We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Go Here Again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Island Resort
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This must have been the most awful place I have ever stayed! We booked our stay relying on other people's visits, and boy, were we disappointed. The rooms were filthy. When we turned the water on in the first room we stayed in, mud poured out. We asked to be moved to another room, only to find the same thing. After being moved 3 times we settled on a room full of dirt, dust and cobwebs.
The restaurant was not open the entire 10 days we stayed here, but instead lived off of the few groceries we had taken with us, and jam and peanut butter we stole from the cafe. We had no choice but to eat dinner in the cafe, though the options were very few and not tasty at all.
This place was deserted during the day, there was only one other couple there when we were there. In the evening a boatload of teens would land on the island and party, making for very loud evenings.
Also, there is not much to do on the island, except sit on the beach (which was beautiful). The walking trails were nice and the golf course was good, but other then that this resort offered nothing. This place was very run down, and not what we were expecting to get for the money that we paid to stay here. After 6 days we asked to leave, but they would not give us our money back, so we stayed.
I would not recommend this place to anyone! It is not worth your time or your money!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

If you are looking for a touristic, to expensive and grumpy place, please don't go to South Molle, but choose for Long Island (we've also been there). However if you like white beaches, turtles, really nice staff, good rooms, airconditioning, nature, history about aboriginals and if you want to see the biggest coral and shelf collection, go to Koala Adventure Island South Molle. This resort is specially good for backpackers, since the rate is excellent, there are no kids running around and the staff will treat you like a highclass geast! You can go snorkeling, kayaking, golfing, on tours and hiking with the best views. The place used to be the biggest resort of the Whitsundays and if you want the best historystories of this amazing island, ask for Craig, he knows all the stories. Since they don't do motor sports in the water anymore, all the sealife is back at the beach and you will see turtles passing by every morning. Unfortunately we didn't see the beachbar finished, but we imagine that it will make the island even better! We'll be back some day, the only thing that got stolen are our hearts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EsBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Together with another pensioner couple, my wife and I spent 5 nights on the island at the beginning of the month. We had read all the reviews prior to visiting and expected the worst. But we found that we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
No, the restaurant wasn't open, nor were there any evening activities. And yes, the rooms were old and barely clean (the ocean view overcame that aspect), and the staff were mainly backpackers, but all were friendly and helpful. Our planning was sufficient so that we had taken almost all our own meals and refreshments so the costs in this area were negligible. (2 cans of beer for $13 was a bit rough when we did buy some).
However, if you enjoy walking (some great tracks), swimming (an exceptional pool), golf (a well cared-for 9 holes) and a lot of reading and relaxing with friends, go and experience what has been a wonderful resort that has unfortunately been allowed to deteriorate.
But make sure you go with friends!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoopsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

What a wierd place! We picked up a mooring for the night to get out of the blustery sou'easter - kids stayed in a room for the night - took three attempts at finding a room in a satisfactory condition!

Pluses - nice view of Whitsunday/Hook/Hayman isles from the bar. And it was like having the whole place to ourselves (even if the kids were spooked - character building of course), as not more than two or three other "guests" seemed to be around.

Has great "potential" - possibly as the next site for a cult of some sort (a'la Jonestown).

If I were a backpacker looking for work? Keep looking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoopsTAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

There was only 6 guests on this island. There was no activities whatsoever. Our room was broken into by a staff member and the manager said it wasn't his problem. The staff member then broke into two other rooms and got into bed with a girl. Food was only available one hour per meal time. There was no where to buy sun screen, after sun or lollies. The manager called my friend a c--- when she asked him if we could have some other music on.
This is a dreadful place and nothing whatsoever like it was shown on Getaway. If there was a regulatory body that licenses this type of accommodation I'm sure it would be closed down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneanneWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

well i cant blieve the false advertisement of this island ,nothin open no resturaunt no coffee or tea in rooms couldnt even buy insect reppeleent sunscreen etc.had gym advertised was closed,had internet advertised was not working ,no phone workin either
no snorkelling ,jet ski etc all advertised but we were told they now eco friendly,only thing we could do was play golf and that still cost us to play.was very scared to do anything adventureous like go for a walk as there is no medical assistance at all on the island ,we did not pay for the cheapest room ,but gee i would hate to see the cheaper ones because our was no palace .very dissapointed was lucky we met a couple of friends to play cards with,cause u didnt want to mingle in the pub at nite as it was full of staff{being a whole 10 of them} including boss getting drunk every nite and not caring about us ,as there guests.all summed up if you have ever seen i still know wat you did last summer ,well it was creepy like that ,there was lucky if 8 people were staying on the island.very dissapointed dont waste ur money goin there pay the extra and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzzzzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

It felt like we were in some kind of teen flick scary movie. There was something overly eiry about the whole place. It was a cross between a ghost town and deserted island. I had the continual feeling that a storm was going to come through and in the morning, somebody would be missing.

I don't think anyone had properly cleaned the room in a long long time. There was no guttering on the roof and despite it not having rained in a week, it kept leaking all the time. I don't know where all this water was coming from. The restaurant was permanently closed. The only place to eat was a sometimes open cafe straight out of the fifties. The steak in my steak sandwich was the size of my watch face (one bite). The day spa I was told was damaged in the storm, although it appeared to look perfectly in tact. The sign on the door into the lounge/TV room said "use other door" but there was no other door, the baby catermarans on the beach had no sails, the gym was rusted over and while I could keep going on, I think I've made my point. There just was nobody there. From all the people that I could see, there were 9 guests (including myself) in total on the entire island (plus 3 people I found campaing on the other side of the island).

The staff just seemed to be backpackers trying to extend their holiday.

On the final night, a boat full on people turnd up for a drink which made for an event. By the looks of all the signs up, it appears that management has attempted to turn the place into a party island, which seems like a strange thing to do for something sitting in a National Park with a golf course and reef out front.

We managed to find humour in it after a while.

Hotel aside, the island is quite nice to visit. There's an abundance of walking tracks and some great views. There's campaing on the far side of the island and there appears to be some decent reef out front to go snorkelling (I think you may need to bring your own snorkell by the sound of other reviews - we had our own so I'm not sure). There's also a 9 hole golf course. It's pretty basic but if you're not a golf enthusiast, it's good enough to play on.

My friend was there in the mid nineties and said it was pumping, full of people, amazing food and lot's to do. I'm not sure what happened.

All in all, worth a day trip for the bush walk but that's pretty much it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheggy_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Molle Island
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
279 reviews
16.8 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.5 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
566 reviews
16.7 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Island Resort

Address: PO Box 147 Airlie Beach Q | Whitsunday's Queensland, 4802, Australia (Formerly Koala Adventure Island)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > South Molle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Molle Island
Price Range: $39 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Island Resort on South Molle embodies real island spirit. This eco friendly tropical paradise boasts 30% of the Whitsundays Great Walks, has a rich Indigenous History, is abundant in native flora and fauna, and is encircled by reef. Catering to all ages 18 and over, guests can engage in snorkelling and paddle boarding, bushwalking, relaxing by the resort pool, exploring the 17 secluded island beaches, help feed the wild birds & fish or play a round on the 9 hole golf course.Set in a protected North Facing Bay on South Molle Island the Accommodation is situated right along the white sandy beach and rimmed by Coconut Palms. Adventure Island Resort has 200 rooms, a restaurant, bar and café and conference facilities. Explore, relax, reconnect with nature and meet like minded people at Adventure Island Resort on South Molle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Adventure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Island Hotel South Molle Island
South Molle Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing