We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not surprising that this place stands number one in Trip Advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Island
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not surprising that this place stands number one in Trip Advisor”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

An experience of a lifetime. Absolutely relaxing. Absolute solitude. Thanks for not having any TV, internet or 'worldly' stuff in paradise. Staff were very friendly and professional. I would suggest a 5 night stay to truly relax. Thanks to the skilled skippers who ensured we were safe in our beach adventures. Thanks to the chefs and hostesses who made us feel at home. Food, cocktails and wine were great with other fun loving visitors. The helicopter trip over the reef makes you feel small in the grand scheme of things - any soul seeker would be satisfied. Keep up the good work Paradise Bay team and I look forward to see you again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titussamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    8
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
225
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Over Anzac Day weekend, my wife and I headed up to Paradise Bay for the second time in the past 12 months. With direct flights to Hamilton Island from Melbourne it couldn't be easier. I’m not a morning person but I highly recommend getting out into the bay on a kayak and watching the sunrise. With all the pine trees around you can imagine yourself on an alpine lake but with the warmth of the tropics. If you get a really low tide be sure to check out the tide pools out the front.

The secluded setting and the exceptional service (and food) is what will continue to bring us back in the future. The staff really go out of their way to cater to you and I would rate the food as being close to a 2 chef hat restaurant (or 1 Michelin star). Compared to some other places I've stayed up there (Hayman and Hamilton) you get much more value for your money at Paradise Bay and the overall experience is much, much better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSRichm0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

My new husband and I celebrated our honeymoon at Paradise Bay Resort. Despite being the first guest ever to be stung by an irukandgi (Queensland stinger), and my husband losing his wedding ring all within the first 2 hours of arriving, our honeymoon was perfect.

The Resort's staff made us feel very welcome from the minute we stepped off the helicopter. They accommodated our every need, even helping us search in and out of the water for the wedding ring. The Manager even met my husband and I when I arrived at Airlie Beach by emergency boat (due to the irukandgi sting). On the third night, a private honeymooners dinner was prepared for us at our lodge. This was a lovely surprise and most unexpected as it had not been requested.

Each day the dining experience was second to none. The food, wine and atmosphere was exceptional. Every meal was like eating at a fantastic restaurant.

We loved the opportunity to go on day trips, organised by the skipper. Equally we enjoyed relaxing at the Resort, lying on the day bed and reading books as the tide went in and out.

The rooms are relatively simple but nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and I really liked that each morning the house keeper would leave a Molton Brown product for you to try and keep. There is no TV, no internet connection and no spa in your room. However being a eco-resort, we expected just that, and to be honest I was very happy with that arrangement. It gave us the opportunity to really unwind.

The location of the Resort is wonderful. Very secluded, away from the other two resorts on the Long Island.

The Resort was definately provided value for money. After five days, we can not remember ever being so relaxed, well feed and content. We look forward to returning.

Thank you Paradise Bay Resort!

By the way - we found the wedding ring on the sand the day after it was lost! The staff helped us find it and celebrate on the beach with champagne.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonoandRacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

From the moment we arrived at Paradise Bay we were greeted with warmth and we knew we had landed at the ideal location for our 7 night honeymoon. The location was perfect... quiet, tranquil and with the sounds of the wind and the waves it did not take long to start feeling relaxed and welcomed to such a touch of paradise and luxury. The attention to detail was second to none and gave the special touch you would not see at any other first class resort. The food was superb with wines to match and the evening dinner converstaion was great with some wonderful quests and hosts. We wished we did not have to leave and we will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Overall, our stay was excellent. The cabins are tastefully decorated, as are the open areas which consist of a dining room, a living room/reading room, and a few day beds. The place follows the safari lodge concept and aesthetics and in fact the current managers used to run a lodge in Africa. The service is very good. Sophie is a wonderful hostess because she cares about her guests and tries to get to know them as human beings. Todd is an incredible chef (modern Australian cuisine with an Italian influence). Because this is not a typical hotel, it attracts unusual people who are interesting and a bit off the wall (two interesting Indian doctors and a wonderful honeymooning couple from Perth while we were there). The activities are fantastic when the weather is good and consist of sailing with the catamaran (to nearby islands and to Whitehaven beach, perhaps the most beautiful beach in the world). The helicopter ride over the Reef is a must although pretty expensive ($700 per person). I am not sure the place is a terrific value when it's raining (it's a lot of money to read books in a hammock) but when the sun is out it really looks like paradise on earth. For people who like wildlife, there are wild wallabies, interesting birds, gorgeous butterflies, turtles, and goannas (Australian monitor lizards). We saw large fish when we snorkeled in the reef, including the Maori wrasse which is at least 5 feet long. This is the kind of gem that is special because not too many people know about it, which is why I am conflicted about writing this review. We should all be saying it was awful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BramStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We were married at Paradise Bay and spent our honeymoon within the eco resort that truly reflected paradise for us. You could almost say it was a slice of pardise itself.
The staff and other guests made you feel like you were on a holiday in paradise with your family or friends. We felt more like guests within someone's home rather than being in a resort.
With only 10 Eco lodges in the resort you never felt crowded, you could choose to relax and unwind on the beach or set off on an adventure with the daily boat trips or taking out a kayak to explore the islands.
A truly magical place where you felt at one with nature and everywhere you turned you would see an abundance of wildlife from tropical birds, wallabies, lizards and beautiful butterflies.
An attention to detail and little things like lollies in your room and little presents left on the bed just made you feel that extra special.

The dining experience was truly magical, dining under the stars each night with all the other guests, such fresh and refreshing dishes that were truly maginificant. A culinary delight each day for breakfast,lunch and dinner.

An ideal spot with unique and comfortable style accomodation with just the right amount of small luxuries and a great balance with nature to make you want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Paradise Bay Eco Resort from the 6th of April until the 9th of April. We had the most wonderful honeymoon.
From the moment we stepped from our amazing helicopter ride we felt at home. The warm welcome from Todd and Sophie, followed by the welcome champagne and chocolates, set the scene for a holiday we will never forget. The stunning location, the beautiful rooms, the incredible food, the gorgeous wildlife and the staff make for a holiday that everyone should experience.
Where do I begin with the staff.. words cannot describe the service that they provide - Todd and Sophie made our experience truly magical and we can't thank them enough.
It was luxury at it's finest. We really enjoyed dining with different people from all parts of the world and our evenings spent dining by candlelight hold some of our fondest memories.
They have covered every base - from the personalised welcome upon arrival to the gorgeous gifts left on our bed each morning and the tours that are tailored to your wishes - particularly our trip to Whitehaven Beach.
We have never experienced anything like this before. Our perception of what a holiday should be has been changed dramatically by this experience and we will look back fondly at the friendships made and the experiences shared during our short stay on the island. We didn't know what a beautiful night sky looked like until we sat on our deck late one night and there wasn't a street light or house light to be seen. It was stunning.
Thanks to the team at Paradise Bay we can now confidently say that we have experienced Paradise. Paradise is appreciating and experiencing the beauty of nature while enjoying great food, Australian Wines and a little bit of luxury with minimal impact on the environment. Paradise Bay does this perfectly.
Thank-you again and please extend our many thanks to Todd and Sophie.
Belinda and Shane Chamings :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellecon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
0.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.0 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Island Resort

Property: Paradise Bay Island Resort
Address: Paradise Bay | South-Long Island, 4802, Australia (Formerly Paradise Bay Eco Escape)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Bay Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the brilliantly contrasting backdrops of sun-soaked beaches, crystal clear water and pristine untouched wilderness, full of friendly local wildlife. Paradise Bay is the ultimate in romantic, environmentally friendly island getaways – your own piece of Paradise in the Whitsundays. With a maximum of just 20 guests at one time and no kids, no day visitors, no mobile phone reception or internet, this is the ultimate, intimate escape... Welcome to Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paradise Bay Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Eco Escape Hotel Long Island
Paradise Bay Island Resort Long Island, Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing