We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good quality rooms in beautiful setting, stones throw to the beach. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Bed was a little soft for my liking but the hammock made up for that! The whole resort was great - pools good (pool bar even better!), right on the beach, food excellent. While there isn't a huge amount to do and she on the island, it is a great place to just relax on the beach, by the pool or in your hammock.

Room Tip: Higher numbered bungalows are slightly nearer the beach but one of them are really that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi WDMoore,

Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay!

I'm a little surprised to read your comment about not having much to do on the island - usually guests tell me that there are too many activities to do that they don't have enough time! There are over 60 activities to get involved in on Hamilton Island including snorkelling, kayaking sailing, quad biking, golfing and go karting just to name a few. All Palm Bungalows guests also have complimentary access to non-motorised watersports equipment (such as snorkels, flippers, paddleboards and catamarans) as well as fitness centre access. We also have extensive bushwalking tracks around the Island that everyone has access to.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Palm Bungalows one day.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    179
    42
    16
    8
See reviews for
97
328
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe bungalow - self contained with all modern conveniences. Would have loved to have stayed longer.
Staff were very helpful and organised. Bags and transport to and from airport all sorted for us.
Close to Island transport and facilities.
Resort food and beverages of a very high standard and well priced. Sails restaurant and steakhouse was fantastic.
Lots of pools and bars to chose from. Set on a beautiful beach.
Plenty of resort shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Molly1969,

I'm so happy to see that your holiday on Hamilton Island was 5 stars! Thank you for staying in and reviewing one of our Premium Palm Bungalows. I've been blown away by the overwhelmingly positive response from guests and the near 100% occupancy rate for the bungalows is further evidence that people love the new bungalows.

Please feel free to come back and stay with us again when you return to Hamilton Island.

Warm Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A lovely bungalow spoilt by the late night noise from the nearby staff accomodation. Accomodation was clean and had all necessary mod cons. Staff were friendly and helpful. However a previous block of accomodation had been turned into staff quarters which was exceptionally noisy and woke us every night especially on saturday night. this ruined otherwise lovely accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Tania R,

I'm sorry that your peace and quiet was disturbed by noisy neighbours. I understand your frustration and I will be looking into this issue. A key reason why our guests book a palm bungalow is the fact that it's very peaceful and serene and I wouldn't want this to change.

Incidentally, I was happy to read that you thought that the Palm Bungalows were great and staff were friendly.

Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you're thinking of coming to the Whitsundays and Hamilton Island, mywife and i would recommend staying at the Palm Bungalows. We are fussy travellers and expect a lot for our money and the Bungalows are not the cheapest place to stay on the Whitsundays. However, we could not fault anything with our accommodation, all the staff (all over the island and beyond), and even the food! (My wife's parents own an Italian restaurant in Southern Italy and she is used to very high quality food.) It is generally expensive, especially for people coming over from the UK, but the prices are worth paying, especially if this is your honeymoon, which is was part of for us. So, take the plunge (especially recommmend the scuba diving on the GBR) and see you there - if only we could go back every year.

Room Tip: No tips needed as the garden view rooms, the cheapest, are very good and you are only about a 2-minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The concierge desk at the airport was a really nice touch and helped us feel at home from the start. The free transfer to the reception was well organised and the Reef View reception area was very welcoming (note WiFi only available in reception areas not rooms). The handy resort map was a lifesaver while we were there.

Whilst it seemed to be school holidays there did always seem to be sun loungers available around the pools and the beach if you wanted one. The choice of pools was good and the 3m deep one was almost totally empty which was great for adults. The beach was best experienced at high tide as other reviewers have said, the low tide isn't too impressive.

The bus transport around the island was really well organised whereas the restaurant booking was less so. Couldn't get into premium restaurants for our whole trip so for dinner we visited Romanos italian twice (excellent), the Manta Ray cafe for pizza once and Sails one. If you do not have children and enjoy a proper dining experience with quiet time as a couple over dinner avoid Sails at dinner time like the plague. A glorified canteen! However, excellent breakfast there so definitely try it for breakfast. Best lunch was Pool Terrace club sandwich although the wraps at the Wild Life cafe were good. Lovely ice cream at the parlour (which says it closes at 10pm but realistically get there before 9.45pm). Make reservations at the bookable restaurants as far in advance as you can.

Rooms were great value for money with loads of space and excellent facilities. We found the air conditioning very quiet compared to other places we've stayed but we may have been lucky given other reviewers. Beds were comfy with lots of pillows and suitable bedding. Really good to have a bungalow to yourself it felt really cosy and exclusive.

We didn't hire a buggy because the bungalows are so well situated for everything and the bus service is excellent. We booked a trip aboard the catamaran "On the Edge". It was the best organised boat tour we've ever been on. They knew all about the tides, winds, best spots and were very democratic about what people's priorities were. Felt safe at all times and in their very capable hands. Food and drink purchasing aboard was well organised so you paid at the end which meant not having to fiddle around with cash all day.

Would have been a five rating if the beach had been nice all day long, the snorkelling had been better, the dinner options better/more available, WiFi in the rooms and the room had been a little more up to date.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank England_and_Beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi England_and_Beyond,

Thank you for staying in a Palm Bungalow during your visit to Hamilton Island. It’s great to hear that you were happy with the value for money that you received – I too think that the Palm Bungalows are the nicest accommodation type for their price range.
This is our peak season and I suggest to guests that they book restaurants a day or two ahead as the most popular restaurants and times fill up fast.
I’m glad that your experience was great and I trust that you had a nice, relaxing holiday. You’re more than welcome to come back and stay with us anytime.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

First time on Hamilton - but if you come make sure there is not 100 per cent occupancy. Could not get into any of the upmarket restaurants- the seafood one and Romanos and the yacht club all booked out to an advertising conference. Could not get on any of the dinner cruises and reduced to going to the pub most nights. So if you are planning a romantic escape would definitely ask about the occupancy. On the plus side the staff were lovely and helpful. There was a decomposing insect in the barthroom behind the door which the cleaning staff failed to notice - still this is the tropics! Would I come back? No!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyandjim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello Wendyandjim83,

I'm sorry that you had some trouble with trying to book a romantic dinner whilst on Hamilton Island. As you mentioned, we are in peak season now and we've also had some large conferences on Island lately that has meant reservations are essential. I suggest to guests that they book a couple of days ahead and one guest I spoke to today even made dinner reservations when she booked with us.

I'm happy to read that you thought staff were "lovely and helpful".

Thank you for your feedback and if you'd like to contact me directly to speak about this, my email address is mboileau@hamiltonisland.com.au. We would love to have you come back and stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I visited Hamilton Island for 4 nights for a friends wedding. The island is clean, organised, well lit and I felt safe. While we usually holiday overseas, it was really nice to holiday in Australia and experience the laid-back Aussie attitude. From the moment we arrived at the airport, staff were quick to help direct guests as to where to collect luggage, handout luggage tags and find transfers to all the accommodation. They gave clear instructions about transfers and check in. When we got on the bus, we were greeted warmly with a "how was your flight " and it felt like a mate had come to collect us for our holiday.

We checked in at The Reef Hotel and there were several staff on hand to process arriving guests. We were taking via golf buggy about 200m to Palm Bungalows. We stayed in a standard palm bungalow with buffet breakfast included at either The Reef Hotel, Sails or wildlife park. The bungalows are freestanding which is great: limited noise from neighbours and no waiting for lifts. It looked exactly like the pictures on their website and was what I expected; a flashback to the 1980's! Everything was clean and in good working order. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and bars of soap were provided. Bathroom and beach towels were provided in the room. The room was made up once daily. My only complaint was the air conditioning unit was a little noisy.

The standard palm bungalows location is great. They are so close to everything. The bungalows are on their own private semi circular driveway separated from Resort Drive by a sloped lawn.  Wild life park (on the opposite side of Resort Drive) is at one entrance to the driveway (100m) and the beauty salon (50m) is at the other end. There is a little souvenir shop across the driveway.The gym is about 150m and The Reef Hotel (Pool Terrace Restaurant and pool) 200m. The buggy hire company is across the lawn on Resort Drive (50m). The resort centre including shops, bowling alley, main pool, pool bar, Sails steak and seafood grill, Verandah bar, Coca Chu restaurant, public toilets and the child care centre are 150-200m walk. The resort centre is set on Catseye beach. Directly in front on the beach is the water sports centre. The marina in 5 minute walk up and down a small hill.

We did not feel the need to hire a golf buggy due to our location on the island and our willingness to walk. The buggies are electric powered and therefore not loud or smelly. There are 3 shuttle bus routes, 2 (purple and orange) going opposite directions around the island leaving around every 30 minutes and 1 (green) looping between the marina and along Resort drive. Timetables are in rooms and on bus stops. Passengers must be seated. We were unable to board a 11.20am bus as it was full. As we were on our way to the wedding at 12pm and the next bus was at 11.50am we were left in a sticky situation. Luckily the helpful staff at The Reef Hotel saw our predicament and drove us to the wedding. Not only that, the next day the staff member enquired as to how we enjoyed the wedding. This personal service and care was apparent throughout our entire stay at all the establishments on the island. We booked a 'taxi' or minivan to the airport from The Reef Hotel for $14/2pax. The fare must be paid in cash to the driver.

Catseye beach is affected by the tide, so be mindfully of that when you plan your day. At high tide guests can enjoy kayaking, windsurfing, swimming etc, but at low tide I didn't find the beach overly attractive. I used the low tide as an opportunity to walk out to the water and snorkel. I found this to be an average experience due to my previous experiences world wide. Other activities such as fishing trips or boat trips can be booked and taken from the marina area.

The weather was sunny and about 24°C during the day and cool at night, so take a jacket. Water temperature was a fresh 20°C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Palm Bungalows, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello ClaireBare,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review on Tripadvisor for readers.

I’m glad that you had such a great time on Hamilton Island and that everything went well on the wedding day.
It’s great to hear about the service that my staff provided when you needed a lift to the wedding. I hear these stories from guests quite often and it makes me really proud of my staff.
I hope that you will visit Hamilton Island again soon.


Warmest Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bungalows

Property: Palm Bungalows
Address: 3 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palm Bungalows comprise 49 freestanding island bungalows situated in a tropical garden setting,each with its own balcony and outdoor furniture. Rooms are spacious and specifically designed for couples or small families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Bungalows Hotel Hamilton Island
Palm Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing