We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect way to end 2013 & welcome 2014”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My fiancé and I were so excited to experience this resort on Hamilton island. It did not disappoint. The moment we arrived it was obvious how professional the reef view was. Every single staff member was polite and always smiling. We felt like nothing was too much trouble. The pool is blissful and surrounding restaurants are wonderful too. Definately recommend the private dinner cruise (amazing food & ambiance) and Romano's for Italian perfection. Will return :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkBlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear PinkBlush,

Thank you for your great feedback, it is always rewarding to hear when our guests enjoy their time here.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed some of our restaurants on the island, we do pride ourselves on our many food and wine options.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your fiancé back very soon!

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,409 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Reef View 7th to 11th Dec. It was the holiday that I had been waiting for. My daughter Kat, finally got the 3 (myself, Kat & Crystal) of us up there for my belated 60th birthday present. The hotel was great, the view unbelievable, buffet breakfast by the pool to die for. There was not one minute that we got bored. The staff right across the Island are the best also. Can't wait to come back one day soon, I hope.
Robyn

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Robyn P,

Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion.

It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy their time with us and it certainly sounds like you made the most of your time here!

I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Myself and my partner had one of the best holidays of our lives on Hamilton Island. Could not fault the Reef View hotel in terms of location, amenities or the helpfulness of the staff. We had a garden-view room which still had a great view over the pool and on the the sea, and the breakfast each morning (with a choice of several different restaurants to choose from) was delicious and filled us up til early afternoon! The room was clean and airy with an enormous bathroom and very comfortable bed. We went to the beach mid-morning each day and there were plenty of sun loungers available. We really enjoyed the watersports (catamarans, windsurfing lessons, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkels all included in the price of the stay) and one of the highlights of the trip was swimming with a turtle that we found near the beach. Only negative point is the external appearance of the hotel (it is a high-rise in the midst of an island paradise). We can honestly say that after four days of beach time we were the most relaxed that we had felt in a long time, and will be back some day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heggers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Maybe I'm finicky, maybe my opinion is shared by others, but I love Disneyland because everyone working is doing so with a guest-first mindset. Every employee is concerned about patron satisfaction and every element is stage-managed delicately. A similar experience can be found on Hamilton Island.
The Reef View provides amazing views of Catseye Beach, plus the Marina if you're lucky enough to have a corner room. The stunning, clean rooms have all the modern amenities and from the balcony a warm breeze is a wonderful complement to the evening sun.
While there's an expense to Hamilton Island, it's certainly worth it and Reef View is a spectacular entry level. Qualia would be nice, and the Beach Club has its perks, but Reef View must be just about as good, without the same price tag.
Plenty of buggy parking, too...

Room Tip: The higher the better, and away from the elevators is recommended. Oh, and ask for a corner room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked the Reef View hotel just 2 days before arriving and it didn't disappoint. We had a first floor room at the front, still had a lovely view. The rooms were huge, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Location-wise it couldn't have been better, just yards from the beach, several restaurants and the free shuttle bus that takes you around the island. We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, although only on the 1st floor we could still see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhjgyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

we booked two rooms for a week over Christmas for a family of six, we were on the 13th floor and the views were very good over the beach (all rooms overlook providing they are high enough in this 19 story building.
The rooms are generous in size and suitable for the number of people. The breakfast buffet was very good although quite busy at certain times but it never took longer than 5 minutes to get seated.
the room were expensive as you would expect at this time of year and the facilities were average for a resort of the this size.
its apparent that that a number of new building have been erected over the last couple of years and the pool areas were rammed with people and also the beaches were very busy. NO sun beds were available quite often and those that were remind of a two star in Benidorm.
there appears to be a culture of charging guests as much for possible for everything from bottled water to some of the waterspouts lessons.
Would i come here again? No the sea life is unexceptional and part from a few turtles doesn't rank anywhere close to Egypt or some Indian ocean resorts. the water is murky and very few fish of interest. the beach is good but not exceptional and when you consider you could have all inclusive in the Caribbean for less money (some of which have all inclusive diving!) its a no brainer.

Room Tip: the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear david h,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the views from your room overlooking Catseye Beach.

We do offer over 60 different activities on the island, so you can be as active as you like or choose to do nothing at all!

Hamilton Island is located on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef and we offer many snorkelling and diving trips out to the reef to experience the coral reefs.

Whilst our non motorised water sports are complimentary, we do recommend guests book a lesson when taking out the catamarans to ensure guest safety in using this equipment.

I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty securing a sunbed, we do appreciate your feedback.

I do hope we can welcome you back again for a short break.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is expensive but we understood that we were not paying just for the room itself. The view and location really are worth the price. We stayed on the 15th floor and one of the highlights for us was just sitting on the balcony looking at the beautiful turquoise water below us. We were very happy with the room service - they literally mopped the bathroom and vacuumed every single day. Room service was fast, affordable and pretty yummy.
Would definitely recommend 'on the edge' sailing to whitehaven beach and snorkeling - almost half the price of the day trip to great barrier reef reef world but much more fun.
Food was pretty good - would definitely advise against dining at the beachclub restaurant - so not worth it. Romano's on the Marina is way better (the seafood pasta and service were particularly amazing). For a simple dinner you can get prawns and all sorts of takeaway food from the fish and chips shop.
Also, there's probably no point in hiring a buggy for more then a couple of hours to do a big loop of the island - if you can it's very easy to walk to and from the Marina, beach and most other places.

I wish anyone traveling to Hamilton ISland and staying at the Reefview Hotel an amazing trip :)

Room Tip: Its most definitely worth it paying a bit extra for the Coral Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
566 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $279 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing