We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING VIEW! Friendly staff! and great hotel and awesome breakfast!”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The moment I got to the Island all I could say was WOW! Hotel Staff was very helpful, friendly and very polite. I loved the lifts as it had A/C installed on them very refreshing.

The rooms are very clean and tidy and smells good,very clean and large bathrooms too. Comfortable beds and great terrace view! breathtaking! morning or night! and you always have friend visitors in your terrace. The cockatoos will always stop by so always have those cameras ready and always have your doors closed unless you want them flying in. matter of fact we forgot the close ours in our last day and let's say it got pretty messy.

Fast WiFi access and nearly available everywhere in the Island! and if buggy power points are full in the hotel try across the road and park there or in front of the hotel. :)

The reef bar needs a renovation and the bar staff was very slow. Though the buffet breakfast was very good! loved the crispy bacon.

Room Tip: Can't say much about the rooms they all offer amazing view! can't complain. Unless you'r...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Hi Anthony S

Thank you for your review.

What a pleasure it was having you stay with us. I’m always happy to read your stay included the WOW factor you were looking for & that our staff was there to help you every step of the way.

Those external lifts have a stunning view – But being in the Tropical sun you can imagine how warm they would be inside. The A/C system in each one is the least we can do for you & I still love the feeling when stepping into one.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms & yes those Cockatoos can be a delight – But always remember to close your doors when you are out enjoying the rest of our island.

I appreciate you bringing the Reef Bar issues to my attention & I will be sure to speak with my team.

We certainly hope you can visit again soon – If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au
Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
There are newer reviews for Reef View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place is a reminder of how beautiful Australia is and I can't wait to come back.
Waking up to the view everyday was wonderful. I loved everything about Hamilton Island. The resort was great and the staff were very helpful. Zero drama's during our stay and we were very happy with our room. It was nice to be able to use all the pools on the island and there were a variety of restaurants to choose from. Having said that we did spend an awful lot of $$$ on food. I don't think there is a cheap option here! We loved zooming around in our golf buggy too. One Tree Hill is also a must see at sunset and for 'happy hour' - speaking of 'happy hour', we enjoyed many of these by the pool.
Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Anything above the fourth floor has ocean views!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahem927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location and great view. We were on the 11th floor. But the rest of the hotel is tired and in need of a makeover big time. Eg lift that leaks when it rains. Room staff were the providers of best service. Reef bar staff were very poor. Front desk variable. Concierge energetic and efficient.

And what's with the lobby kiosk? Staff who couldn't manage eftpos machinery properly. And the need to telephone across the lobby to book a purchase to our room. Really? Technology answers that need immediately. I expect they are a concession separate to the hotel. Irrespective for all intents and purposes Matt, they represent you, but poorly.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank RogTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi RogTrish

Thank you for your review.

Certainly glad you were able to enjoy our hotel & the view that it has become famous for.

I’m concerned to hear that you had some issues during your stay & I appreciate you bringing them to my attention.

I shall action these personally and I do apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

We certainly hope you can visit again soon – If there is anything I can do for you please don’t hesitate to contact me personally via mboileau@HamiltonIsland.com.au

Warm regards

Matt Boileau

General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

When we arrived at our room and saw the view I half expected to see the pirates of the Caribbean emerge from under the palm trees! Wrong part of the world I know, but wow! What a lovely, lovely place to finish our stay in Australia. Extremely spacious room, clean and so comfortable - and to wake up to that view every day - I really didn't want to leave!
The staff were helpful, polite, nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to return, perhaps for a little longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alianne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Alianne2013

Thank you for your review.

I’m glad to read you didn’t run into any Pirates under our Palm Trees & to also hear that staying with us here at The Reef View Hotel on Hamilton Island was the perfect end to your stay in Australia & that our team where able to make such an impression.

Hope you can visit again soon.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau

General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Believe this is a 19 storey hotel, we were lucky enough to stay on the 18 th floor which meant we had great views of the beach and resort.The room was a very good size with 2 very comfortable Queen sized beds.A good sized bathroom with a separate shower cubicle.Fresh towels for the beach left daily in your room.Good selection of choice at breakfast which no matter what time you went was always very busy.Respect to the chef in charge of cooking the eggs, he was doing so many different orders plus cooking for the buffet as well.His omelettes were delicious.

Room Tip: For great views request a room above floor 10 at least
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandrew465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I got a room on the 8th floor so had a superb view! The room was very spacious and the air con was just perfect. There were so many activities included as part of the hotel package. Although the price is fairly high, consider the activities and amenities provided by the hotel, it beats any other resort stay! Got a good price via a members website. I am hoping to be back there next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossfigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a beautiful tropical setting! The entire island has a great resort feel. Perfect for families with lots of activities to keep everyone happy.
But don't expect 5 star service or quality (despite what you pay-everything is pricey). I'm sure 15 years ago the hotel probably shined and gleamed with all the new fittings. But today it really looks dated and daggy.

As i was here for work, and work booked my room(probably cheapest available-but still very pricey)I was unfortunately given room 212. Not a great view, you can see the pool and trees, but no water view as mentioned in other reviews of the upper floors.

But the real issue is the supersonic cyclone resistant willy wonka type elevators located right next to my room. Don't even try to have an afternoon nap with these going up and down all afternoon. You will soon forget you're in a tropical paradise and feel like you're trying to sleep in an office tower in the maintenance room! And the beautiful waterfall you notice upon checkin in the foyer- dont let appearances fool you. From my bed it sounded like someone was permanently hosing concrete!! So I asked for a quieter room please. No can do I was told. We are full to capacity and cannot move you. They did turn off the waterfall in the evening and closed down the 2 elevators closest to rooms at night- but trust me you can still hear the others going all night. And the general noise from the foyer still travels into your room with the waterfall turned off. Note to management- simple solution don't book this room to paying customers!! Unless of course you're money grabbing.

The fire alarm went off at 2am for what sounded like about 20mins, the report saying it was a false alarm came about 10mins later

Now for the rest of the room. Quite large and spacious, but not much cupboard space to hang your clothes. No screens on the doors and don't try to eat on the balcony- the lorikeets tried to steal my muesli bar out of my hands, granted- this is the fault of tourists not the hotel. The bathroom is spacious however the energy saving LED down lights are horrible for trying to put on makeup, and considering the only mirrors in the room are in the dark bathroom -you're screwed! Minibar prices are as reasonable as you can get on the island. $4 chocolate bar, $30 bottle wine

$35 breakfast in the hotel is horrible. Rubbery overlooked eggs, dried out bacon, and greasy over crunchy hash browns certainly not 5 star quality. The fresh food bar looked more like the left overs from sizzler than a resort. With capacity you can barely find a free table, and when you do, you have to share it with birds picking the food as the staff cannot keep up to clear the tables. The plates and tea cups are still wet straight out of the washers again I'm guessing the staff straining to deal with capacity. You're better off walking to the marina and have a cheaper fresher breakfast which you can charge back to your room ( just make sure you have your room key hanging conveniently around your neck).

We were forced to have dinner here with customers as everywhere else on the Marina was booked( and with the 2 top restaurants closed Sunday nights you are left with slim pickings). The price was reasonable, just over $100 per head for 2 courses and wine. The menu like everything else is dated and boring-nothing fancy to impress clients, but you do get what you pay for here.

The hotel pool was nice, but the bougainvillea pool -2 mins walk away was nicer.

They offer airport transfers, and happy to take your bags straight up to your room while you checkin, but if you are in a rush to change after a long trip, then you're better off taking your bag up yourself.

Would I come back? Probably not. Would I recommend it? Yes if you want to be one of 200 rooms with kids. Better hope they are not full to capacity as they simply wont cope.

You're better off paying up and staying in style at the beach club.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
562 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $285 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing