We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, an old time favourite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, an old time favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Spacious rooms with beautiful front balcony and beautiful views.

The rooms will require renovations in the near future specifically the toilets and showers.

Great breakfast buffet selection, welcoming staff, value for money can certainly be worked on.

Would certainly recommend booking a room on a higher floor as the view in my personal opinion is a lot better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoctorTTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    943
    324
    107
    72
See reviews for
579
1,061
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay on Hamilton Island and couldn't fault the Reef Hotel where we stayed. The island offers so many activities for families and our young sons rated the holiday an absolute 10 out of 10.

The Reef View is conveniently located across the road from Catseye Beach and the Reef pool is a real winner, being long enough (not sure but ~35m long?) to do some serious morning laps or splash around for family pool games.

The rooms are very clean, with an enormous bathroom and the hotel service was very good.

We travelled in the September school holiday period so the whole island was very crowded. Long lines for breakfast and not much room around the pools. On the positive side though you could swim in the sea without worrying about stinger suits AND being school holidays the kids travelled free on several reef and whitehaven day trip options. This promotion significantly reduced cost of such activities. Given the volume of guests, a few key restaurants had reduced choices on the promoted kids eat free meals. At the sails and reef only a buffet option was available for dinner.The buffet food offered for kids at sails was pretty average and although not a big deal may influence the time of your travel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, upper levels to add a real holiday feel at a relatively cheap extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip-to-it2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Skip-to-it2013

Thank you not only staying with us but for also taking the time to post your review, It was a pleasure having you with us & I'm extremely proud to read your 10 out of 10 rating from you & your family.

All holiday locations are presented with challenges during the School Holiday periods & I'm glad to see you were able to make the most of our activities & offers during this busy period.

We certainly hope you can stay with us again.

Thank you again.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
HAMILTON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Cook
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the outside looks like it needs some TLC but inside very nice, room was clean and the bed was very comfy. Would stay there again but not during school holidays. Very family friendly. Two minutes from the beach, the only downside was the buffet meal in the evening was very expensive at $45 each ok if you eat alot but not if you don't. Also there wasnt enough tables in the pool terrace for

Room Tip: Book a room above 5th floor so you get the views, coral reef view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcmw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My trip to Hamilton Island was to attend a wedding. All details from the group booking through to the event was flawless. The Island was world class catering for all budgets, singles, honeymooners and families. Being able to use your hotel key to pay for anything was also fantastic. The staff across the whole island were consistently courteous, friendly and helpful. Getting around the Island was easy also with multiple shuttles to take you wherever you wanted to go.
Definitely a place to put on your bucket list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherDaughterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we loved the place.
Plentiful, healthy food, or not so healthy if you desired.
Clean large pool, plenty of activities for the kids and poolside cocktail service for adults.
Were sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMCS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Hamilton Island is a wonderful destination for a kick back tropical escape - just don't try to do it in peak season. It shouldn't be a surprise for the resort but the demand on transport, restaurants and services is higher at this time. We were unable to hire a buggy for our stay due to the high demand and were found the dismissive attitude of staff at Buggy Hire frustrating, why didn't we know we should have booked ahead in school holidays - our travel agent & google searches didn't tell us. And who would know that restaurants close on Sunday nights in the peak time? These and some basic issues like disdainful service, dirty toilets and no toilet paper in common areas are the difference between tropical holidays in Australia & Pacific Islands. If you pay a premium you expect some basics....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrigaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is not the place to come in peak season. Buggies are booked out days in advance, have made 6 attempts of getting on the shuttle bus with no success, cleaning standard of the Reef View Hotel is below par, queues for breakfast, queues for the lifts, go to dinner at a non booking restaurant at 6.30 and told it is a 30
minute wait for dinner. Given the price here, I would expect better service and timeliness

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.6 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Travelocity so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing