We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but when you consider where you are it's worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive but when you consider where you are it's worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Hamilton Island is relatively small and extremely easy to get around if you utitilise the free bus service that runs at least every 15mins. People get golf buggies for $85 a day but this just seemed like an expensive novelty, especially when most things are readily walkable.

The WhitSunday Apartments (WSA) are next door to the more expensive Reef View but it seems that you can share the majority of the facilities eg the various pools and the gym (for a fee). Catseye beach is opposite the hotel and is a beautiful beach. The hotel room was spacious, clean and comfortable - ROOM WITH A SEA VIEW IS A MUST, what a view to wake up to (see pictures). The only downside with the room was the faulty balcony door lock which resulted in myself and my girlfriend locking ourselves out on the balcony - fortunately out of hours came quickly (luckily I had my phone) and managed to let us back into the apartment - the only downside was that he climbed in through a closed, but not locked window, since the door had the latch on it. He told us to lock it when he left but we soon realised that the window couldn't be locked. Other than that the hotel apartment was good.

Going out to the outer Great Barrier Reef is an absolute must. All the other tours are good (kayaking, Whitehaven etcetera) but the outer barrier reef is the only one in my opinion that is just incredible.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoelandPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    421
    111
    32
    20
See reviews for
292
519
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed on the deluxe 13th floor apartment. The views were spectacular. The room was spacious and well furnished. The service from the reception staff was excellent. Loan of Beach towels and umbrella was very hepful. Very convenient location with walking distances to all islands facilities and with the shuttle bus stop right outside the apartments door. Absolute beach front. Also access to great bush walks to the top of the hill where you can view the entire island, spectacular for a picnic lunch.
Overall would recommend these apartments to anyone who is thinking of visiting Hamilton Island, we would certainly stay again if we ever return for Holiday to Hamilton Island.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor deluxe apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A little dated but excellent place to stay- good staff, very clean room, well serviced, great location, nice choice of pools or beach- heaven really! Shuttle bus is an excellent service- no need to hire buggy. Apartments are one of the better options for staying on the island- good facilities if you wish to make own meals (use Coles On Line), easy to get to restaurants either walking or by shuttle bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GHoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 8th floor here for a weekend. Location was great. Had stayed on other side of island a few times before and found this side better. Rooms were average but we didnt spent a lot of time there or we were sitting on balcony anyway. The view was great. The humidity has caused some mould issues in the room. Thomas from reception was excellent. Very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January and really wished we had stayed longer. it's one of the cheapest places to stay, we didn't expect it to be that good.
We booked a refurbished apartment with a sea view and it was well worth it for the few extra dollars it cost, as it included daily cleaning as well.
The downside is that it is seriously ugly from the outside and the common parts are a bit grim. However once inside, these apartments are incredibly spacious and the sea views from the upper floors are brilliant. The beach is literally just across the road and it has at least 2 swimming pools. You can walk to several restaurants and you can also walk to the marina.
The regular free bus service will take you everywhere you want so you don't need to hire a golf buggy which we thought was quite expensive.
There is no WIFI in the apartments but it is available in the lobby and also free. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you're going to go, pay the extra for the refurbished apartments with a sea view on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this accommodation as it was one of the cheapest on the island. When the wife went to open the door to the room, I said, "don't expect too much!". But boy was I wrong, it opened up into a large apartment with an amazing view.
I would recommend paying that bit extra for the room with a sea view as we ended up spending a bit of time on the balcony due to terrible weather, so the view was worth it.
Easy walking to the Marina, so no real need to book an overpriced buggy, the free buses on the island take you everywhere you need.
Also recommend the scenic walk to Passage Peak, a decent hike for rewarding views!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Whitsunday Apartments provided the perfect spot for a short break of rest & relaxation. Only a 6-7 minute walk to the main shops and with facilities such as pool and bus pick up most convenient. Apartment was spacious and comfortable.
We had a Garden view, but could see out onto the water.
They have a morning coffee cart, which is great, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended for a short stay

Room Tip: Garden view also has views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
17.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Property: Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing