We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Views - big rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views - big rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Initially I was give vs room on 1st floor - no view except onto roof near pool- asked to move - moved to 9th floor - much nicer !! Huge rooms - pleasant well trained staff - most impressed overall. Just remember to shut your doors else birds will eat everything accessible in the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    952
    329
    112
    73
See reviews for
594
1,076
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had three nights staying at the Reef View Resort on the 17th level, the views were spectacular. We even had one of the Sulphur Crested Cockatoos fly into the room and have a look around. The staff were very obliging and food and amenities outstanding. The buffet breakfast had a great selection and with three different locations for breakfast we tried them all, including breakfast with the Koalas!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's quite a good hotel although if the air conditioner is off the rooms get a bit musty. The service is excellent and the pool and beach are very nice. The highlight for me was the pool restaurant, which has excellent food and even better service. The Fitness Center also has wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear johnfv

Thank you for not only staying with us but also for your review.

Pleasure to read that you enjoyed our piece of paradise, I will personally pass on your feedback to my team & the team at The Sports Club

We certainly hope you can stay with us again soon.

Thank you again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hamilton Island is a fantastic resource, and if you end up here then the Reef View hotel is probably the best choice of the traditional hotels. Make sure you get a reef view room, otherwise it is really a disappointment, Top floor (19th) has 2 story suites, but the standard two bed rooms are quite OK.

The breakfast can be enjoyed at three different restaurants so this gives a variety. It is a very comprehensive breakfast with good view. Birds are a bit if nuicence if you take outdoor table. Also, make sure you close the balcony (my room had a very nice balcony), to prevent the cockatoos from getting in and eating your chokolates and making a mess of things....

The only complaint I have is that the internet ws pretty slow, botht the free one (max 500MB download) but also the paid one (25$ / 2000MB), so that could be upgraded. Wifi coverage was acceptable, but speed slow. On the other hand, you should not really be at your computer on a resource like this.

Room Tip: If you can afford the top floor suites, then you have a fantastic view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmansner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Lmansner

Thank you for your review.

Always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying with us & yes those Cockatoos can be a challenge but not too disturbing.

In regards to the available WiFi in our hotel, I shall pass on your feedback to our I.T department.

Hope I can welcome you back to The Reef View Hotel soon.

Thank you again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Was there on the 7th September 2013 for a conference ...was a great hotel ...friendly.room was great .. Food beautiful ...just the best try it... The only thing while on the island found things very expensive ... Take your own grog and snacks with you in your suitcase I did ...things very expensive on the island... Buggy hire are $85 a day ...took the free shuttle around the island for a look ..was great the driver told us everything we wanted to know. 1/2 day tour to Whitehaven just great...Reef hotel good not fault ....If I could afford it I would go back...and by the way don't expect the beach to be a beautiful white beach when tide goes out its not much...

Room Tip: Sea view room 8th floor just perfect ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 03011961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Spacious rooms with beautiful front balcony and beautiful views.

The rooms will require renovations in the near future specifically the toilets and showers.

Great breakfast buffet selection, welcoming staff, value for money can certainly be worked on.

Would certainly recommend booking a room on a higher floor as the view in my personal opinion is a lot better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay on Hamilton Island and couldn't fault the Reef Hotel where we stayed. The island offers so many activities for families and our young sons rated the holiday an absolute 10 out of 10.

The Reef View is conveniently located across the road from Catseye Beach and the Reef pool is a real winner, being long enough (not sure but ~35m long?) to do some serious morning laps or splash around for family pool games.

The rooms are very clean, with an enormous bathroom and the hotel service was very good.

We travelled in the September school holiday period so the whole island was very crowded. Long lines for breakfast and not much room around the pools. On the positive side though you could swim in the sea without worrying about stinger suits AND being school holidays the kids travelled free on several reef and whitehaven day trip options. This promotion significantly reduced cost of such activities. Given the volume of guests, a few key restaurants had reduced choices on the promoted kids eat free meals. At the sails and reef only a buffet option was available for dinner.The buffet food offered for kids at sails was pretty average and although not a big deal may influence the time of your travel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, upper levels to add a real holiday feel at a relatively cheap extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip-to-it2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Skip-to-it2013

Thank you not only staying with us but for also taking the time to post your review, It was a pleasure having you with us & I'm extremely proud to read your 10 out of 10 rating from you & your family.

All holiday locations are presented with challenges during the School Holiday periods & I'm glad to see you were able to make the most of our activities & offers during this busy period.

We certainly hope you can stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
1.2 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing