We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waking up in a view to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island to your Saves list
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“waking up in a view to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

accommodation at Hamilton Island can be quite pricey so I would say this is one of the "affordable" ones during peak season.

Pros:
-they offer complimentary airport transfers
-excellent location: cats eye beach, buggy hire, spa & the hamilton beach club is just across the hotel
-excellent view, i believe all the rooms have an spectacular view of the sea
-fully equipped service apartment so for the budget conscious & long term stays this is definitely a plus
-complimentary beach towel that you can have replaced everyday

Cons:
-we stayed at the west tower which i believe is the older building, they definitely need a reno soon
-no restaurant in the hotel, but there was a coffee stand on the lobby

If you want an affordable accommodation and if you plan to explore the island and the reef at most during your stay, this is the hotel for you. However, if you plan to spend your holiday relaxing in your room or by the pool...you are better off staying at another hotel/apartment

Room Tip: all rooms has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank di_sassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We felt it was not clean for what you pay ( paid for 4/4.5 when it really was 2 star quality
Paint peeling off in big chunks above toilet & Balcony
Balcony was rusty
Floors were that dirty my feet where blackish on the bottom
Certainly not recommended to stay
No portacot when asked twice for?
And also when we booked
Crap really but view made up for it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mywrxrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We rented an apartment for 3 days during the month of April 2012. Though the room features won’t blow you away, but once you step out of the room and in your balcony you’ll be amazed with the views of island surrounding the cat eye beach….don’t forget to hop into to all the pools in the island, you’ll get to use most of the pools in the island..a perfect place to relax……An excellent place for the price you pay…

Room Tip: Choose a ocean view room..breath taking views from the room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJ_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although we only got to stay one night the service was lovely from the minute we got there!
There is not too many places with good customer service these days, but yours was fantastic (as well as the hamilton island shuttle bus drivers!).
We had an awesome view of the beautiful pool and could just see the ocean, was lovely for the bottom floor! The room was quite basic but was still cute and good enough for the price.
Definitely would reccommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teleesha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in a luxury one bedroom apartment on the 10th floor.
The view was spectacular, the weather perfect.
The unit itself, even renovated, is a bit tired and the range of cooking implements in the kitchen is quite limited (no wooden spoon!) & old.
One thing that did bother me is the laundry is coin operated. Travelling with children you generally need to wash at least once. The powder is $1; machine use $4; dryer use $4 so $9 a load on top of what you pay for the room is a bit over the top.
On a positive note they were extremely accommodating for our 15m old, providing a travel cot, high chair & baby bath at no extra cost. Those little things are really appreciated when travelling with young children.
I would stay again for the view and location, everything really is walking distance or you can get the free buses at the hotel door.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great views of the beach from our balcony which was high on my priority list. Very spacious and the staff were extremely helpful and nice. The bus also drops you right off at the door which was great and it was walking distance from the main strip. The kitchen was good but the bed was not very comfortable and when you moved the other person knew it. Pool was ok needs a bit of work on it though as it was a little old. This place was nowhere near as amazing as our stay in Pinnacles resort on Airlie but it was exactly what we needed as we were out most of the day and it was a really good price and again the view was stunning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CisforSylviaCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It's quite challenging choosing a destination for my three kids. Getting to Hamilton Island is so straight forward ex Sydney. It's just one plane flight and approximately 1.5 hr travel time. We arrived with my sanity intact. Although I wished I didn't bring so much grocery items with me as the General Store on the island is well stocked and prices are reasonable. Next time I will just bring food for one day, enough to get us througyou h until we can get to the store. From the Airport we were transported to Whitsunday Apartment by shuttle bus. Missed the first lot of buses so had to wait for another 15 minutes. January is hot and balmy. Quite thankful for the cloudy skies and a bit of rain. However, one passenger on the way to the apartment was complaining how it was a complete waste of her time to be there as it was raining and forecast was rain for the next few days. Honestly, the clouds made it really comfortable to enjoy the outdoors with the little kids and you still get tanned. So ... the apartment ....it was comfortable, the kids like being in a different place, they appreciated the views, and the big pools. Having three kids means I can't stay at the Reef Hotel as they only allow max. two kids. That's how we ended up at the Whitsunday apartments. Bedding configuration is not the best. In the bedroom there is only one bed, king size, which for us fitted one adult and two kids. There is also a built in seat in the bedroom that doubles as a bed. The lounge also doubles as a bed, that's where my husband slept. I believe the interior is different for every apartment, but bed configuration is standard. Kitchen and bathroom is functional. Room service is good. There is a coin operated Laundry on level five. Cooked our own dinner every day. Kids were happy ! and I need a holiday from my holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.6 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
6.6 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#2 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
10.8 mi away
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daydream Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing