We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hibiscus Apartments
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

On our 1st trip to Hamilton Island several years ago we stayed in the Whitsunday Apartments & were pretty impressed. When we decided to go back early this year we chose the Hibiscus Apartments no 206. It was slightly dearer than Whitsunday but the inclusion of the buggy was more than worth it.

We were there the last week of April and unfortunately it started raining a few hours after we arrived & it didn't stop for the 3 days so having the buggy meant we didn't get washed away at meal times.

The apartment was spotlessly clean, well equipped and extremely spacious with 2 bedrooms & 2 baths. The 2 tv's came in handy when we were stuck inside with the rain but mostly we lazed on the balcony & read & although it was probably due to the weather it was quite annoying to keep losing tv signal & not being able to get some channels altogether especially the night of the royal wedding!!!

We ate at Reef View, Sails, Manta Ray, the pub, bakery & fish n chip place & all were excellent, if you ignore the inflated island pricing. We tried to get into Bommie but the only night they had a table was the friday night which was the same night as the wedding so Bommie will have to wait till our next visit.

Think twice about ordering a pizza from Manta Ray & getting it delivered to you. We did this on our 1st night cos it was bucketing down & we figured better the pizza guy gets drenched than us but the price was exhorbitant. We had 2 pizza's at almost $30 EACH!!! ouch!! Still .....live & learn.....

Another small gripe we had was lack on internet access in the apartment. Actually to be fair it was available at an extra charge but it surely these days should be included in the rates.

We will be returning to Hamilton & Hibiscus sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byrdbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Buggy was in the apartment hire which was great, the pool not the same standard as the rest of the resort, spa not heated. Many broken appointments in room c204, eg Fan, oven, leaking taps, shower door. Kids eat free at some restaurants. Would come back to the island again but stay we will stay somewhere else. B.M.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradMiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have just come back from a week at Hamilton Island staying at the Hibiscus Apartments. We stayed in 001 which was a newly renovated two bedroom, ground floor apartment. It had everything we need, full kitchen, two bathrooms, two tv's with Austar, beach towels and of course the apartment comes with a buggy. This is very handy as most of the restaurants and shops are on the marina side of the island over one very big hill!! The ground foor was perfect for my son, who was able to play on the grassed area near our patio. The apartment is also close enough to be able to walk to Catseye Beach, the Bouganivllia Pool and the Pool Terrace restaurant at the Reef View Hotel.

We have previously stayed at Hamiltion Island in the Whitsunday Holiday Apartments when our son was just over one. We found it very difficult to get around the island without a buggy and they are quite expensive to hire, $80 day! They have buses running, but it was very hard with a child, pram and nappy bag. This time with the buggy included it was fantastic. We could do what we wanted, when we wanted......and much more freedom.

While we were on the island, my husband did a fishing trip and caught a fish that we were able to cook up on the BBQ on the patio. We also did a day trip on the Banjo Paterson. It was a great way to see Whitehaven and Chalkies beaches.....nothing bets turning the motor off and sailing!!! We all had a fantastic day.

I did a trip to the day spa and had a treatment which was very relaxing! While I was doing this my hubby and son went and played mini golf. We were also going to check out the new bowling alley, but ran out of time!

We spent most of our time at the Bouganvilla Pool, which is great for kids. My son made so many new friends which kept him entertained and off out backs!

We ate at the Manta Ray cafe, the Marina Tavern, the Pool Terrace Restaurant and all were great. The pizzas at the Manta Ray Cafe were our favourite. We also had breakfast with the koalas twice, which was excellent. It was a buffet with a great selection of hot and cold food.

We did sunset cocktails on one tree hill on our last night. Even though the sunset was not the best, we had a great time. Cocktails were delicious!!

We had the best time and can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Beerwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

We were very impressed with the two bedroom apartment in the Hibiscus lodge that we booked for our stay on Hamilton Island.

We were two adults and a 20month old and this was the best accomodation of our month-long travel. Our booking was made through [--] and it was very easy and professional and informative. We were picked up at the airport and driven to our apartment, where our personal buggy was available for use throughout our stay.

The apartment was beautifully furnished and very clean. There was a pool 20 feet away and many more available within a few minutes walking. The two bedroom, two bathroom unit had AC in every room and was perfect with a toddler. There was a baby cot available as well as a high chair, making our stay very comfortable. The location, away from the larger hotels of the resort, was perfect.

We enjoyed ourselves immensely.

  • Liked — pool proximity and quantity
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.3 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
11.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Apartments

Property: Hibiscus Apartments
Address: Catseye Bay, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hamilton Island
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Apartments Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing