We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel amazing views of coral sea”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel amazing views of coral sea”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely hotel on Hamilton island. One of the cheaper options not that you would know. Went on a stand by rate so value for money was amazing!!! fast and efficient check in by the lovey staff on reception. Room was ready early so was able to go straight up. Stayed in a coral sea view room which was lovely. Bathroom was huge!!!! would definitely recommend!!! Brekkie wasn't included with the room rate we got however we purchased in the morning. It was pretty expensive but it was great!!!! everything to choose from and if you wake up with a big appetite you will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi amy r,

We're honored that you chose the Reef View Hotel for your local getaway. As a resident of the Whitsunday region for many years I am constantly amazed at the great places we have to visit in our own backyard.

Thanks for your kind comments, and remember we're only a short ferry trip away from your next escape from the mainland.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel and Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    992
    349
    121
    77
See reviews for
630
1,126
43
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great getaway destination. Small relativel built up island with lots of golf buggies! Everything is expensive. Staff are adequate to purpose but do not usually do any extras. Would benefit from more client focus.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I arrived on Hamilton after an operation on my foot wearing a moon boot. The staff went out of their way to accomodate me. Shifting me to a room closer to amenities as to minimise my walking distance. Gave me a later checkout so I could rest a bit befor my transfer and even dropping me off at the marina so i didnt have to climb into the bus. I cannot thank them enough for their personal care of me. I am often on hamilton island with my job and occasionally I stay over.I read reviews from people about average service and dated rooms do these people just want something to complain about??? The reef view has wonderful rooms fantastic views and very helpful staff!!!!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi RhondaMackay,

Thanks for being such a loyal guest and advocate of our hotel and staff on your many visits. I'm pleased on both a professional and personal level, that you were given such a high level of attention and care during your recent stay.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit, should you have any special requirements - we'll be happy to help you out however we can.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel and Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We travelled to Hamilton Island in June 2013 for week away from the cold, to celebrate our anniversary. Our first impressions of the Reef View Hotel, were that it looked a little dated, but it was in a fantastic location. We were situated on the tenth floor in an Ocean View Room.
The room was big enough, however we were given a room with two queen beds which I thought was strange since they knew it was a for a couple. The view from the balcony was fantastic. The downside, was the cleanliness of the room. The bathroom in particular looked like it hadn't had a proper clean in months! There was mould in the shower and dirt and dust built up on the floor. Not very romantic!
During the week we spoke with reception staff about getting an upgrade to a Reef Suite for our final night, which we were told was going to be an extra $200 per night. Of course we expected to pay for the upgrade, but $200 on top of what we were already paying, at last minute was a bit much. I waited until the day before, to again ask if there were any Suite's available at last minute for an upgrade, and the cost had gone to $219!! I was assured this was the best price they could do, but neither of the staff went out of their way to talk to anyone else to see if a deal could be made, it was take it or leave it. Because it was a special trip away for our anniversary, we decided to upgrade to the Reef Suite anyway. The Suite was amazing - King Bed facing the views and a beautiful spa to enjoy. There was fresh fruit in the room, proper coffee and a nice selection of tea to enjoy, and magazines to read. We were even given a private transfer to the airport on the day of our departure, and a separate departure lounge for Qualia, Beach Club and Reef View Suite guests only. Although the Reef Suite was beautiful, more effort could go into the upkeep and cleanliness of the other rooms. Guests are still paying top dollar to stay at this Hotel, so a few extra's wouldn't go astray. If you're staying here with a family or group of friends, it would be a perfect hotel, however if you're after a romantic holiday or like the special touches - I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Request a room above level 10 for fantastic views. If you can afford it, go for the Reef Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarleyB255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about staying at the Reef view due to some of the bad reviews on here, but thankfully we needn't have worried! Transport is sorted all from the airport, and our luggage was in our room before we even got there even though there was no queue at check in, which we thought was great! The staff were courteous and helpful at all times. We had a two queen bed room on the 11th floor and it was great especially with little one. Lots of space to run about in with a big sized bathroom too. The room was serviced daily and we could not fault it. The guy at the activities desk was really helpful, and i am so glad he convinced us to go on the Fly/Cruise to the reef, it was just breath-taking. We also managed to see a humpback whale from the helicopter!!! The ferry on the way back was a smooth journey thankfully. Our main objective of this trip was to see the reef and we were not disappointed, it was truly worth ever single penny we spent!

We also went on a day trip to whitehaven, which was gorgeous! After spending 2 hours there we were taken to daydream island. If you are short for time, i would recommend skipping this altogether as it was nothing special at all. We opted for the cafe style lunch, which was just vouchers given to you to spend at the cafe. I wish they didn't have the option for this as it felt like such a waste having to spend $20 each for each adult and $10 for a child in a really quite rubbish cafe. Like i said, entirely forgettable island with not much to do on it, and although the staff said we could leave before our allocated time which was 15:15, there didn't appear to be any ferries that left here so we were kind of stuck for 3 hours!

The turtle discovery snorkel is AMAZING and in my opinion not advertised well enough. For only $15 we snorkelled in a group of 10 off catseye beach and saw MASSIVE gorgeous turtles, i saw 4 in total and it was just incredible!

Just a few points


- The grocery store is pretty well stocked, and not as expensive as i had thought it would be, especially compared to sydney prices.

- Renting a golf buggy is well worth it!

The only negative points i found were

-Food on the island is generally average, and over priced for what it is. I would recommend bringing some snacks along as eating out all week does get tiresome

-Service in the pool terrace restaurant is terrible. Even when it is totally empty and there are 4-5 staff around, you will be ignored and lunch will stretch on for the longest time ever. I found it much much quicker (bizzarely) to order room service through the pool terrace restaurant. The only annoying thing about this is that they would not extend their "kids eat for free" to room service. It was so terribly frustrating sitting in the restaurant though that we just paid the extra to have room service instead.

-The bowling alley is ridiculously overpriced for what it is, and 9 pin bowling is not as good as ten pin bowling that i am used to!


All in all, we would definitely come back here again. It isn't cheap, it isn't even value for money to stay at, however, there is no other option really if you want to stay somewhere reasonable, have a buffet breakfast, and get to see the reef. You will pay premium prices, however it is still worth it at least once for the experience.

Room Tip: Aim for high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umbongo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Umbongo83,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your family holiday to Hamilton Island and the amazing reef and beaches we have on our doorstep.

I am disappointed to read your experience at the Pool terrace restaurant, and will be talking with the team there to understand where the bottlenecks are in regard to customer service. This must be improved.

All in all it seemed like you had a great holiday and I was glad to hear of your close encounters with the humpback whale and turtles. It only reminds me of how special this part of the world really is.

I hope those magic memories will bring you back to our shores again one day.


Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the reef view, perfect location, great views, very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast was amazing. Fantastic holiday, we are already planning our next trip to Hamilton island with the kids. great family friendly holiday!
P.S Manta Ray Cafe is a must during your stay, amazing pesto garlic bread and gourmet pizzas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift, we were the first room down the hall and at night the lift was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Tammy W,

I'm sure you'll be a very popular mum when the kids find out they are going to Hamilton Island for their next holiday.

I'm so happy you had a great time and I look forward to you bringing the whole family this time. They won't be disappointed.

Warm regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I enjoyed bingo in the reef lounge and had a beautiful apartment on the 19th top floor with fantastic views. Unfortunately their security in the Reef Hotel and for the entire Island is privately owned and operated and they have their own laws. When I was not included in a private function after Bingo I was handcuffed and removed from the island and taken to a Psychiatric Facility because security labelled me as psychotic.I would not recommend this place at all. The beach club across the road has tired rooms but service and absolute beach frontage is much much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 401susanjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
556 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing