We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in these apts for 2 nights. The view from our room was great. So relaxing to sit out on the balcony and take it all in. The staff were helpful and friendly. The apts were spacious and clean. No issues at all. The location was good also. Only a few mins walk to the beach, restauants etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sinead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for a week in a 12th floor ocean view apartment. Amazing view from the balcony, looking out over the ocean and surrounding beach. Very spacious room, perfect for a couple who wants to prepare food for themselves some of the time. Bus stop just outside reception, with buses going every 15 mins to the Marina. We stayed at the beginning of school holidays, which meant that it was fairly busy and some restaurants booked up. If you do visit during school holidays, make sure to book a golf buggy in advance as they were all booked out for a few days after we arrived. Having a buggy isn't necessary as the bus is free and frequent, however those with children may find it easier with a buggy. When catching the green bus from the Marina back to the apartments, try getting the bus from the stop outside the General Store rather than the most popular one outside the Ice Cream Parlour, as it's often full by then. The cockatoos would visit frequently, but be warned, they will scavenge for food inside the apartment if doors are left open. Overall a fantastic room and view, would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drzoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took the advice of other travellers and booked the 'rennovated' higher level coral sea view room at a premium price. We were very disappointed to find patch-work renovation, furniture from the 80's, dirty floors, run-down patio furniture and peeling paint on the ceiling of the balcony.

But, that's not all. The worst part of this place was that we ecountered cockroaches in our room every day of our stay. On the first night when we turned the A/C on in the bedroom, a huge cockroach (about 6cm long) jumped out of the a/c unit. We found a few smaller ones in the bathroom and hallway next moring. The front desk person was apologetic and said she will have someone spray the room. Friendly housekeeping people came with Raid. They sprayed and left us the spray bottle. Unfortunately, spraying did not help. We encountered 3-5 cockroaches everyday (fortunately none as big as the one that came out of the a/c). By the way, we didn't even cook and kept all our snacks in the refrigerator. I don't want to know how worse it would have been if we had cooked and had food lying around.

Obviously, the hotel is aware of this problem. When we were checking out, we were informed by a nonchalant front desk guy that the whole place was fumigated two weeks ago and that's why there were so many of them running around. Shouldn't they be dead if they were fumigated?

In any case, we will never stay at this place ever again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CdaWorld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Great older style apartment with plenty of space. Cleaning times were quite sporadic, 1:30pm one day and then 4:30pm the next. Airport transfer was poorly organized as there were too many people and not enough seats on the bus, which I'm sure reception would have realized when all clients have to confirm their transfer time a day before. Overall a good apartment, nice big balcony over looking Catseye Beach. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

From start to finish we had an amazing experience on Hamilton Island. Much of that because of the lovely people at the Whitsunday Apartments - they were soooo friendly. The one bedroom apartment was really comfortable and a view to die for from the balcony. The bed was huge (king), good kitchen and lounge area. Some would say dated, I would say welcoming. None of this cold, don't touch me, minimalist stuff. We loved it!

Tips: Do the Reefworld day tour - awesome - then do the Whitehaven Beach tour on another day (not same day). Also, go to Whitehaven on 'On the Edge' - great guys, great value, and a nice change of pace.

Room Tip: For the views you need to be on the 5th Floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jhbSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Whitsunday apartments for 10 nights on our honeymoon.
Although the apartment was a little dated, it didn't diminish our overall stay. We had a fantastic time on the island.
The views from our apartment were spectacular, we enjoyed watching the sunrise from our balcony and seeing all the wildlife that arrived (including a huge moth the size of your hand!)
The bed was huge and so comfy.
The pool and spa were brilliant and never overly busy.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We loved the convenience of an apartment style stay over the many hotels the island offered.
Would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raycheroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Such a beautiful setting, but we can't enjoy our balcony or even leave the doors open the last 2 nights for the shockingly loud music and mc blaring out of the marquee on the beach since late this afternoon. It's a great way for Bob Oatley to make even more money, but it's stuffing our enjoyment of what is a much-needed getaway. I could go on about the rest of the problems we've had here but they pale on comparison. We are in bed now with the A/C on and we can still hear it. Apparently this will go on till 11 pm, but according to Patrick at guest services that is because they are taking the needs of all guests into account. Into the Bank Account I'm sure, but no other.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JimBahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,524 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hamilton Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $201 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing