We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Actually, it ain't bad!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Actually, it ain't bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

I was expecting another shoe box but was blown away from the size of this standard room with a view of the ocean. The bathroom as bigger than most bedrooms and exceptionally clean. Try to arrange a room from 3rd floor upwards as you will get the best view then, remember all rooms face the sea. Service was surprisingly good for an island filled with backpackers as staff. A great breakfast is supplied and the location, well let we just say can't get any better. Overall, big thumbs up and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polymath2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    943
    324
    109
    72
See reviews for
580
1,061
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at the Reef View hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised with our room, it was spacious, extremely clean, the bathroom was massive, the view incredible and the staff very helpful and went out of their way for us. The food and accomodation were expensive but that's what you expect on an island resort where everthing from food to toilet paper has to be shipped in. The cockatoos that would visit were lovely and very friendly birds, the kids sat out on the balcony with them and watched their cheeky antics. Cart hire was also expensive, so I'd recommend hiring one for a day to check out the island, the resorts shuttles are very effective and run right on time. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Room on the 14th floor- what a view!! Absolutely breathtaking!!
Not much to do on Hamilton Island- a chill out place, which we loved!! Yes, its expensive but obviously an Island is going to be!! $65 for breakfast buffet for 2- if you go knowing its going to be expensive (which we did) you wont be shocked!
Hotel rooms were lovely and big with seating area, balcony gets sun all day- heaven!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed 4 nights with sea view twin room. View was great, but Cockatoo were so many and kids were a bit scared.
The room was big enough. Our 2y.- and 4y.-old kids could sleep in one bed without a problem.
"Kids eat free" was very good system and the restaurant at the pool side was very nice.
Japanese service desk was very kind and helpful. Our request to change details of our booked tour was smoothly accepted and they re-organized our tour very fast.

Some dust on the bedside table was the only negative thing which I noticed about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We were upgraded to a Sea View room from Palm Bungalows due to contruction work. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the room thoroughly - especially at the budget price :-). Staff were incredibly helpful. Highly recommedned.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We chose this hotel on the basis of the many 'Excellent' reviews and weren't disappointed. Our 'sea view' room on the 11th floor had a wonderful view of the sea and islands that we will never forget. From the moment we arrived at the airport, everything was handled in a thoroughly professional way - transporting us and our luggage to the hotel, check-in, etc. All the hotel staff were courteous, very professional and knowledgable with an obvious desire to help us enjoy our holiday in every possible way. Many hotels let themselves down with indifferent or poor breakfast services; but not Reef View. There was an excellent choice of hot and cold breakfast foods, nicely presented and tasty; service never faltered, even during peak breakfast periods. There was also an option to have breakfast at a neighbouring restaurant or 'breakfast with the Koalas' five minutes away at the wildlife park.
Our room was huge and very comfortable, with two large beds, sofas, etc. The bathroom was spacious too, with two basins and a separate shower cubicle from the bath. There was a free bus shuttle running continously between the hotel and the marina; also free buses to take us around the island with many stop off points.

We will always remember the wonderful time we had on the island and our stay at Reef view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephPete17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

This was a chill out time on our 3 week trip. We arrived expecting an island paradise and whilst it is lovely it was not quite as tranquil as we had expected. We were surprised by the hive of activity we were greeted by on our arrival with a few motor vehicles and golf buggies flying around. But once change-over had happened it quietened down.
We had a room on the Coral reef hotel and had a stunning view from the 10th floor overlooking the bay. The rooms were large, clean and pleasant. To be honest the hotel is a bit of a tower block (24 floors).
You are given wristbands to show your accommodation and you use this to pay for any food or drink on the island. the restaurants are good, if a little expensive. We had no difficulty in getting a table most nights.
Breakfast in the Coral reef is self service and there is plenty there to satisfy any appetite. It did get get quite busy and noisy at times.
Trips are booked centrally and charged to your room. Again, not cheap, but if you are there for a special occasion, worthwhile We did the trip around whitsunday island and the view from hill inlet which is wonderful and the evening sunset sail is not to be missed.
Sitting on our balcony each evening with a drink, looking out over the bay is very romantic.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_spud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.6 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Travelocity so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing