We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with kids”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came back to Hamilton Island with our kids this time and the kids really enjoyed the time. We had a great view to the beach and loved our short 2 day stay. The breakfast buffet was really nice and we all loved it. I want to thank the Management to give us this opportunity to come back to this beautiful island with our kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

it is a very large hotel with the rooms definitely ok - a bit tired, but just a bit. but the place with such prices (we paid 600$ for a night) could be more warm and friendly.
noone was rude or something, but when we needed to book a plane to get back to Airlie Beach i would expect some help with that especially given that we are not from an english-speaken country and phone conversations with australians took much more time and reiterations - noone tried to help, just pointed at the phone number on the leaflet i had with myself telling we had to call this number (quite evident, not so helpful)

No specific problems, no specific positive emotions either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a very shabby, dated attempt at a hotel. I get the feeling they are hiding behind the sunshine. The rooms are undoubtedly large with good beds but that's where the pluses of this hotel ends. Surly, miserable staff and poor quality astronomically priced food and drinks. Don't bother.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere, they don't deserve your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SM123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi SM123_12,

I’m sorry to see that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. It’s hard to pinpoint exactly why your stay was so unsatisfactory because there isn’t much detail in your review. I’m keen to hear about your experience on Hamilton Island and what might have happened.
My personal email address is mboileau@hamiltonisland.com.au so please feel free to contact me.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had the unfortunate task of having to leave this island paradise last Thursday 18th march 2013 after a 6 night stay, but i guess we have to come back to work to earn enough money to return to this wonderful place. We had a coral sea view room on the 14th floor which was absolutely spectacular, and waking up each morning to the beautiful view made the start of each day perfect. A 6 night stay, was no where near long enough but as we run a large family business in Adelaide we really only get to take shorter breaks and let me tell you that this place is perfect to do just that! The staff at check in were very polite, helpful and very informative and the restaurant staff at the reef view were just great (especially the wonderful lady from N.Z that just made the dining experience that much better, great sense of humour and a welcoming smile), breakfast which was included was superbly presented and the two evening meals that we had were wonderful. All up Matt Boileau (General Manager) and his team have nailed the brief of providing "The Perfect Getaway", thanks heaps guy's!

It felt a bit like being on a very pretty cruise ship that happens to be 4.5Km long and 3Km wide!

Don't miss a mocha at the bakery, best anywhere!

If i had to provide a couple of negatives to consider there would be nothing about the reef view but generally would include:

1. The buggy hire was expensive, 24 hours for $85.00 ($95.00 inc insurance).
2. Meals and drinks were expensive, but i guess you are on an island in the Whitsundays.
(not including the fish and chip shop which was quite good value for money)

Just so you go prepared.

Gary & Melissa Palmer, SA

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and coral sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Reef View Hotel and it was a wonderful stay. From a service perspective our expectations were exceeded. Alycia the Suite Concierge went over and above to ensure we always felt like VIPs, we were impressed from the moment we were greeted at the Airport for our transfer and the service excellence was consistent throughout our entire stay, in fact there has been follow up since our return home, outstanding! We stayed in a suite on the 19th floor, the views were amazing and somehow we also found time to enjoy the in-room spa bath. The suite was spacious and clean. We were celebrating a milestone birthday and the bottle of bubbles complements of the hotel was a lovely touch. We preferred breakfast at Sails to look out over the water and it wasn't as busy as the pool terrace restaurant. The heated pool at the Reef View was also a bonus. Thank you to the Reef View and particularly to Alycia for making our stay extra special, we will recommend the suites at Reef View to others and are already looking forward to our return.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MEMcG_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Weren't quite sure on what to expect when we booked it but were very happy with with what we got.
The room was large, clean and well decked out. We didn't have much of a view but that is the luck of the draw.
The facilities are plentiful and well looked after. The swimming pool was great to spend some time at, ideal spot for reading a book and cooling off every now and then.
Spent quite a bit of time at the gym, the equipment is newish and all in good condition. The squash and tennis courts are in good shape and its great that the facilities are free if you stay at the Reef View Hotel.
The front desk staff were very helpful on checking us in and out. We used the bookings desk to book for gold and diving on the GBR and that worked very well.
All in all a good holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamwari7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

First tip is pay the extra for the coral sea view room we were on floor 13 and the view was fantastic, to be able to lay in bed and see the ocean each morning was the best way to start your day
Tip 2 get a package that includes breakfast it was $38 dollars to buy breakfast, so glad ours was included the variety on the brekky buffet was outstanding.
Tip 3 get some groceries delivered from Coles on the mainland we paid $17 for delivery and made our own lunch every day and nibbles for afternoon drinks.
Great variety for dinners, pizza, fish and chips and the tavern have prices that were equal to the mainland.
We spurged for a trip on the Denison Star, so worth the money, the cruise at sunset was beautiful and the food was first class.
This Island was so lovely so many special places to enjoy a drink, loved the yacht club, tree top hill for the view, the go-carts and buggys.
Reef View concierge's were outstanding, David and Alicia helped out in all areas.
I will be recommending Hamilton the Reef View to anyone I know that is thinking of a Queensland Holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the higher rooms from about level 10 up. Order some extra groceries like mixes fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selinaandtrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
573 reviews
7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $262 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing