We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island(Hamilton Island)(Great Value!)
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palm Bungalows(Hamilton Island)(Great Value!)
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Club(Hamilton Island)
$587
$514
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$117
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Islands Inn Motel(Airlie Beach)
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$152
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
$127
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Qualia Resort(Hamilton Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,568)
Filter reviews
2,568 results
Traveler rating
902
1,047
390
134
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
1,047
390
134
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfasttwo double bedscatseye beachpool terracetour deskrooms are largeseparate toilethigh floorkids eat freeswim up barsails restaurantgolf buggyfish and chipsfloor roomone tree hillhigh risebeautiful island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,702 - 1,707 of 2,568 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As i was gazing into the stars on my beautiful balcony i was just thinking, wow how lucky am i to experience such a magical holiday.
The service provided by the concierge team were second to none. In particular Blake. How such a young, handsome man can act with such maturity and professionalism highly impressed us. He's a keeper and a huge plus to your team. The other boys always looked so busy but yet were so lovely and we felt so welcomed and looked after.
Houseman Matt was so cute and had no hesitation in fixing issues regarding our TV, wildlife mess etc.

We will most defiantly be back to your awesome hotel and look forward to seeing Blake ;)

Thankyou Reef View.

Regards,

Dee Mcmaster

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jjjjjggggg11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi Dee Mcmaster,

Thank you for your amusing review of your time at Reef View Hotel.

Blake and Matt were happy to see you mention them in your review and I gave them a pat on the back for providing such great service.

We’re looking forward to having you back for another brilliant holiday on Hamilton Island.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we love stay at reef view hotel, the hotel it self infront of catseye beach beautiful view, for bathroom it's very big and cleans love it, bed it's little to soft for us but ok.. service number one, when we arrive at airport there is a bus who ready for us and we just put our bag and it's goes to hotel, at the hotel no need to worry just go straight to check in counter and the bag will drop at our room. same when we want check out. someone will pick up our bag just leave it in the room. for others it's nothing to be complaint. the price it's quite fair for Hamilton island. The buggy rental near hotel.recommended for family.definitely will back stay at reef view. breakfast is same i think everyday but it's ok so many to choose..:) juts need replacement for the air conditioning.

Room Tip: select ocean view room, it's more worth it. don't talke garden view.. :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Franky Sherly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi Franky Sherly R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Reef View hotel. I’m happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with your choice to stay with us.
My staff and I hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing week at the Reef View hotel for our honeymoon in January 2013.
From start to finish we found the service excellent, friendly and helpful. We were delighted with extra little touches all throughout our stay, congratulating us on our wedding and making our honeymoon even more special.

The hotel looked perhaps a little older than we had anticipated, but was very nice. Our room was wonderful - spacious, airy, private, clean and with spectacular views out across the bright blue Coral Sea - our jaws dropped when we stepped onto the balcony! We were immediately greeted by the locals - the many cockatoos, who made themselves at home on the railing and entertained us with their antics everyday.

The island has so many things on offer, we tried a sunset kayak, hired a dinghy one day to go fishing, and went parasailing (our favourite), and we also took a (pretty tough) bushwalk to Coral Cove, which was totally worth it. We had the beach to ourselves and it was just gorgeous. (n.b. be sure to coincide your walk with high tide - it's impossible to swim at low tide, and after the rigorous bushwalk you really need one when you arrive!).

We were most impressed with the standard of dining throughout the island. Every restaurant we tried was excellent. We have lived in the heart of Sydney and been spoilt with excellent restaurants all around us, and found those on Hamilton Island to be of an exceptional standard. In particular Coca Chu and Bommie's were our favourites. We also loved the lunch trip to the golf course, which included a tour in golf-buggies of the island - heaps of fun. Thank you to the wait-staff and chefs who made all our meals so special with little extra treats as honeymoon congratulations - we were so delighted!

p.s. A friendly tip for fellow travelers - Hamilton Island is a lovely place, though was quite expensive. Be sure to allow for all the little extras in your budget, we blew it a bit with the activities, which were pricier than we'd anticipated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi Frankie S,

Thank you for reviewing Reef View Hotel and congratulations again on your wedding. Many couples choose to stay with us for their honeymoon and we love having them stay.

I’m pleased to see that you were happy with your Coral Sea View room as well as the service you received from us.

I think it’s great that you decided to get off the beaten track with your bushwalk. As you said, there are some great things that you can stumble upon, such as a secluded beach all to yourself.

Just a note on your tip for fellow travellers: prices and detailed information about the 60+ activities and tours available to our guests can be viewed on the official Hamilton Island website. I’d recommend visiting the site in order to plan out which activities you’d like to do and how much should be budgeted. One of my personal recommendations would be to visit nearby Whitehaven Beach. Tripadvisor has just named it the best beach in Australia and the third best beach in the world!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Reef View for your honeymoon and I hope that we will see you again.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Reef View from the 18th to the 25th February and have some real positives and some areas that need attention to.
Lets start with the positives:

Wonderful spacious rooms with tasteful decor- Have stayed in alot of hotels around the world and the rooms are good value, especially when you have a 2 year old to accommodate.

Polite and prompt Reception, Tour, Concierge, The Pool Terrace Restaurant staff.

The general ambiance of the hotel provided a wonderful tropical feel especially displayed in the lobby with handy free wifi.

Now to the negatives & ideas:

When you check in at 12 noon and cannot be accommodated until almost 2pm it may be handy to provide a bottle of water or two.

The cot provided was dirty on the side meshing. There was also stains from past kids messy's around the top padding of the cot. It may be good to look into replacing dirty cots or cleaning the cots on a regular basis.

I noticed that room service meals were left outside hotel room doors for up to a good day- the cockatoos had a real feast on this. Maybe a system whereby room service could check on a daily basis, such as a scan of the floors for left overs.

Now the real let down. The housekeeping - not consistent at all. I had to wait on 2 occassions for my room to be made up. That was between 12 and one day 2pm in the afternoon. Not good when you have a child who wants to rest. What if you kept a note on rooms with children and ask upon check in if families want there rooms made up at a particular time.

Thats all for now.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank orientpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi orientpath,

Thank you for your feedback. My management team and I appreciate all constructive feedback (good and bad) and I’m glad that you shared some of the things that you think we can improve on because we are always interested in how we can make the experience better for our guests.

Firstly, thank you for your positive comments about our large rooms and friendly staff.

Now to address the issues that you raised:

All efforts are made to get guests checked in without delays however as rooms are not guaranteed until 2pm we include comprehensive information on "Things to do if your room isn't ready" on our website and on check-in. If guests are wanting to enjoy activities or refreshments prior to checking, in all of the pools, resort activities and food and beverage outlets are available.

Our standard process is that that all cots are cleaned and sanitised after every guest departure. I’m sorry that your cot was not cleaned properly and I appreciate this feedback. We will follow up to review procedures and performance management plans.

We agree with your comments about the room trays sometimes being left out in the hallways and recognise that this can be an issue. We try to avoid any guest leaving used plates and trays in the corridors of the hotel to avoid attracting our wildlife and insect pests. We actually supply every room service tray with a card asking to contact our reception when finished to arrange an immediate pick up of used room service trays. We are aware of feedback such as yours and we are currently looking at ways to improve this process.

Due to all departure and arrival flights landing between 11am and 1.30pm and our determination to get as many guests straight into rooms on arrival without delays, we deploy our housekeeping resources into preparing rooms for arriving guests as our first priority. Daily service cleaning is generally performed between the hours of 1pm and 4pm. We do have a notice in all guests rooms advising of these times and invite guests to contact reception to arrange personalised daily cleaning times that may better suit your tours, activities, children’s day sleeps etc. I understand that many guests don’t read all of the in-room information so we may consider communicating this in a different way in future.

I hope I’ve addressed your concerns adequately. We’d love to have you stay with us again in the future and see the improvements we’ve made for yourself.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a fantastic 8 night stay in a room on the 4th floor of the Reef View Hotel.

The location is amazing, the easy transfer from airport to hotel is hassle free, and the whole island is just stunning.

The room and bathroom were large and plenty big enough for us and our 3 year old (two double beds in the room but she still slept with us, so we pushed them together and had one giant bed!). The bathroom was a bit dated but the massive bath made up for that. The only downside to the room was nowhere to unpack our clothes (there is a small hanging cupboard above the safe, and more hanging space in the bathroom, but no drawers to unpack your other clothes). I like to unpack whenever I'm in a hotel even if it's just for a weekend, so to be there for 8 nights with our clothes squished into the cupboards of the TV cabinet was a bit awkward.

Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired, they try to come in at 8.30am which is too early for us, and when they did clean our room later in the day once we'd gone to breakfast, they hardly did anything, just change the towels and throw the covers on the bed - there was no vacuuming, wiping down surfaces, cleaning the bathroom, sweeping the balcony..

The included buffet breakfast was sooo good - I love hotel buffet breakfasts and this did not disappoint - pancakes, omelettes, fruit, pastries, toast, bacon & eggs, yoghurt, cereal... you name it, it was there! In fact after breakfast we hardly ate lunch (if we did we all shared something small), so breakfast meant we saved a lot on lunch costs. The restaurants are very expensive, but the kids eat free program meant our daughter ate free every night that we ate in one of the participating restaurants. A few nights we had fish & chips from the takeaway at the Marina and sat overlooking the boats, and a few nights we shared a meal at the Marina Tavern. This helped with dinner costs, because I would not be willing to pay the restaurant prices every night - the food is nice but not what you would expect for the prices they charge.

We hired a buggy for 24 hrs for $85 which was a great way to see the entire island, and a lot of fun. I'm really glad we did this and didn't just walk from the Hotel to the Marina and back all the time - seeing the rest of the island was fantastic.

Our daughter went to kids club most afternoons for a few hours which she loved (so did we!), the staff there are great and made sure she had a lot of fun - I'd recommend the Kids Club to anyone travelling as a family to have a bit of time out, and it's great for the kids too.

Mini golf, aqua aerobics in the pool, the gym, cocktails at the pool bar in the lagoon pool, watching the sunset from One Tree Hill, kayaking, drinks on the deck at the Yacht Club ... just a tiny snippet of what we did in our 8 night stay - this place has something for everyone and I would recommend it to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Book a Garden View room, but ask for a room on the 4th floor - our room still had beautiful filtered ocean views through the palm trees
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna_h_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi anna_h_sydney,

Let me thank you for taking the time to write such a long and detailed review of your family trip to Hamilton island. I’m pleased to see that you and your family had a lot of fun here and that you were satisfied with your stay at Reef View.

I’m sorry that your room wasn’t serviced properly. Your description doesn’t meet our standards and I’ll be asking my housekeeping manager to look into what happened.

One of the benefits of staying four nights or more and booking with us directly is that daily breakfast is included. And as you say, you can easily stock up on fuel at breakfast for the day and not have to buy food again until dinner, which really helps with costs. And also, all kids under 12 are able to eat for free at many places around the island so this helps to make the trip more affordable for families.

It sounds like you made the most of your time on Hamilton Island and I’m pleased that you chose to stay at Reef View during your time here. Please feel free to bring your family back anytime.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews