We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value & service!”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Can i just start with how sad & miserable some people's lives must be to make such negative, nit-picking comments in a public forum about an otherwise fantastic hotel & well trained staff.

After a wonderful 7 night anniversary holiday (or parole as i called it) on Hamilton Island staying at the ReefView we have nothing but praise for the cleanliness & quality of this hotel. From the sumptuous buffet breakfast to the lazy dinner stay-ins & ordering room service. Sure, the hotel is a little older, but is still very well maintained & cared for given its vintage - almost like a good red, better with age.

Please ignore the negative reviews, again, the narrow-mindedness of some sad individuals who obviously suck lemons for a living when holidaying & making their comments here obviously reflects what a tiny & pretentious bubble-like existence they lead. They should holiday at home in their backyard & live in a tent for a week - i bet they would still whinge about that as well.

Few tips, try for a higher floor. Hire a buggy from the airport upon arrival. Get to breakfast by 7am at the latest. Book a massage at Wumurdaylin spa days in advance. Have Chris make you cocktails at the Reef Lounge of a morning, afternoon & evening. Book a chopper flight to Reefworld to snorkel plus visit Whitehaven.

Special thanks to Emily on reception, the lovely ladies in the lobby shop & of course Matt.

See you again very soon

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SpiderPig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear SpiderPig S

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us & happy anniversary once again.

Your kind words are incredibly appreciated & I have personally passed them on to Emily, Chris and the Lobby Shop staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for next year's "parole" visit.

If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a good time at the reef hotel. The rooms were very nice but they a looking a bit tired and need to be revamped. The house aids do a good job. The pools are great and it's nice to have a choice of 3 pools. The bar and restaurant staff do a great job and are very helpful but and it's a big but the food and drinks are way over priced . Everything on the island is just so expensive. Also way too many people there it's like a large city.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at the Reef View Hotel for a week on the 11th floor. Typical hotel style room with 2 queen size beds. Very spacious with plenty of room for my husband, teenage daughter and myself. We really spent very little time in the room so it was more than adequate. Fabulous views out over the ocean but you need to be above the 5th floor for the view. Make sure you keep the balcony doors closed or the Cockatoos will ransack your room. Not that this happened to us, but I heard many stories of it while we were there. Only used the buffet breakfast in the hotel once as we preferred to eat at Sails - less busy. Breakfast is your typical buffet style breakfast and was just ok at both places. We had a breakfast deal, otherwise probably wouldn't have bothered.

Although we had a great stay on Hamilton Island, we did find it very expensive - from the food to the activities. Non-motorized water activities were free for resort guests. These included paddle boarding, kayaking, sailing and snorkeling. Paddle out to the back of the designated area and you can find turtles coming up for air.

Perhaps my biggest disappointment was the lack of service poolside. We were there during QLD school holidays and the pool area was packed every day. I would have expected, drinks waiters and poolside snack menus to be available,(as they have been at any other resort we have stayed at) but they do not exist. My 17 year old daughter couldn't even get a drink of water as the only places she could ask for one were the pool bar or the restaurant bar and they couldn't/wouldn't serve her because she was under 18 - even though she was only asking for water. If you are looking for some lunch the closest place is to go to Sails restaurant and get a full take away meal from a limited and expensive menu. No snack type food - such as a sandwich for lunch is available on the resort side of the Island, so you need to go over to the marina for light meals. Admittedly only a 5 minute walk, but.... Poolside service with drinks and snacks available - perhaps I'm spoilt but isn't that an Island Resort standard?

Overall, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were nice and the weather fantastic. The Whitsundays are a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJWicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear GoBrissy

Thank you for your detailed review.

A pleasure having you & your family stay with us and I’m glad to read that you were able to enjoy your holiday.

The non motorised water sports make for an incredibly fun day & I’m so happy to hear you were able to see our residents Sea Turtles.

Thank you for your comments on our Pool Service – And I apologise for any inconvenience caused. It’s feedback that I appreciate and shall discuss with my teams to see how we can improve this for the future.

Thank you again for staying with us & I hope we can welcome you again.

If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently enjoyed 5 days/nights @ this lovely hotel on Hamiliton Island.
Apart from Cyclone Ida on the Sunday the weather was beautiful.
Our conference was a great success.
Our room overlooking the sea was very spacious including a large balcony.
Every day we were greeted by many friendly Cockato's who came & sat on our balcony.
Service @ the hotel & all other venues on the Island we were involved in was excellent & a vast improvement on when we were previously here in November 2011.
Food was great & it is a pleasure to recommend the place highly for a short break to enjoy some lovely sunshine

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up facing the sea have excellent views with no noise of any kind. Plus plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carringtonfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Carringtonfs

Thank you for your review.

It’s great to read that your conference was a success & that you enjoyed your stay with us (Despite the weather towards the end)

Over the past few years our focus has been on improving the service experience and to see you felt a notable difference is a credit to the team.

We hope to see you return again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here twice in the past month. The first time we were on the 12th floor and the second time we were on the 17th floor. The views over the Whitsundays are awesome. Apparently if you are below the 5th floor you wont get sea views, only roof top and pool.
The rooms are very clean albeit a little dated, large bathroom with two hand basins (for him and her I assume), and good beds. Pretty standard meals area however it at pools edge so it it very pleasant and relaxing. The staff and service are very good

Room Tip: Book a high room to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Steve H

Pleasure having you back with us and thank you for your review.

We are certainly very proud of the view our guests are able to experience & I’m glad to see you enjoyed it during both your stays.

Hope to welcome you again soon & if there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Old style hotel that needs some work the staff and not very originised and leave the small details out , we ordered a king bed with months notice and was not told down stairs that we had two doubles and was later told sorry we had a tour group in ,also just left a chilled bottle of sparking wine out in the heat with out even a bucket of ice , yeah we payed good money for what , I would of got better service at a local best western,

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank nathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Nathan
Thank you for taking the time to inform me of these less than acceptable experiences.

I’m of course disappointed to learn that you encountered anything like this & I do sincerely apologise.

Rest assure I shall personally investigate each issue further with my teams. Should there be anything further to add please don’t hesitate to email me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

I hope you were able to enjoy some aspects of your stay on Hamilton Island and if you ever have the opportunity to return please contact me directly.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Our first family holiday and we couldn't have asked for more. Nice room with a beautiful view in a great location on the island. The food was lovely and great coffee too. As for the staff, all were friendly and helpful. I would like to make a special mention of Matt on the concierge desk and Sebastion one of the porters who went above and beyond helping us today when my daughter realised she lost her handbag at one of the shops 20 minutes before we had to leave for the airport. It is little things like how you handled that situation today that will keep families coming back. We enjoyed the island very much however when the cyclone arrived it was the room that we also enjoyed, the beds are comfortable and the room is of a very decent size as is the bathroom. As I said we wished we could have stayed longer and we will definitely be back. The nicest surprise for us as with many families on a budget, our bill upon check out was less than what we thought it would be. The kids eat free package that we had as part of our stay had a massive impact on our expenses. Thank you for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Naegirl

Thank you for taking the time to share your review & I must say what a pleasure it was having you stay with us.

Weather issues and all it is great to see that you & your family had such a wonderful holiday.

Accidents do happen & it was Matt and Sebastian’s pleasure to help out with your daughters’ handbag. I’m glad to hear my team was able to assist in your stay & I have proudly passed on your feedback to the team.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
594 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamilton Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $264 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing