We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just paradise”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just paradise”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the reef hotel the week before Christmas
the holiday was with our family which included our 14 month old grand child and it was a great success. The hotel staff provided all the necessary items so our family could relax
The rooms, the beautiful vista from our rooms on the 16th floor
the amazing staff and customer service made this a truly great break for the family
Thank you to all the staff who made this a really successful holiday
Loved the cockatoos on the balcony, just don't forget to close the sliding doors

Room Tip: 16th floor fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hercules800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    991
    348
    121
    77
See reviews for
630
1,123
43
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Hamilton Island, and found the Reef View a great option for families. The room was very large with two queen sized beds and plenty of room for a cot as well, which was perfect for us and our two small kids. The balcony was large (although we were on a low floor so the view was average) and the bathroom was massive. It appears that the room had been recently renovated, although the bathrooms were not done they are perfectly fine. This is not a luxury hotel, there are others on hamilton island that are, but rather a great family hotel. I would suggest that the hotel give their lobby a make over soon, in particular the awful waterfall (which just looked dirty and old from our view on the first floor). However the state of the lobby isn't that important to us.

Breakfast was nice, and could be taken at 3 different venues. It is handy having a deal that includes brekky as otherwise it could be expensive. The pool at the hotel was nice and never too crowded, the other larger pool was also good (although a bit feral at times).

I loved the convenience of hamilton island, you can get off your flight and be at the pool within 30 minutes, with very efficient transfers and service. Everywhere is easy to walk to (expect some hills), and the variety of restaurants were fine. Yes they are expensive, and limited, but you are on an island. If you want subway or McDonald's, you may be better off going to Surfers Paradise. We took advantage of restaurants where kids eat free and had some great dinners. We also enjoyed the kids club (nice to have a few hours to read the paper by the pool) and the day spa.

Overall hamilton island, and the reef view hotel, is a great place to go for a very relaxing long weekend, especially with a young family. This is my third visit to the island, and we will definitely be back. The hotel can be expensive, if you can get a deal it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor for a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Alexandriad

It is always wonderful to welcome our guests back, and great to hear you enjoyed your stay!

It is definitely easy to get around on the island and the fact that you can be at the pool within minutes of arriving is always a great way to start your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at the Reef View on my wedding night and had a few guests also staying at the same hotel. We were dissapointed with the service we received as the rooms did not get cleaned and our bedsheets were not changed for 2 nights during our stay. We all suffered from very bad rashes all over our body following our stay here. Very dissapointed considering we had booked this for our honeymoon suite.

We did not experience this while staying at the Holiday Homes at Hamilton Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Susan H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am very disappointed to hear about the issues you experienced with our house keeping team during your stay. Reef View Hotel provides daily housekeeping cleaning services. Further to daily room cleaning we also advise guests that our “Green Clean” process is;
- all bed linens are washed and changed every 3rd day
- bathroom and pool towels changed and washed daily. If guests would prefer not to have toweling changed then we invite guests to hang up their towels along with our “Green Clean” sign.
- if guests would like bed linen changed daily or have a scheduled time they would like their daily cleaning service then we invite them to let us know.

Whilst we have never had a complaint before where a guest has suffered rashes from sleeping on same sheets for 2 nights, I would like to review to ensure a similar incident does not happen again.

I would appreciate if you could email me your details so I can look into this further for you. mboileau@hamiltonisland,com.au.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My fiancé and I were so excited to experience this resort on Hamilton island. It did not disappoint. The moment we arrived it was obvious how professional the reef view was. Every single staff member was polite and always smiling. We felt like nothing was too much trouble. The pool is blissful and surrounding restaurants are wonderful too. Definately recommend the private dinner cruise (amazing food & ambiance) and Romano's for Italian perfection. Will return :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkBlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear PinkBlush,

Thank you for your great feedback, it is always rewarding to hear when our guests enjoy their time here.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed some of our restaurants on the island, we do pride ourselves on our many food and wine options.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your fiancé back very soon!

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Reef View 7th to 11th Dec. It was the holiday that I had been waiting for. My daughter Kat, finally got the 3 (myself, Kat & Crystal) of us up there for my belated 60th birthday present. The hotel was great, the view unbelievable, buffet breakfast by the pool to die for. There was not one minute that we got bored. The staff right across the Island are the best also. Can't wait to come back one day soon, I hope.
Robyn

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Robyn P,

Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion.

It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy their time with us and it certainly sounds like you made the most of your time here!

I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Myself and my partner had one of the best holidays of our lives on Hamilton Island. Could not fault the Reef View hotel in terms of location, amenities or the helpfulness of the staff. We had a garden-view room which still had a great view over the pool and on the the sea, and the breakfast each morning (with a choice of several different restaurants to choose from) was delicious and filled us up til early afternoon! The room was clean and airy with an enormous bathroom and very comfortable bed. We went to the beach mid-morning each day and there were plenty of sun loungers available. We really enjoyed the watersports (catamarans, windsurfing lessons, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkels all included in the price of the stay) and one of the highlights of the trip was swimming with a turtle that we found near the beach. Only negative point is the external appearance of the hotel (it is a high-rise in the midst of an island paradise). We can honestly say that after four days of beach time we were the most relaxed that we had felt in a long time, and will be back some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Maybe I'm finicky, maybe my opinion is shared by others, but I love Disneyland because everyone working is doing so with a guest-first mindset. Every employee is concerned about patron satisfaction and every element is stage-managed delicately. A similar experience can be found on Hamilton Island.
The Reef View provides amazing views of Catseye Beach, plus the Marina if you're lucky enough to have a corner room. The stunning, clean rooms have all the modern amenities and from the balcony a warm breeze is a wonderful complement to the evening sun.
While there's an expense to Hamilton Island, it's certainly worth it and Reef View is a spectacular entry level. Qualia would be nice, and the Beach Club has its perks, but Reef View must be just about as good, without the same price tag.
Plenty of buggy parking, too...

Room Tip: The higher the better, and away from the elevators is recommended. Oh, and ask for a corner room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing