We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehaven Beach

Whitehaven Beach
Whitsunday Island National Park, Australia
0749469664
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$75*
and up
Whitehaven Beach Half-Day Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uninhabited Whitsunday Island is home to this beautiful beach, one of the world's most spectacular.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The softest sand I have ever felt it's like powder and nearly white. The sea is perfect in colour too. Shame that it was jellyfish season I fancied a dip. Just staring out over the sea is wonderful as it's like a paradise beach!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,153
    142
    56
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As the previous reviews state, Whitehaven beach is a must visit when traveling in this area. This beach is deserving of one of the best in the world and the view from the inlet is amazing. High tide is less impressive than low tide but is worth seeing for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonybaseballyankees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You need to go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were on a boat (as you usually are in the Whitsundays!) and docked outside of Whitehaven overnight. Around 6am, our captain starting bringing us over. We were THE ONLY people on the beach! It was beyond breathtaking. Afterwards, we moved to the lookout point where you see the swirls of water and sand create art. It's one of the most incredible places I've ever been.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whitehaven is everything you here about and more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Travelled there for a morning visit with Cruise Whitsundays. We had a beautiful morning and were lucky that it was low tide. We snorkelled for about an hour and saw amazing marine life. The beach is spectacular. And the water crystal clear. A must see!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denverlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb view. Gorgeous islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Well worth the trip. Money well worth it. Would do it again without a doubt. The sands were so fine and you can have personal photos taken on the beach as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank excellent130293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehaven Beach also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Whitehaven Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing