We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful and Relaxing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qualia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Qualia Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Qualia for 4 nights, with the first two days being a small on site conference and the remainder a relaxing, indulgent experience.

We were in a Windward Pavilion which is a bedroom/bathroom/living room villa with a private pool, sun loungers and day bed. This side of the resort has expansive views out over the Whitsundays, and the whole experience was incredibly calming.

The attention to detail from the staff at Qualia is the best I've encountered anywhere in the world. The staff are very intuitive but at the same time quite relaxed, it's a lovely combination and adds to the welcoming feeling that starts when being met off the plane with hand towels and water.

The food is excellent, we ate at the Long Pavilion twice, once a la carte and once with the 8 course degustation. The food was great and not too expensive when you compare it to some of the other restaurants on the Island that aren't as high a quality. The more casual poolside restaurant feels more expensive for the type of food being served ($38 sandwiches are a new experience for me!), but all non-alcoholic beverages are complimentary during your stay so that helps a little.

Breakfast is delicious and was part of our room price, and we had the option of eating in the restaurant or in our own Pavilion. We tried both and were equally happy, although it is very nice to eat a 5 star breakfast in the privacy of a villa while overlooking the water and surrounding islands.

At Qualia we were pleasantly surprised by the generosity of the service - on one of the evenings we didn't feel like fine dining so the staff went and picked up a pizza from the Italian restaurant in town for us, and charged it to our room. Likewise they are more than happy to bring an espresso coffee to your room whenever requested, all free of charge.

I think the tendency when reviewing such a high end (and expensive) hotel is to look for flaws, but we haven't been able to identify a single thing that they could improve on - it is a really lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Windward rooms are about 50% more expensive than the Leeward rooms, but the private pool and outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Will F,

I'm pleased that after your conference, you and your wife were able to forget about the 'real world' for just a weekend to enjoy some time-out with us here at qualia.

Thank you for the great review. I look forward to welcoming you back when you next need to recharge the batteries.

Sincerely

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    135
    44
    16
    15
See reviews for
71
953
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We eloped to Qualia in November 2012. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Our pavilion was clean, had everything we needed and just really beautiful, the food in the restaurants was fantastic, the pool area was sensational and we can't wait to go back.

We were married on the helipad and then had a meal at the Long Pavilion. The staff made us feel very special. They placed a table out on the decking, it was as if it was just my husband and I in paradise, with an occasional visit from the waitress. Perfect.

We had a few issues with the wedding company, this was no fault of Qualia Resort and the staff tried their very best to fix other peoples mistakes.

Qualia is the perfect destination to relax and recharge. If you're not good at 'doing nothing' the non-motorised water sports will keep you entertained, we used everything, and took advantage of the beach drop off, where we spent a few hours alone on a secluded beach.

We're already booked for November 2013 and are very much looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJilliBeanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Jilli Bean O,

I'm thrilled to hear such a great account of your wedding escape to qualia.

It's pleasing to see that the qualia team were so helpful with your wedding plans, and we have followed-up with 'Hamilton Island Weddings' regarding the concerns and issues you experienced. I sincerely hope that these issues didn't detract too much from making your your wedding day so special.

We look forward to your celebrating your anniversary visit, and will do everything we can to convince you to return every year to commemorate this beautiful occasion.

Warmest Regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel with outstanding service - you will be relaxed within 15 of checking in as if you'd been there all week.
Frightfully expensive but can't fault the stay. The pebble beach infinity pool and surrounds is lovely and the Windward Pavillion Villas are exceptional and very private. Very sad to leave

Room Tip: Choose a Windward Pavilion with pool on Northern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Easy to see why it's one of the best in Australia! Sincere happy staff and very warm welcome with champagne! The main building is beautiful and all the grounds are immaculate! Suites are gorgeous with a beautiful view, more champagne was waiting for us there!! Food was out of the world, best breakfast - eggs benedict I have had in a while!! Dinner was pricy and interesting with avocado icecream but a nice experience! Best was lunch at pebble beach - even though still very pricey - view is amazing and perfect simple food, could sit there all day! Heaps of fun exploring the island in your personal buggy, eating lunch in the marina or back at resort relaxing by the amazing pool. On a final note; best hot stone massage ever! Must use this spa!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoriRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear DoriRussell,

It's rewarding to see a review that compliments so many different aspects of the qualia experience.

I think I will need to get the team at Spa qualia to prepare for a surge in bookings for the hot stone massage now!

Thanks you for taking the time to to share your thoughts, and we look forward to you returning one day soon.

Sincerely

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having stayed at Hayman Is many times we thought it time to give the well reviewed Qualia a try.
The 3 hour flight from Melbourne and the transfer straight from the airport means you are in your room before lunch. The room itself is well laid out with understated luxury but maybe lacking the polish we expect from resorts at this price in Asia.
The pool area has a wonderful outlook across the water towards the distant islands. However the beach in front of the resort is rocky and water not particularly inviting.
A complimentary bottle of Charles Heidsek champagne is a very nice touch and they kindly allowed us to take the bottle to dinner that night.
All the staff are very helpful and upbeat and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.
The one let down for us was the food. We don't mind paying eye watering prices as long as the food is mouth watering. My wife's prawns were floury as if they were not fresh but my spatchcock was delicious as it should be for $52. However the tomato salad was inedible at $14. The tomatoes were a combination of unripe and green tomato chunks served a plate with no dressing. Fine if you want to showcase fantastic produce but not when the produce is unripe and inedible.
The breakfast was pretty standard for a 5 star hotel. You can tell they try to take a few shortcuts in the kitchen. The fruit is not freshly cut, the pastries are not made with butter, the bacon is cooked to death in the oven making it hard
Would I recommend people to try Qualia? If you live in Australia and want a short break - yes. Qualia is most probably the best resort in Australia. If you live outside Australia then I'd recommend trying somewhere in Asia or Maldives where you get more for less

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosserdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Rosserdale,

I'm pleased to see that your recent stay was so enjoyable.

It was interesting to to read your account on how easy it was to access qualia from Melbourne. The direct flight to our doorstep allows you to step off the plane and straight into your qualia escape within minutes of touching down, without the delay of organising transfers, taxis, or renting a car.

Many first-time visitors to qualia (from all over Australia), are surprised that the door-to-door travel times are faster than many destinations that they would normally fly (or even drive) to.

On a separate note, it was disappointing to see that you were let down by the food on offer at our signature restaurants. I apologise that the style of the menu and food presented was not to your liking.

At qualia we aim to showcase beautiful local ingredients combined with the skills of our talented chefs. We are proud of what we offer at qualia as being exceptional cuisine in our signature style. That being said I’m sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with the dishes offered by our restaurant.

Our Executive Chef, Alastair Waddell, was recently named Hotel Chef of the Year in the 2012 Hotel Management Awards for Excellence and I personally love the flavours that he creates but I completely understand that everyone has their own preferences

Thanks for taking the time to share your qualia experience and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest regards

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

After getting married on Whitehaven Beach, we spend our honeymoon at Qualia and it was amazing. It was so relaxing and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were allowed to use the helipad for our flight to and from Hamilton Island, which was very convenient.
We stayed in Windward Pavilion nr. 10 that has an amazing view on the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Island. The room has a private infinity pool so we didn't leave the room very often. You're able to see lots of wildlife from your room. While we were there we've seen Whiptail Wallabies, Blue Tiger butterflies, a giant seeturtle, lots of birds and had a possum and cockatoos on the terrace. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Kim094

What an amazing story it is to have been married on Whitehaven Beach. Congratulations to you both. We are honored that you chose qualia to be part of this terrific event.

I sincerely hope that qualia can feature again as your story continues long into the future.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very well oiled machine, operating at near peak performance.
I won't repeat what others have said about the welcome, the perfect, unobtrusive service and the beautiful location - but one piece of advice - pay extra to stay in a Windward room! We started in a Leeward (nice room with an OK view); and moved to Pavillion 22 on the Windward side. WOW. It's pretty much the same view as you get from the reception area in the Long Pavillion - of the sea and nearby Whitsunday islands. This, combined with the complementary yoga class each morning at the spa, gave us a tremendous sense of wellbeing and joie de vivre.
We spent eight days at qualia, and we found the menu at both the Long Pavillion and the Pebbles Beach restaurants a little limited. Service in both restaurants was always friendly and professional, but service in the Long Pavilion in the evenings was often painfully slow. Clearly this was down to the kitchen, as there are lots of waiting staff.
If you find this irritating there are a number of other restaurants on the island offering as good, if not better food, and much quicker service. We particularly liked the Yacht Club, which has a much livelier atmosphere and, as you would expect, a great view over the harbour (and some very impressive boats)
All in all we had a wonderful time; would love to return one day and are very happy to recommend qualia to others.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Windward pavillion. You won't regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richtinn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, Manager at Qualia Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear richtinn10,

Thanks for your great review. I'm happy that our qualia experience brought you such a 'joy of living'.

I'm disappointed to see the delays you experienced when dining at our restaurants, and I'll be discussing this with the relevant managers to see if we can identify the possible reasons that these occurred.

Nevertheless, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and when you're next in Australia, we'd love to welcome you back.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Lee
Executive Assistant Manager
qualia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
10.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
16.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualia Resort

Property: Qualia Resort
Address: 20 Whitsunday Boulevard, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qualia Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Whitsundays, qualia puts the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef right on your doorstep. Its sun-drenched northern aspect provides the ideal location to appreciate the passing beauty of each day, surrounding guests with some of the most stunning and spectacular waters to be found anywhere in the world. What’s more, with a direct flight taking only 2-3 hours from international gateway cities on Australia’s east coast, qualia truly is a world-class destination without the journey.qualia offers a choice of 60 individual pavilions, each with breathtaking views. There are spacious one-bedroom freestanding pavilions (Windward and Leeward) that provide an indulgentspace to relax in and unwind, with either a sundeck or private infinity edge plunge pool. Or, there’s the uncompromising luxury and privacy of the Beach House with its own guest pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, MrandMrsSmith, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Qualia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qualia Hamilton Island
Qualia Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing