We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Bungalow - not too bad but plenty of room for improvements”
Review of Palm Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Palm Bungalow - not too bad but plenty of room for improvements”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the refurbished premium bungalows during Australia day long weekend. The room was nice and new, with a kitchenette which comes in handy when we did some minor cooking one night. However, we noticed that there were lots of ants around the kitchenette, the management really need to look into this problem as it can be disturbing to the guests. The pool area gives us a sense of peace and relaxation, I like to hang around that area. It will be great if the management can clean the pool more often. We appreciate the snorkelling lesson given at the pool (complimentary) to hotel guests as we are beginners and felt more confident after the lesson.
All in all, a nice and relaxing stay on Hamilton Island.

Room Tip: Choose one of the refurbished bungalows, much newer than the old ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Emily C,

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished Palm Bungalows. It’s great to hear more positive feedback about the bungalows!
I apologise for the ants. Ants aren’t a common problem but sometimes after heavy rain, they may try to come inside. Just remember that a staff member capable of getting rid of unwanted insects is only a phone call away.
I hope that you will come back again.

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    181
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
98
336
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband & I spent 3 nights at The Palm Bungalows ,we were very happy with our accommodation .The scenery was the trees ,tropical plants & the bird life ,loved the hammock on the front verandah it was so relaxing . Walking distance to hotel restaurant "sails" we had a buffet breakfast each morning with lots to choose from , walked down to Marina for dinner at Manta Ray . A must do is a walk or hire a golf buggy up One Tree Hill & watch the most beautiful sunset over the islands ,refreshments are available to purchase ,call into the quaint wedding chapel ,the scenery from there is lovely .Also a boat tripto Whitehaven Beach is well worth it ,the crew on board are extremely helpful & real aussie characters they were great fun .
Staff on the Island were friendly & helpful .

Room Tip: Easy access to all bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wphpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

we stayed in the premium palm bungalows, and it was worth the stay at this place, it feels like staying in the most tropical atmosphere, it was a sight worth watching each day, the rooms are exceptional, the service is extraordinary, the GM took special care of us as we were on our honeymoon and we couldnt ask for anything better on the island. the breakfast options of 3 diff restaurants in all different locations with each having a different feel was a real take away for us, something very extra ordinary

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atwin90frames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi harshsekhsaria,

Thanks for your great review of Palm Bungalows. I’m glad to hear that you and your wife had a memorable honeymoon and that you were very happy with your stay.
I hope that you can come back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worplesdon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in a Premium Palm Bungalow. Very clean, A/C was good. Lovely to watch the wallabies hopping arounmd right in front of us. Hammock very comfy. Restaurants all very good, we went to Bommies one night and very innovative food in a stunning setting. Catseye Beach lovely, not at all crowded. We did the Great Barrier Reef trip and 10 min helicopter ride, excellent day out tho rather choppy. Snorkelling was not as good as Maldives in terms of variety and number of fish. Great experience though. All in all a great island for 4-5 days. If we return to Oz would probably go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KTHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Palm Bungalows at the start of our honeymoon and it was perfect. We were in bungalow 42, in the middle of the 'top row' of renovated bungalows, with a nice outlook to trees from the deck. We wandered past the old style bungalows, that all appear to have now been gutted and in the process of being renovated as well, and it looks like the renovated bungalows are much nicer than the original style were. The bungalow was spacious and the bed comfortable. There was a kitchenette, but we never used it as there are so many wonderful dining options on the island. The bathroom has a separate toilet and, although the bathroom was a tiny bit on the small side, the shower was a decent size. We loved the deck and had our own little "cocktail hour" every evening as we watched and listened to the birds. Would have loved to have used the hammock on the deck as well but we were on the go the whole time we were on the island so we ran out of time.
Catseye Beach is about a 3 minute walk from the bungalows, as well as the main resort pools - and we appreciated the separate pool/beach towels provided in the room so we didn't have to use our bath towels. Our package deal allowed us to have breakfast at any of 3 options - Reef Hotel, main resort restaurant or breakfast with the koalas at the wildlife park. The wildlife park was the most interesting but had the most limited choice of food, while the Reef Hotel breakfast options were the most varied I've ever seen at a hotel buffet! There is a free shuttle bus that runs between the Reef Hotel (3-4 mins walk from bungalows) and the marina/town area - but we only ever used it once as it was a pain having to wait for the shuttle bus (despite how often they run) and the walk was only 5 or 6 mins, albeit over a short sharp hill in either direction.
It was a little strange that the rooms weren't serviced until quite late in the afternoon - although this didn't affect us as we were usually out all day but we did come back to the room a couple of times around lunch time and it still hadn't been serviced. And we did have to trek up to the Reef View Hotel reception in order to pay a deposit to be able to get the key for the in-room safe, which is a bit strange. But the deposit was refunded when we checked out and if these are the only 2 minor faults I can find with the bungalows, it was a perfect stay over all.
We did seem to be on Hamilton Island at just the right time of year (early Feb) as it wasn't deserted but the island, restaurants, tours & accom were not crowded. The benefit of the bungalows over a regular hotel room (such as at the Reef View) are that they are very private and separated from each other by a nice garden. Even when we were sitting on our deck, it was very rare to have anyone walk past so you very much get the feel of having your own space.
As for things to do on the island, the wildlife park is pretty small but the tours held in the morning and afternoon are really informative. We also did the Denison Star dinner cruise which was amazing - fantastic food and we were so full by the time we got back to the marina. As well as the On The Edge twilight sail - the drinks just kept flowing! We'd recommend the half-day trip to Whitehaven - the morning trip is much better than the afternoon one as the sun isn't quite as fierce at that time. And the Great Barrier Reef trip was well worth it also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back row of the already renovated bungalows - less 'people traffic' go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi rin007,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon.

As you mentioned, we’re renovating all of the standard Palm Bungalows to bring them up to the same standard as the type of bungalow that you stayed in. We’ve had such great feedback about the renovated bungalows and as the General manager, I’m really excited that all of them are going to be Premiums.

It’s a shame you were too busy to use the hammock during this trip – you’ll have to come back soon and try it out!


Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Palm Bungalow 3 in July 2012. I had been reading reviews on the bungalows and had my fingers crossed that we would get a renovated one, but we didnt. I was pretty disappointed with how dated our bungalow was (I had been offered an upgrade to the Reef View before we had arrived but decided to stick with our first decision). The shower had not been cleaned and the first night when I went for one I had to wash it down as there was 'stuff' left from previous guests. The bungalow did have everything that you needed though and was very self contained and I absolutely loved my hammock. We had an ongoing problem with drainage during our stay and were moved to the hotel for our final night (the hotel was AMAZING and I kicked myself even more for not taking the upgrade). All in all the bungalows would have been great for us had ours not been quite so old, I would still recommend these to people who like a bit of privacy but definately try and get one that has been renovated. One thing I can say that is true for the whole of Hamilton is that the staff are fantastic, service is always great and friendly.

Room Tip: Request a renovated bungalow and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What an amazing place it is to visit! We had our wedding on Catseye Beach, at sunset. It may be a cliche but all that attended, even the photographer said it was the best wedding they'd been to!

The bungalows are modernised, clean, fresh and all come with their own hammock on the verandah so you can swing in the breeze to the sound of the birds, with a wine or two.

The only downside is like anywhere in Australia. They are pricing themselves out of the market, as it can be cheaper to go overseas than stay in the motherland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi JamesB13,

First and foremost; congratulations on your wedding! It sounds like you made the right choice with your decision to get married here – for a wedding photographer to say it was the best wedding he’d been to is pretty impressive.

I’m glad to hear that you and your new bride enjoyed your newly refurbished bungalow. I hope the two of you will come back to Hamilton Island to relive your memories for many years to come.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.2 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bungalows

Property: Palm Bungalows
Address: 3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Bungalows comprise 49 freestanding island bungalows situated in a tropical garden setting,each with its own balcony and outdoor furniture. Rooms are spacious and specifically designed for couples or small families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Bungalows Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing