We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value considering....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef View Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value considering....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Having read some of the recent reviews, I must say our experience was fairly similar.

Service throughout the island was great - everyone's friendly and keen to help. However there was one particular male receptionist who kept giving us wrong/ incomplete information, or just didn't inform us of important things! (like how our breakfast was included in our accommodation package). we soon realised to go to someone else for information.

Location was great - Takes us only 10 mins' walk to get to the hotel from the marina; but I must say it can be a pretty steep walk! Bus shuttles are frequent, but there are always loads of people waiting during "peak times" (before/after dinner). We didn't need a buggy - we walked almost everywhere, and shuttled rest of the time.

Room was massive - 2 Queen-sized beds, with fantastic views! I would say the view was by far the best thing about the hotel - we were upgraded to the Coral Sea view room and it was awesome. Bathrooms, like mentioned in other posts, looked old-ish, but were clean.

Breakfast really wasn't too bad. Nothing to shout about, but it was definitely alright.

The pool was okay, but we ended up going to the Main Resort Centre pool 'cos it was just more picturesque - it was only less than 5 mins walk so it's not too bad.

You obviously cannot compare the hotel with the Yacht Club or the Beach Club, or "other hotels elsewhere for that price range", considering this is probably one of the (if not the) cheapest options on HI, we were very satisfied with what we got.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v3r4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    945
    324
    109
    72
See reviews for
581
1,065
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerringong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

This was our 2nd time on HI, but first in Reef View. We weren't planning on going back to HI, but we managed to get very cheap airflights and a discounted room price that clinched the deal.

The rooms are huge, I paced out ~5m x 11m (not including the balcony) with 2 queen beds, lounges, table & chairs, desk + storage cupboards. Easily enough room for our family with 2 young kids to not ever feel crowded. The view was spectacular from our 8th floor room.

This time of year is the wet season so it was very humid and rained for short periods throughout the day, but nothing to stop you swimming in any of the resorts pools. The room air conditioning was our saviour for the hot humid nights.

All the non motorised beach activities are included free, but you need to book things like the hobicats as they are very popular. Note to HI: rig up more of the hobicats instead of having half of them sit on the beach unused. The staff on the island although generally young, were very polite and accommodating to any request. HI has now become the base for any number of activities in the Whitsundays that can be booked through the lobby tour desk. However the activities for kids are fairly limited.

While the HI restaurants were good, the only downside since our last visit is that a number of them have shut down or were not opening for breakfast or dinner etc . This really limited your choice if you are enticed by the 'kids eat free' option which HI advertise everywhere as it basically leaves only 3 places to choose from.

Overall the Reef View & HI is a great place, but its unlikely we'd go back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DazBGerringong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

I stayed at the Reef View Hotel with my husband to celebrate our first wedding anniversary from 25th Feb to 2nd March.

Overall the hotel was nice, good sized rooms, balcony and bathroom. We stayed in a Coral Sea View room on level 12, which had great views of Catseye Beach and the Main Resort Pool and surrounding area.

It rained everyday we were on HI, which we knew we were going during wet season when we booked. It would have been nice for there to be some clear days.... its also very humid there, especially in the mornings at that time of year.

One day when it bucketed down rain all day, the hotel offered 2 for 1 movie deals in the rooms, as everyone was stuck in the hotel. We did not use this although there was a large selection of movies on offer. We decided that we may as well spend the afternoon swimming at the other island pools which have happy hours (the Reef View doesn't have a happy hour). It wa still hot enough to swim while it was raining.

We were also there when the tsunami alert was issued for the east coast of Australia. The hotel management were quick to issue message to the guests via their TV message system to assure them the warning did not extend to the Whitsundays.

The restuarant was quite expensive compared to other options at the marina, we only ate at the hotel once and it was for lunch. It took well over 40 minutes for us to get our food, while tables around us has their orderes taken, received their food and finished, all in the time we were waiting for our meals to arrive.

The hotel pool was nice, the sun lounges were always full, and we took advantage of the pool more at night, as the pool is lit up and heated.

If we were to go to HI again (which I don't think we would, one of those places we were can sya been there done that) we would stay at the Reef View.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We had a pleasant 3 night stay at the Reef View. The best part about this hotel is the view. We were upgraded to an ocean view on the 16th floor without asking which I was extremely happy with. The room itself was great and was nicely updated, with the bed facing the window. The bathroom had double sinks and very large in size but could have used some updating and it looked dated but was clean and well kept. The common areas were clean and nice but compared to the Beach or Yacht Club, dated in appearance. The bathroom by the lounge was particularly offending. Overall though, it was the best value on HI if you can say the words "value" and "HI" in the same sentence as everything there is grossly overpriced. I do think it has the best views though. The staff was nice and pleasant, and for all you ladies, there are a number of attractive young men working there which was nice eye candy for my girlfriend and I.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caesar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were here a few years ago but never got a chance to review it. I read from recent reviews that it hasn't changed much. We had a nice room with a fantastic view. I didn't like the bathroom: it was huge but looked old.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing great, I even found some expired cereals....told the guy but he wasn't too worried about it! anyway, always check the expiration date! :-)
The hotel was ideal for Hamilton island, a mini bus from the hotel would take you anywhere at anytime.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We booked via a special offer just for a room and thought we had reserved a King bed room. When we arrived they had put us in a queen x 2 bed. The staff explained that although you can request a king bed they can't guarantee it. They moved us which was great. The view was fantastic (15th floor).
Tips: you don't need the breakfast Inc rate - bob's bakery is great for croissants etc, marina deli is fab for bacon and egg sandwiches etc - great coffee!
Book the catamarans for 9:30am - get in before everyone else and they should be Inc your room rate.
Rain or shine definitely have a go at the target range (22 rifles and pistols) as the guys up there are awesome instructors. Golf driving range is good too.
If golf buggy for getting around is not in your room rate don't worry as you can rent them for a couple of hours or a day. We didn't need one over the five days - just walked everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We booked the coral view room and was amazed at the size of the room and the bathroom.
The view was absolutely great as well.
However, that being said:
1. The sofa, as with any other beach resort, has a certain smell like it's been sat on by millions of people that just came back from the beach and sat there before they dry themselves off. I put an extra layer of towel when I sit on them.
2. The bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned, there was some hair on the floor. Also, the shower door has mould on its bottom corners.
3. The breakfast tastes like crap, so avoid at all costs.

The buggy rental is within walking distance and there are plenty of parking within the hotel.

It was a good experience, but not a great experience

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kho777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.6 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Travelocity so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing