We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #2 to qualia”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at Coral Sea View room.

Pros:
- If you are high level (we stayed level 13+), you will see the whole catseye beach. Brilliant view. Unlike Palm bungalows where it's ground level can't see anything besides road.
- Proximity to catseye beach, buggy hire, gym, tennis - although also applies to other hotels.
- Room service is prompt. Hang the sign outside to clean and happens immediately.
- Friendly staff, esp the porters at the entrance.
- Free kayak/snorkel/catamaran hire if you stay here - again also applies for other hotels

Cons:
- Nitpicking here: bathroom is a bit old (showers are good pressure/temp), walls a bit thin

Room Tip: Request as high a floor as you can get - especially if you are staying Coral Sea View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived here for our honeymoon and Hamilton Island is just gorgeous. We absolutely thought the island is a perfect place and we loved how we didn't have to carry cash on us. The tours and staff around the island were fabulous but it's a shame that our hotels attitude was a let down to say the least.
When we checked in our room wasn't clean and our bathroom amenities were used and put back. We found out throughout the night that the air- conditioner didn't work properly. The next day our phone for in room dining was not and is 'still' not working, the day after that the cleaners left there rags and spray bottles in our room... So as you read our experience was a little disappointing. In general the reception staff knew the right things to say, however it seemed evident that it was just words.

This is my first review I've written and will probably be the last, please come to Hamilton Island... But seriously consider your accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were on the 16th floor and had the most fantastic view of the Whitsunday Islands. We never closed the curtains as the view was equally as good at night. This is a small island with a free regular bus service. Most people ride around on golf buggies and offer lifts to anyone who looks like they need one! The harbour had plenty of restaurants but only one pub! There are plenty of boat trips to choose from and a visit to the beautiful Whitehaven beach is a must. Everything is very well organised; they even provide free airport transfers. The islands were described to me as paradise. I can't disagree with that statement.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_St_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Like other reviewers we were nervous after reading some of the bad reviews. However, when you look at the overall 'package' you cannot beat what the Reef View has to offer. The location is fantastic (and the walk to the shop is needed after buffetbreakfast)! The view from the spacious Coral Sea room is priceless. The use of the free paddleboards, kayaks and catamarans was fantastic and the pools - overcrowded but to be expected in the last week of the January school holidays. The rooms were not completely spotlessly clean, nor brand new, but we've stayed in much, much worse and after reading some reviews we were pleasantly surprised.

The biggest 'bug' bear had nothing to do with the hotel, but with the families who stayed there. The waste of food at the buffets was phenomenal and it is not okay to make and pack to take away sandwiches and fruit for the whole family using the buffet food, nor is it okay for adults to eat from the 'Kids Eat for Free' buffets. So much for common decency!

All in all, we would come back here and stay at this hotel ... even if we won Lotto, we would not stay at Qalia! The location is much better here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Absolutely breathtaking views! We opted for the top floor duplex and were not disappointed. Waking up every morning to that water view was amazing! Staff was friendly and helpful and wifi worked well in the lobby, however, it was extremely slow in our duplex and basically unusable on the second floor. Breakfast buffet was included and had many options, however it would have been nice if they switched around the hot food options a bit more. Shuttles were convenient, but it was super easy to walk around to the marina and the wildlife zoo. Golf buggy rental is just down the street and One Tree Hill is a short drive away. Only negative was that cleaning service came a bit late in the day and sometimes so late we just opted out. Other than that, we were very happy with our stay here!

Room Tip: Duplex top floor rooms have the best views, but also worst wifi service. But it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at the reef view because it seemed like the best value in regards to packages etc and after reading bad reviews on here we were nervous... But, we cannot fault the hotel on any level.
The view from coral sea rooms is amazing and worth it - we thought we wouldn't spend much time in our room but when were in it, we were mesmerized!

House keeping was always on point. There's always an abundance of towels which is great with the amount of time spent in the water.

The included breakfasts were AMAZING! If you complain about these then I don't know what you eat at home? There is so much to choose from, super delicious and fresh!
Our favourite was Sails' breakfasts, brilliant view!
The wildlife cafe's breakfasts were super cute as you got to eat with the sleepy koalas :)
The poolside restaurant was sometimes a little busy most likely due to the convenience of it being within the hotel.

You can literally come here and not spend an extra cent on activities if you don't want to.
With water sports inclusions on Catseye Beach, you cannot possibly be bored!

Staff across the island are ridiculously friendly and so helpful, they truly made our trip amazing!

We highly recommend hiring a buggy for 24hrs if not just for the fun but there truly is so much to see on this island that you wouldn't get the opportunity to see just by using the shuttles.

We did have an issue with the tv not working one day and it did take quite some time for the busy houseman to get around to sorting it out, although when it was fixed they credited our room with a free movie, brilliant!

Seriously, if you can find better customer service anywhere, I'd love to know where! Staff always smiley and super cute!

Thanks Reef View!

X

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonZombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Reef view has a good location near the beach. And, staying here offers free use of water sports including stand up paddle, catamarans and kayaks.

That's about where it ends though. Personally- when I travel I want to feel take care of and I'm willing to pay more for it. Well appointed rooms, clean bathrooms with white grout and a beautiful restaurant and breakfast just aren't happening here.

It is economical if traveling as a group of four but you won't leave feeling like a princess. You'll have felt like you got a waft of egg fried rice to the face from the breakfast buffet and well, that's because you have.

On the island qualia and the apartments associated with the yacht club seem to be the best

But there is value here. And if you desire a beach side swim up bar with some interesting company as well as easy island transportation, well then welcome home.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMN551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
572 reviews
7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $262 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing