We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Greek cuisine”

The Greek On Halifax
Ranked #72 of 1,635 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek cuisine”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Probably the best Greek restaurant in Adelaide. Love most of the menu. Big portions and great wine list. Recommended

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    117
    24
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sa
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best dessert I have ever tasted”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We attended this restaurant for a Saturday lunch. We made a booking and were able to sit outside and our dogs were welcome and given fresh water which was appreciated. The service was simply outstanding, she was friendly, made suggestions and was professional at all times. We shared an entrée of Saganaki which was yummy. I then had the lamb cigar special (entrée size) and it was ok, a little sweet but not bad. My partner had the octopus souvlaki which was ok, a little overcooked. We then shared the Loukoumathes which were hot honey puffs drizzled with honey and served with ice-cream - this was extraordinary, the nicest dessert ever and a ten out of ten. Overall the experience was very good and I would definitely go back and recommend for other to try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelah321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Greek On Halifax”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I went there for lunch with some friends, and the food was great in portion and taste.
The baby lamb with mash was succulent and very smooth. It was fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, poor service”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went for breakfast this morning and the waiter hurriedly took our orders. I ordered the Galliko proino and my partner ordered the Halifax scramble. When the meals were brought to us he said they had run out of hollandaise sauce therefore discounted us $3 for my meal. I was extremely disappointed that he had not bothered to come out and tell us this after he took our order so that I could have changed my order rather than discount me $3 and bring me a (really dry) plate of sourdough bread with mushrooms and spinach etc. Without the hollandaise my meal was almost indelible and I had to steal some of my partner's scramble (which was quite nice). Just disappointed with the service as they could have done better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SG110588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Greek is good!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have a group of friends and we meet for 'greek' four times a year. Last night we visited 'Greek on Halifax'…..
It was a balmy night and we chose to sit outside. The dips and meze plates were great and a little different to other Greek restaurants we have visited. It was nice to have some new options. We particularly enjoyed the eggplant wrapped around Haloumi! We progressed on to dessert and were delighted by the range and quality. The service was fine, not too much, not too little. Always a struggle to fit all the plates on to a small table but that problem is not unique to this restaurant. Will we return?? YES!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jebaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek On Halifax also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Greek On Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing