We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very convenient to everything. Lots of hiking trails. The whole island is very kid friendly with lots of free meals and activities for them. The golf carts are fun to go around the island but they also have free bus shuttle every few mins to take you anywhere on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just spent 5 nights at the Reef View Hotel staying on the 13th Floor - we went as a family of 4 mum, dad and two kids (10 yr old and 13 yr old). The view was awesome and we enjoyed watching the parrots misbehaving and having fun. We had two queen beds in our room and this was sufficient for us. The room was very clean and spacious. Although it rained most days we still did everything we could. We had heaps of fun on the tennis and squash courts, walked the tracks to the lookouts and had a ball on the stand up paddle boards and canoes. All use of sports equipment was included in our package as was breakfast. The food at the hotel was very good with the kids loving the desserts. Breakfast was huge - again the hotel provided exceptional food. Carts are a little expensive at $85.00 a day but there are three free shuttle buses - the island is not that big and you can easily walk wherever you need to go. We had a great time and would certainly go back and stay at the Reef View Hotel as it is in an excellent position and the staff are wonderful. For families if you can take a few snacks for your stay it helps as food on the island is quite expensive. Pizza at the Manta Ray was very nice and not too expensive. Bakery has great fresh food, although again a little expensive. For a family day trip out to the reef you need to have a budget of around $550. Enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Coral View rooms are worth the extra money for the view. The 13th floor had an awesome view and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryG771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

G’Day Kerry G,

I thought your review of your time with us on Hamilton Island was great. Thank you for posting.

I’m happy to hear that you and your family had such a great holiday with us. Reef View Hotel is the most popular accommodation option on Hamilton Island for families and we really do try to make families feel welcome.
You might be interested to know that the new Manta Ray Cafe menu has recently been introduced. This menu also includes gluten-free options.

I hope that we will see you again soon for another great break.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved this hotel, it had everything we wanted and more. We had a stunning room on the 13th floor (the coral view queen room) and it was perfect. Sure it's not ultra modern, more "classically" decorated and a few of the fixtures and fitting might be a little dated - but this in no way took away from the magic. This hotel is beautiful, the views are incredible and the whole Hamilton Island experience is worth every cent you pay. We've had an amazing time and I can only assume the people rating this place a 3 or below have ridiculously high standards. We couldn't complain at anything. And we adored the parrots on the balcony!

Room Tip: If you are a couple make sure you state you want the Queen room and not the twin room. The Queen roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elle_w_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi elle_w_NZ,

I really enjoyed reading your review. My whole team and I really appreciate your comments and we’re delighted that you had a great time on Hamilton Island staying with us.
I hope that you will come back and stay with us for another holiday in the future.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location and views on the 6th floor were beautiful. Rooms were spacious but bathrooms could do with a revamp. Looked tired and old. Beach was beautiful and a lot of activities to do as long as the weather was perfect.. When it rained you were limited in things to do. Staff were helpful in particular Trudy Staff Supervisor in the ground floor breakfast area. She was great for service a chat and her bubbly personality. Breakfast Buffet was fine if you did not have Lactose and Gluten Free Intolerances. I found that this is an area that needs addressing. Gluten Free bread was available and that was it. A lot more choices need to be made available for persons with dietary issues..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenM255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi HelenM255100,

Thanks for your review. You’ll be interested to know that the new Manta Ray cafe menu caters for Gluten Free diners very well with Pizzas, Pasta and entrees available. Manta Ray Cafe is also pretty reasonably priced and is located in the Marina. Of course, many of our other restaurants also cater to Gluten Free diners. We will also review how we can improve our offerings of our breakfast buffet for dietary intolerances.

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you’ll feel more comfortable in coming back now that you’re aware of the gluten-free changes that we’ve made.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

stayed at Reef View while attending a conference. Room was very spacious and well Maintained. We had a package including breakfast, andvit was. Dry good value.
Guest laundry reasonable price. But limited machines, so didn't get to do my washing.
Activities desk was ok, but on rainy days,offered nothing other than What was on the training script. Board games are pretty common at many resorts these days.
Overall Hamilton Island was overpriced. $6 for a coke is too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMackMooneePonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Two of us on business/conference trip for 4 nights.
Water view room on 11th floor.
The staff are mostly excellent. They go the extra for any request and are efficient and competent as well as very helpful. Unfortunately the excellent staff are let down by the ageing premises and generally tired feeling of the hotel. The 11th floor room had spectacular views and good balcony and furniture to enjoy it. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable but the bathrooms are very much in need of a revamp and a redesign. They are big but the lighting is bad for makeup and hair and there is little ventilation. Generally I went out to functions looking like a clown or a vampire if I used the bathroom lighting. And there is no mirror in the bedroom which is very annoying. The full length mirror is on the toilet door. Not so helpful.
TV is big flat screen on a rotating base and worked well. Chairs are comfortable. Linen is good quality and very crisp and clean.Pillows likewise are very good. The worst problem in the room itself is lighting and location of switches.
Our aircon was ineffective and I mentioned this to concierge. It was fixed within an hour and fixed properly. Any requests were dealt with very quickly by staff.
Breakfast buffet was very good and very pleasant in the terrace restaurant. The evening buffet was also pretty good although as we were there for 4 nights, a change of menu would be good.
The only staff member who shouldn't have a job tried to tell us that the restaurant was fully booked on our last night but we managed to secure a 2 person table with much sighing on her part. The restaurant was half empty the entire time we were there so perhaps she should not be in the maitre d' role. I had encountered her previously and she was equally unhelpful and snippy.
It's a shame because the rest of the staff are so wonderful. especially Robbie and Kristina. And I wish I knew the name of the Islander man who loaded our bags on and off the airport bus. What a treasure and what a smile!
It would be nice if there was a coffee and cake service or some sort of afternoon tea in the restaurant in the afternoon.
The pool is well looked after and very pleasant but the deck chairs around it are desperately in need of having their covers cleaned. They are stained with body oil and food spills, bird droppings.
The lifts are very fast and external to the building so you get a fabulous ride with panoramic views. But when it rains they leak, in fact, everything leaks.
So, the hotel is probably a 3 star but the location gives it the 4 star feel.

Room Tip: water view room on upper floor to take advantage of the views and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbo72046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi jbo72046,

Thank you for such a thorough and detailed review of your 4 day stay at Reef View.
I was very happy to hear of how impressed you were with the staff at Reef View and I will thank Robbie and Kristina personally the next time I see them.
It’s also great to hear that you were happy with your room and especially the views of Catseye Beach from your balcony.
I apologise for the faulty air conditioning system but I’m relieved that it was fixed quickly by one of our maintenance team.
I hope that you will decide to stay with us again if you find yourself on Hamilton Island in future.

Warm Regards

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Opt for a sea view room high up - the view is fantastic, especially at sunrise and sunset. The rooms are spacious and are configured so you can enjoy the view from the comfort of your bed which I loved - it was great to wake up to such an amazing sight!

The beach is across the road (which is also a great spot to watch the sun rise!) and the hotel is close to a buggy rental place, with lots of buggy parking out the front of the hotel (definitely hire a buggy - it's a fun way to get around). Wumurdaylin day spa is close by (I had a massage here which was great) and the centre of town is also nearby (make sure you take time to sit and enjoy some fresh fish and chips on the waterfront). A great base for exploring the island.

I really enjoyed my time on Hamilton Island and I would definitely stay at Reef View again.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room high up - the view is fantastic, especially at sunrise and sunset. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sendmail2linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
587 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamilton Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $266 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing