5 minute bus ride away.

Room Tip: Executive rooms overlooking the car park are quieter and also get the early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

nothing flashy about this hotel, but it gets the job done. i stayed her on several occasions for business as the client was within walking distance of the hotel. located in North Adelaide it's away from a lot of the amenities the bigger hotels would have. there are several restaurants around the area, but don't stay open too late as it's a quiet part of town.

the rooms are basic but spacious. very dated, but at least there was a large flat panel TV in the room. the interior of the hotel is quite odd with random space between the rooms...making it feel a bit awkward.

the restaurant downstairs was actually pretty good and i usually ate breakfast there daily. this is my usual go to place as far as hotels go since several clients are nearby. nothing fancy about this place, but it gets the job done.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.6 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
2.1 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments

Property: Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Address: 21 - 39 Melbourne St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Meridien Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing