We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chill time - great location”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a hectic couple of weeks in Melbourne and Sydney during Lions tour and coming to the Reef View hotel was totally relaxing time for me, my husband and daughter. Could not fault any aspect of our stay - brilliant.

Room Tip: we had garden room on 4th floor - would not have gone any lower as view would have been limited
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Debbie D,

I'm glad you chose the Reef View Hotel to recharge the batteries during your amazing trip to Australia.

I hope the lasting memories of Hamilton Island and the Whitsundays bring you back for another visit one day.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
There are newer reviews for Reef View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

A real understanding of this term! A member of staff inadvertently spoilt a surprise we had planned for my husband's 70th birthday(not her fault) and a bottle of champagne appeared. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. Also good food, great room and views!

Room Tip: The higher up the hotel the better!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Fenjan,

I'm so sorry we inadvertently spoiled the surprise for your husbands 70th birthday. The bottle of champagne is the least we could do, and I appreciate you accepting this gesture in the spirit it was intended.

I can see from the 5 star review that the birthday celebrations turned out to be a great success, and if you are looking to do it all again for your husband's 71st birthday - we'll be happy to welcome you all back again.

Thanks for your kind review.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week with our family. Very good service. Quick check-in & out.
Few minute walk to the beach. Breakfast generous. You can make bookings for various trips at reception. Good bar and lounge area fir cocktails. Friendly staff. Highly recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: All have good views. We had garden view overlooking the pool with glimpses of island. Other family...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation on Hamilton Island even after I was stung by a stingray. Everyone took wonderful care of me, from the lifeguards, medical centre and hotel manager who brought us to the pharmacy and hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

After traveling from London-Singapore-Melbourne-cairns then to Hamilton island we were about 3 weeks into our 4 1/2 week long trip and we were settling down a few days after Xmas and can I say there couldn't be a better place to spend time or have a holiday we felt very welcome and we were greeted nicely and quickly checked into our luxury reef view room, it was massive to say the least, very clean and the view was absolutely amazing and coming from rainy England the wearer was fabulous!!!!

The staff were keen to help us when we wanted to go out to the reef and helpfully organised us a helicopter ride over the reef to reef world! This was excellent and was a great way to end our stay before we moved onto Sydney and Hong Kong to end the holiday

The whole family wished we could have stayed longer and would rate the stay higher than excellent if we could, thank you all at reef view so much and this was definitely the best place we went to on all of our trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hi1411123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Hi1411123,

From rainy England to buzzing the Great Barrier Reef by helicopter, on a perfect day in paradise!

It sounds like you had the perfect holiday escape that you deserved. Thanks for taking the time to tell us, and the world, how enjoyable your visit to the Reef View Hotel was. I hope to welcome you back one day.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel prices its self as a premium luxury building, it's not, but location and services makes up for that.

Breakfast was good and if you stay at the hotel you have complementary access to the island gym, spa and water sport equipment.

Free paddle boarding was a big positive. Climate and atmosphere on the Island leaves you in a good mood throughout the stay.

Be prepared to spend more cash if you wish to do any of the good excursions. Reef world with scuba diving and snorkeling $350 each! But well worth it.

...Beers will cost you around $8.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We holidayed at the Reef View hotel for five-nights in late August on our month long trip from Adelaide to Melbourne to Sydney to Hamilton Island and finally to Port Douglas.

As a family of four we opted for a two-bedroom penthouse suite and it was just ace. View over the beach is simply stunning - we had a wrap-around balcony with BBQ and hot-tub so plenty of room to enjoy the amazing views. The suite was very spacious, light, modern and tastefully decorated - loved the telescope and 3x TVs! We had a huge lounge, kitchen/dining area and the two bedrooms + two bathrooms made the logistics for our family stay just perfect. This was easily the nicest hotel we stayed in on our tour - the others were good but this was excellent. Nice touch was the cocktail trolley which came around early evening... how could you say no? :)

We hired golf buggy for pootling around the island but tbh it’s so small you could easily walk, but the buggy was fun and convenient. We also took a diving trip to the southern end of the Barrier Reef - took about 2hours to get to the reef but was as amazing as advertised and we unforgettably heard whales singing whilst we were underwater. We also charted a yacht for a day from the marina... actually turned out quite windy/choppy so we ended up picnicking and swimming in a sheltered bay with Green Turtles joining us - so so memorable...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
562 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $284 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing