We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

we booked two rooms for a week over Christmas for a family of six, we were on the 13th floor and the views were very good over the beach (all rooms overlook providing they are high enough in this 19 story building.
The rooms are generous in size and suitable for the number of people. The breakfast buffet was very good although quite busy at certain times but it never took longer than 5 minutes to get seated.
the room were expensive as you would expect at this time of year and the facilities were average for a resort of the this size.
its apparent that that a number of new building have been erected over the last couple of years and the pool areas were rammed with people and also the beaches were very busy. NO sun beds were available quite often and those that were remind of a two star in Benidorm.
there appears to be a culture of charging guests as much for possible for everything from bottled water to some of the waterspouts lessons.
Would i come here again? No the sea life is unexceptional and part from a few turtles doesn't rank anywhere close to Egypt or some Indian ocean resorts. the water is murky and very few fish of interest. the beach is good but not exceptional and when you consider you could have all inclusive in the Caribbean for less money (some of which have all inclusive diving!) its a no brainer.

Room Tip: the higher the better.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear david h,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the views from your room overlooking Catseye Beach.

We do offer over 60 different activities on the island, so you can be as active as you like or choose to do nothing at all!

Hamilton Island is located on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef and we offer many snorkelling and diving trips out to the reef to experience the coral reefs.

Whilst our non motorised water sports are complimentary, we do recommend guests book a lesson when taking out the catamarans to ensure guest safety in using this equipment.

I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty securing a sunbed, we do appreciate your feedback.

I do hope we can welcome you back again for a short break.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
There are newer reviews for Reef View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is expensive but we understood that we were not paying just for the room itself. The view and location really are worth the price. We stayed on the 15th floor and one of the highlights for us was just sitting on the balcony looking at the beautiful turquoise water below us. We were very happy with the room service - they literally mopped the bathroom and vacuumed every single day. Room service was fast, affordable and pretty yummy.
Would definitely recommend 'on the edge' sailing to whitehaven beach and snorkeling - almost half the price of the day trip to great barrier reef reef world but much more fun.
Food was pretty good - would definitely advise against dining at the beachclub restaurant - so not worth it. Romano's on the Marina is way better (the seafood pasta and service were particularly amazing). For a simple dinner you can get prawns and all sorts of takeaway food from the fish and chips shop.
Also, there's probably no point in hiring a buggy for more then a couple of hours to do a big loop of the island - if you can it's very easy to walk to and from the Marina, beach and most other places.

I wish anyone traveling to Hamilton ISland and staying at the Reefview Hotel an amazing trip :)

Room Tip: Its most definitely worth it paying a bit extra for the Coral Sea view room
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Have visited this property a number of times over 20 years and it is still holding up quite well. This time we stayed in a refurbished room on the 16th floor which was comfortable and well-appointed. The view was exceptional from that height though you need to still keep the glass doors closed to prevent the cockatoos entering and cleaning out the nuts and chips in the minibar!

The buffet breakfast is designed to suit most tastes though having to pay extra for "real" coffee is an annoyance as is a charge for WiFi - the rooms aren't inexpensive yet these two issues smack of penny pinching.

Perhaps the best thing that has happened in the last 20 years on Hamilton is the development of the Yacht Club precinct and the golf course on Dent Is - Qualia is a separate issue discussed in a later post.

Sadly the thing that still annoys me is the fact that in such a pristine environment approval was given all those years ago to build these high-rise hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear tshields,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, the views certainly are breathtaking!

The hotel now offers complimentary WiFi for our inhouse guests, I apologise if this information wasn’t given to you upon check in.

Hamilton Island is very proud of our latest additions to the island, I hope you had time to enjoy a cocktail or 2 at Bommie Deck in the Yacht Club.

I hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

It's all great but I suggest not to come during the peak seasons. But if you do I suggest you to book the dinner, activities, buggy pretty much everything in advance!! It's so hard to hire everything and it's all fully booked. We had to book for all the dinner or else you would be starve to look for food. Also i strongly suggest you to hire a buggy if possible, we had went down and called up like 5 times in two days unfortunately they are all fully booked! So book them in advance save you a lot of time to walk.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TLLAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

For more that $400 i would expect a much much better room. Though the rooms were clean and spacious, they do not give you feel of such an expensive hotel. The check in process is very smooth and there is lots to do on the island. One good thing is you don't have to carry your wallet anywhere on the island as everything can be charged to your room. Do take only reef view room as otherwise the whole point of staying here would be wasted.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurabhg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers the best views of the islands with 19 floors. Views are majestic. Staff are very helpful and make you feel very welcome.

As for value for money, very very good compared to the other hotels there.

Free buffet breakfast and it had everything you wanted. Chefs were available to cook whatever you like.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lloyd202710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Lovely hotel in a first class location. The staff were friendly and helpful with customer service as a top priority. Can't recommend the hotel enough. Had a beautiful view as the name suggests. We had a wonderful 5 day stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: the Reef View is a must have!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iansquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear iansquash,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is always great to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us!

I hope we are able to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
562 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $284 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing