We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adventure Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cityside Accommodation(Mount Isa)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Internet
Leichhardt Accommodation(Mount Isa)(Great Value!)
$98
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RedEarth Hotel(Mount Isa)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Burke & Wills(Mount Isa)
$139
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$104
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townview Motel(Mount Isa)
$104
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
36
19
12
20
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
19
12
20
63
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 150 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Ok.... This was by far the most affordable place to go in the Whitsundays. Accomodation was fine, weather was great, activities were good. No, it was not EXCELLENT and LUXURIOUS, but we had a great time. We saved heaps of money by staying here and our room - the beachfront bungalow - was sufficient. The staff were very lovely and helpful. However, the food was absolute CRAP. It sucked. We went to Airlie Beach and brought 2 minute noodles because our Greek Salad came without Fetta; our carbonara came without cream (melted cheese and dry pasta); and our wedges came without sour cream or guacamole as stated on the menue. Seriously, something must be done about the food here. But we went cruising, diving, jet-skiing, sailing, swimming, golfing, walking and it was just so nice and relaxing. The reason we could do all these activities was because we saved loads on accommodation. I would definitely recommend this for young couples and back-packers, as long as you bring your own food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

As I entered my beach front bungalow I was horrified to find the floor had more sand on it than the beach, the bed was full of hair ( Which was not mine ) and the pillows were stained yellow, the beside light was falling off the wall and the aircon was broken.
Took the staff 1.5 hr to clean another room.
The food on the island is a disgrace as the coffee shop was the only eatery , except when the restaurant was open with One meal available, if you dont like pasta slop you go hungry. This complaint is not over.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swim098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Recommendation - take your hard earned money and go somewhere else.....unless you like effectively paying for the holiday of the management and staff at this resort.

The bad;
1. Room condition
- broken window mesh, allowing the local wildlife into the room
- broken window louvre with glass missing
- broken TV mounting, almost falling off the wall
- air conditioner that was louder than a jackhammer
- rusty pipes leaking brown water into the shower recess

Place seems old and run down, at least from my experience.

2. Service
- room not made up once in 5 days
- towels not refreshed once
- only one "cafe" operating the whole time in what was said to be peak season, no options for other food on the island.

For the price of a room p/p, this was really poor.

3. Value
- you pay extra for absolutely everything. No inclusions. The approach to food and beverage charges makes it clear management intend to fleece the guests; the basic food is relatively cheap, but the basic alcohol is way overpriced (try $6.50 for a can of local beer).

4. Management
- a number of misleading pieces of information were supplied about either cost of things (day trips) - more seriously 6 people were sent out on a snorkelling day trip without any gear!
When a complaint was made (including by the charter crew member) there were no apologies, no offer to refund. Management did zero in terms of making up for this to any of the 6.
- overall running of the place is done by a bunch of people who clearly seem uninterested and are basically amateurs in the business of running a hotel

The good;
- the island itself is nice....nice water, ok beach, nice location, etc
- the general staff were nice enough sorts of people....
- the pool

Summary - its hard to understand how these guys are remaining in business. Whats easy to understand is why people go either to other islands in this area, or go overseas!
Bad value, bordering on rip-off.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews