We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, self serviced freedom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, self serviced freedom”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As mentioned, try to get a higher located apartment. The views are fantastic. Share with friends and family to get the best value experience, as dining at the various restaurants can be very expensive. The lower rooms , you will be audible attacked by noises from children and people and bats later in the evening.

If you are planning an extended stay, we do suggest ordering groceries via Coles online, the money saved can go towards other water sport activities, buggies, golf, etc. And groceries are delivered to the apartments. Remember that, a bottle of 600mm water is $4, and sunscreen is $18-27 for ~100mm at the local marina supply stores!

Our apartment did have strange little ant things in the kitchen. Much smaller than normal ants, not sure if they are locals (we are from melbourne and i've not seen these small micro ants before) , they appear only if food is left out.

The downsides, the bathroom had an overpowering smell of 'extremely cheap' disinfectant which wafted straight into the bedroom, which made the first nite sleep extremely discomforting. Also the kitchen had that 'student' type grease smell.

But overall it was a great stay, the staff were courteous and assisted us with queries and questions no problems.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view. Do not get lower ones , you will hear kids all day screaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creole3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    431
    112
    32
    20
See reviews for
298
526
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just wanted to say a big thank to you for the Wonderful holiday that we had at the Whitsunday Apartments! The apartments were absolutely perfect for what we needed and we believed we had the best position in the Island as far as having those 2 beautiful pools and the ocean right at our doorstep!

The fact that the apartments were next door to each other on the ground floor was fantastic as the kids could easily go between the 2 apartments and we knew they were safe.

Thank you so much for all your help! We are already trying to plan when we will be back and we will not bother looking anywhere else for accommodation as your property was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed ground floor East side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The heading says it all really! This is a great place to stay and an even better place if you book in advance and secure a great promotional deal (like I did).

We stayed in an ocean view room (5th floor). The view was great and the apartment itself was in a great spot - within walking distance to Catseye beach, gym and the marina.

If you go to the website, you will see that you can order groceries online from Coles. This option really relieves the budget however there is a general store at the marina. Alternatively reception at the apartment have a few things you can buy like laundry powder, snacks, cereal, small sachets of Vegemite, jam and honey. If you do your own cooking be warned that the kitchen knives are fairly blunt.

There's no wifi access available in your room, however free wifi in the reception and lounge area downstairs.

Reception staff also booked our activities - highly reccomend the company "Cruise Indigo Hamilton Island"

In summary, this is most likely to be the most affordable accommodation you will find in Hamilton Island. It's not the flashiest nor ultra modern, but it's modest, CLEAN, with reasonably modern appliances.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We read the reviews about the property being rather tired, however we paid $20.00 more and upgraded to a rennovated room, well worth the extra dollars. It also ensured we were on a higher floor 12th, so we had a fantastic view. Definately request a high floor as long as you can take the heights
The appartments are well located on the beach and at beginning of teh walking tracks, so no need to pay the hiogher prices of other locations.
We hired a golf buggy to get around, expensive at $85 per day but again a great way to see the island and determine where we wanted to go. No need to hire every day as a lot is with in walking distance however it was a good introduction to the layout of teh island

Room Tip: Pay extra for renovated room Ask for higer unit as view are fantastic the higher you are Hire a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charsal_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Whitsunday apartments on our 2nd trip to Hamilton Island. We were on the 11th floor and was most impressed with the spectacular view! The apartments themselves are very specious with seperate bedroom, living area and fully contained kitchen. We cooked our own breakfast as the complex did not offer breakfast other than a discount at the wildlife park (which was still $25 per head). Daily room service is not included however rubbish is removed daily. I wanted new bath towels and upon request this was honoured by the friendly reception staff. We loved the location and didn't need a golf cart this time round- the island shuttle bus is also handy! Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelleday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here and saw a whale nearly every morning swimming by between 6 & 7am. Everywhere else was booked out but we were glad we ended up here. They sell great coffee in the morning and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It's a beautiful island and well worth a visit. The golf course is definitely worth playing, just watch out for the snakes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newyorkkeengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,373 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.5 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island

Property: Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Address: 14 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island is apartment-style living in a truly tropical holiday destination in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef. Adjacent to Catseye Beach on the resort side of Hamilton Island, the Whitsunday Apartments are the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic or adventure holiday.Whitsunday Apartments is the ideal destination for holidaymakers who prefer the independence of apartment accommodation. Each apartment offers a well-appointed kitchen, dual-access bathroom, large open-plan living area and a spacious balcony offering ocean or lush tropical garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island Hotel Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hamilton Island
Whitsunday Holiday Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing