We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The paradise exists and we´ll go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qualia Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“The paradise exists and we´ll go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I endorse each phrase at the Qualia site, because everything is exactly as shown in photos and even better. And it may be difficult to capture something so sublime. You just have to go.
The entrance to the hotel is wonderful and very private - such as "Welcome to heaven just for you guys."

The gardens are extremely careful and I saw that they have a particular concern with the native flora and fauna - so important.
Our Windward Pavilion is a dream of silence, nature, excellent construction, wonderful views. All the comfort and size we were expecting. Perfect.
The pool at the hotel is really beautiful and useful for those who enjoy swimming. Difficult to find the two things together at other hotels.
The SPA is excellent.
All staff were extremely friendly and professional.
I think everything is done with love for all. And it works very well.
I would have to write a lot more to say about the qualities of Qualia, so It´s better to say: Go! As soon as you can.

We´re across of the world but we´ll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Keep also in Winward Pavilion. Worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lluviaxlluvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear lluviaxlluvia

I believe the word sublime conjures up the correct imagery. Thank you for your wonderful review, your kind words and more importantly for staying with us!

It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay and to learn how much you appreciated and enjoyed qualia's lush grounds, our facilities & the Spa qualia experience! We are indeed very touched.

We certainly hope you can join us again on a return visit mindful of how far you travelled just to experience qualia.

If there is anything I might be able to assist, please don’t hesitate to contact me personally on mtaverner@qualia.com.au.

Warmest Regards,

Matthew Taverner
General Manager qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    145
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
73
1,028
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's with great pleasure that I leave this review. My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary in March 2013 and from the moment we go off our flight, we didn't have to worry about a thing.

The rooms are immaculate with the tranquil surrounds - no stone has been left unturned and no details have been overlooked in offering the perfect relaxing experience. We were greeted by the GM and champagne on arrival and had the opportunity to mingle with other guests. We found a complimentary bottle of Veuve in our room to help us celebrate our anniversary. The private plunge pools was fabulous, as were the views and the daily breakfast delivered to our room.

You really don't have to worry about anything whilst staying at qualia, no issue is too big or small and they ensure you have everything you need from beginning to end. One small point we will mention, although not a reflection on qualia, is during the beach drop off - we were greeted by sand flees, which made for a very painful week or so upon our return to Sydney. There was insect repellent provided, but no warnings, guess we may just have been naive city folk.

Have no hesitation in recommending and we look forward to our next stay. Thanks to Michael and his staff for looking after us - by the end of our trip, we truly were "All Veuved Out'

5-Star ++ all round.

Room Tip: If you do the beach drop off, use repellent, those sand flees can be nasty! But you are in the tropi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's been almost 1 year since my husband and I stayed @ Qualia for our honeymoon in October. It's only now I decided to say my bit about this wonderful and amazing resort that I am so proud to say is in our very own country! I am planning a trip to Phuket for our one year anniversary... Qualia... oh how you have set the bar so high!
I'd imagine that the service that we received at Qualia can never compare! We stayed 7 nights, and there was NOT one bad experience we had. One example of the fantastic service (which my husband rants to everyone about all the time) is upon our arrival we were greeted so sincerely with refreshments, there were different kinds of beer, wine, soft drinks and water pre poured and offered to us almost imminently. My husband reached for a glass of beer asking " any of these VB?" So politely the staff member apologised and said, we don't stock that beer, in fact, there isn't anywhere on the island you can get it. Well we checked in etc then took a drive into twon (5 min from Qualia lol) stopped @ a bottle shop, asked for a case of VB and sure as hell, they don't stock it. Hubby said, oh well I'll just drink JD's the whole trip.
The next morning we spent the day out, when we arrived back in our room, our fridge had been stocked up with ... YES VB.... they apparently got it from the main land or something, but the whole trip my husband was not short of one VB, and he drinks like a fish! Even in the bar near the pool they had VB there for him!
That is just ONE of the many perfect little gestures and memories that will stay with us forever. Honestly, beautiful rooms, neat, tidy, modern, romantic, breath taking. Food and breakie was AMAZING! food was never a let down, we hardly ate anywhere else cos we really enjoyed the food @ Qualia.
Anyway, bottom line, I really can not say enough great things about this beautiful resort. JUST BOOK IT... YOU'LL SEE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Fabienne D,

Thank you for your terrific review and for choosing qualia for your Honeymoon.

What an honour it was to have you spend such an important milestone with us and your review really did bring a wry smile to us all.

Regardless of the occasion, we are always happy to go that little bit extra for our guests – and if that means obtaining your husband’s beverage of choice from the Big Island we call Australia – so be it, anything to help!

We certainly hope you will be able to join us again – perhaps an anniversary trip? – I’ll ensure the Mini Bar is well stocked ahead of time....

Warm regards,

Matthew Taverner
General Manager - qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Qualia. The resort is beautiful, gardens are amazing. Pavillions are far enough from each other which is very pleasant, and they are furnished with high quality materials. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is amazing and Aéosop products were well appreciated.
To have a private club car is highly appreciated and gives you freedom and zero stress about time. Food is delicious, service is perfect, swimming-pool is nice and the temperature is adequate. We enjoyed a trip in kayak, a drop-off in a "secret beach", the secret cruise (pleasant, I recommend) and a trip in helicopter to the Great Barrier Reef with a drop off on Whiteheaven beach. Definitively this last point is a must-do once in your life.

The only "minus" point we were disappointed with, is the beach of the hotel which has nothing special (or less).

We highly recommend Qualia for a rejuvenating break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this lovely property in April 2013 for a couple of nights. The weather was not that good...we had one day with sun and two with heavy rain. The resort had plenty to do, and they did alot of different activities to help compensate for the hard rain. The property is lovely and well kept, the pool is very nice and the staff is very friendly. Only thing missing is maybe a little more staff training - we encountered mostly very young people at the restaurant and check-in - very friendly and always smiling and very helpfull. When we had breakfast everything was fine, but the staff came with all the orders at once so some of the items went cold - a bit more experienced staff would have waited with some of the items and not bring it all at once. But all in all we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our third visit to Qualia and we were yet again amazed at the beauty of this resort. The ambiance and scenery are just breathtaking a truly relaxing and private location for anyone wishing to just be and to have all your needs catered for. The facilities of the Pavilions are modern, luxurious and above all clean, the food is wonderful and as good as any city fine dining restaurant and the staff are very friendly and above all respectful to all your needs and requests
There are many activities we went on a Sunset Cruise which was spectacular and we were fortunate to see a whale - we also chose to have a beach drop off at a secluded beach which was great. We also spent some time at the Spa which is just total serenity .All in all Qualia is a wonderful place for anyone wanting to o a little or do a lot in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: We had Pavilion 25 which had beautiful views of the water with morning sun and we were close to most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Connie L,

Firstly, thank you once again for staying with us and for your kind review.

The sunset cruise and beach drop off are always a favourite activity - more so if you are lucky to enough to visit at the right time of the year and encounter whales - a profoundly moving experience for many!

We are justifiably proud of Spa qualia & I am very glad to learn you enjoyed your treatments & relaxation time in the care of the team there.

We certainly hope you can join us again soon. If there is anything in this respect - please don’t hesitate to contact me personally on mtaverner@qualia.com.au.

Kind regards,

Matthew Taverner
General Manager - qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went back to Qualia for a second time and it did not disappoint ! Excellent from start to finish , from the moment we stepped of the plane to getting back on six days later we were treated to some of the finest accommodation and excellent customer service we have received anywhere in the world . Thanks again , we will be back again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Greetings d b,

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us again and I wish to thank you for your very high praise indeed.

We are touched by how highly you regard qualia and the unique blend of service we strive to provide.

We certainly look forward to having you stay with us
again. To this end, if there is anything I can do, please don’t hesitate to contact me on gm@qualia.com.au.

Warmest Regards,

Matthew Taverner
General Manager - qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
1.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
10.6 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
16.3 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Property: Qualia Resort
Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing