We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qualia Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Qualia is everything i hoped it would be. the pick up at the airport is amazing, the checkin at hotel is very well done, the buggy you recieve is all you need to get anywhere you wish to go but Qualia also provides courtesy drivers whenever you need. The room is amazing and while I am sure the rooms private pool are amazing the ones without are totally wonderful. I could have simply stayed in the room the entire time - amazing views and deck, gorgeous bathroom and living area, ice maker, refrigerator!. The resort is so totally tranquil and amazing breakfast. We did head out and do trips to Great Barrier Reef and Whitehaven beach but if you get sea sick think twice before going! Total 5 star experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marysusanslobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear connecticut29,

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review- it was a pleasure to welcome you to qualia and your stay in one of our Leeward pavilions - a space so well suited to rest and relaxation.

The buggies are certainly great fun and a fantastic way to explore qualia and all that Hamilton Island has to offer. We will always offer the option of a chauffeur however if our guests prefer - just another way we like to wow...!

I hope you are able to visit us again.

Warm regards,

Matthew T
General Manager - qualia

Hamilton Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    145
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
74
1,032
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The resort is gorgeous. It was so easy to fly into Hamilton Island directly from Sydney. The main Long Pavilion is beautiful and our casita/bungalow was amazing with a great view of Dent Island. We went to see the reef one day, played golf on Dent Island another day, and went to Whitehaven Beach. Highly recommend a helicopter ride to Whitehaven Beach. Stunning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hofol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I visited Qualia for the weekend for one of their Great Barrier feasts. Everything was exceptional.the suites were beautiful, the service was perfect and the food and wine amazing. Perfect place for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our experience began with the airport pick up. We were provided cool towels and water and the staff carried our belongings to the air conditioned car. A separate car picked up our luggage, which was waiting in our room when we arrived. When we arrived at the resort, we were given champagne, which was topped up as we checked in (this involved sitting on the couch, looking over at the views and having a chat with the manager). We were then given our buggy and taken to our room. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, with a wonderful view from the balcony. Very private. There was a bottle of champagne (worth $150) chilling for us and we were soon provided with a chocolate dessert and card congratulating us on our recent wedding. Throughout our stay the staff could not have been more helpful, they did everything we asked and more. If something small went wrong, they went out of their way to correct it. For instance, there was a small mistake with breakfast, they corrected this by giving us a free lunch - worth $160, much more than that error needed! I have dietary requirements and was really well looked after, they even made special meals just for me. Beautiful pool, wonderful cocktails, delicious food. They will drop you anywhere on the island you want to go. They had free activities - highly reccommend a private beach drop off. They take you to a near-by island where they have set up some lounges, towels and umbrella for you. No one else there, complete privacy, and then pick you up when you call or at a pre-determined time. Also had managers drinks, more free champagne! The sunset cruise was also great. One day it rained, so they organised other activities, including wine tasting which I really enjoyed. Spa Qualia was amazing - you must go! I did the 'heaven scent' package and it was wonderful. Only downside was that it was windy, so some of our planned activities couldn't run. But that is the fault of the weather at this time of year, not Qualia. Highly reccommended, I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Becstar2014,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! Thank you for entrusting us to take the best of care of you during your honeymoon - one of the few times when you can be justifiably indulgent!

Once again, please accept our apologies that your experience at breakfast on one occasion was not up to the usually high standards we pride ourselves on delivering. Given the circumstances of this experience- I trust your lunch at Pebble Beach was enjoyable.

It is also very pleasing to hear when guests are able to make the most of all the experiences available to them.

I hope we can welcome you back again, perhaps to celebrate an anniversary? Do let me know if I might assist and welcome you once more to qualia.

Warm regards,

Matthew T
General Manager - qualia

Hamilton Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here Jan 14. Stunning location, excellent service and very good food indeed. The room had an en-suite plunge pool with the most enviable views.
I have stayed at some incredible resorts over the years and this one is up there with them. If anything I found the service a little too intense - I know the staff try everything possible to make your stay polished and unique but on occasions it had a flavour of 'up selling' with the recommendation of pretty much everything the minute you arrive whereas perhaps like a butterfly you should be allowed to settle first prior to moving in... I prefer a more relaxed, yet equally refined level of service.
That said, it was an incredible experience and we ant to return so that has to say something !

Room Tip: Choose a Windward pavilion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallsFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We recently were married on Hamilton Island in November 2013, and chose to stay at Qualia in a windward pavilion, and it was one of the best decision we have ever made. It is absolutely gorgeous, from the views, the breakfasts, to the lunches by the pool. Everything was spectacular.
The spa is absolutely gorgeous and the massages were so divine, that I actually had to go back for a second one. Loved every minute, and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Windward pavilions are a must, stay in rooms with a low number 1 - 10 as they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Australia being our honeymoon destination, the most opportune moment was spending Valentines Day at the most gorgeous resort, Qualia, Hamilton Island. Tucked away in a corner of the small island, is paradise. The whole experience, right from entering the grand gates of this resort, to check in, the stay, the view and service just dazzle and delight you. You needn't worry about the bags reaching your room, or being checked into your flight, all you needed to do was identify the baggage and it was all taken care of. The comfort of the plush room and plunge pool, is inexpressible. Even at a time when we forgot our towels on our scuba trip, the hotel delivered them to us before we could take our ride. Taking care of the minutest details, the resort and service there has definitely charmed our hearts. Quality ingredients at the spa and restaurants, being from the industry, i really appreciated the detailing they'd looked into. The private golf buggy's are actually the best thing that happened to us on this island. I'd say, a couple who hasn't stayed here, does not know what they're missing.

Room Tip: Choose the Winward Pavillion, with a clear sea view, because some may have a partial forest view too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwin90frames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
1.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,343 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
10.6 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.3 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Property: Qualia Resort
Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing