We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't recommend stayin here! Especially if ur a young person”
Review of Ambassadors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassadors Hotel
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
1 review
“I wouldn't recommend stayin here! Especially if ur a young person”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It took us 3 attempts to actually b put in the room we booked for...the lift is dodgy n makes u feel sick afterwards.. the bathroom wasn't even clean the exhaust fan was disjusting n dirty..the room didn't look clean at all...there was supposed to b a buffet breakfast all it was some cereal juice n toast...my first night stayin in a hotel in the city n was a horrible experience!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy146432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    50
    38
    59
See reviews for
38
62
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Ambassador has old world charm mixed with contemporary gloss. My room was on the third floor and was recently renovated with chandelier, floating floors, artwork and clean bedlinen. The bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities alas had not. For those who don't like the occasional mark on the wall there were a couple. Still it had a lovely feel and Fawlty Towers charm. By that I mean the route to the 3rd floor takes some time to remember and it took some time to realise that the door handle to the room was superfluous as it was a 'push' to enter not a 'pull'! Those things aside the room was made up each day and there's a lovely bar downstairs past reception which would not be amiss in Fitzroy Melbourne. It's decorated in an art deco style with lovely plush furniture, a montage of prints cover the walls, more chandeliers and a great painted ceiling. It's just oddly juxtaposed with the occasional jangle of the pokies in a nearby room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As I was travelling for work I didn't eat here as food was supplied at work functions. More than happy to stay here again as it's very close to everything.

Room Tip: The room was quiet but it did have no view. I suspect any rooms that overlook KingWilliam may be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_immersed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We didnt stay in the hotel but had dinner in the bar on a Saturday night, a log fire to the left side of the bar and a chesterfield to the other!
Chandeliers hanging from the ceiling and lamps dotted around. LOVE IT!!
$20 for two schnitzels as beers - Bargain
Bread and butter served to start and this cost little place was enough for me
The food came out and oh how nice it was! Freshly made schnitzel with a lovely custom crumb! Could have had a little more gravy but certainly wasn't a dry meal!!!
Bar staff very friendly an knowledgeable. Great little find

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_like_travel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 Nights in room on 3rd floor, to get to room it was up lift a long walk along hallways and up a flight of stairs. Room was old but had recently been repainted. Generally rooms were clean and tidy and well serviced each day. Bed was king size and was very comfortable, ensuite was basic but for price was good. Nice bar near foyer and lift with well priced meals in evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemaltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Ambassador Hotel was old and "rustique", Some of the reviews here were kinda scary,
However I had a very good time there. Contrary to some reviews, I found the hotel very quiet,
Despite having parties at night, not a single fly could be heard from my room...
However this certainly depends on the location of your room.
The elevator was the weirdest one I have ever seen,
But it was one of the things i liked most about the hotel in the end :)

The light switches and bathroom are in a very old condition,
but the room was reasonably clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful :)
The hotel is found in the very middle of the city centre,
making its location a prime spot :P

The continental breakfast could be much much better, but having toasts, butter/jam and other condiments, muffins, cereal and tea was what I should expect for the cheap price :)

Room Tip: Heritage Rooms are more quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you like an old style hotel then this is for you, very art deco and true to it's former glory. Bed was comfortable, definitively recommend if you are a single traveller, have no one to impress & only staying a few nights, try to get 1st or 2nd level as 3rd floor more backpacker like.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The location of the Ambassadors hotel is great! Right in town. We had parking for one car which was very well priced and we were there for 24 hours so very happy and the car park is close by too.

Service was good. Lobby is awesome, bar and elevator old school - love the theme.

Our room was run down and extremely noisey. Could do with a re-vamp. We stayed just in front of the lift and it was so noisy hearing every sinlge guest. And early morning pidgeons were right outside the window.

Room Tip: Dont go near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.6 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.5 mi away
BreakFree Adelaide
BreakFree Adelaide
#19 of 57 in Adelaide
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Property: Ambassadors Hotel
Address: 107 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Adelaide CBD, the Ambassadors offers comfortable, value for money accommodation in a character filled heritage building. A variety of room types are available and all feature en-suite, heating/cooling, TVs, bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and daily servicing. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily for all guests along with free wireless internet throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing