We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and friendly staff”
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Upon arrival the staff were friendly and informative. Our room was located on the sixth floor; where the ocean view was good enough to take my breath away. The room was clean, but the carpet somehow felt a little damp when we first got there. Beach towels were provided, which is a plus! The bathroom was spacious and tidy. The breakfast buffet is a must try! The location of the hotel is excellent. It is a short work to the beach, and quite close to the golf buggy hire place. There's also free buses so don't stress if you don't feel like walking. The exterior of the hotel needs could use some upgrading, but it's not a big hassel when everything else is good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4889LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,668 - 1,674 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The setting and views from this hotel are excellent. (Our room was on the 9th floor with a fantastic view of the beach.) The room itself was fairly big and well set out affording the luxury of two double beds, a seating area and private balcony. The bathroom was also a good size.
(It was evident that decorators were at work around the hotel as there was a very slight smell of fresh paint on our arrival. This quickly dispersed and although there was slight noise, it was fairly minimal.)
Generally the food and service were very good. One area that requires improvement, is the checking in procedure. Guests are collected from the Airport and transported to the hotel in the courtesy buses and then required to queue at the Reception desk . Whilst I accept that there may be a little delay to process quite a number of people, I found this to be a poor introduction for our long awaited trip from the UK, to this 'private island' and needs to be addressed.
The courtesy buses around the island were excellent and driven by friendly, imformative staff.
The use of golf buggies as a means of transport is an excellent idea.
The available restaurants/shops etc around the island provided good service and food at the Marina Tavern and Popeye's Fish and Chips worthy of mention.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blue2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi Blue2267,

Thanks for staying with us during your time on Hamilton Island and thanks also for your feedback regarding the check in process.

As you can imagine, coordinating pick-ups and drop-offs from our hotel to the airport and vice versa is very dependant on flight schedules and a slightly delayed flight from Sydney can sometimes throw out our schedule. We have processes in place to minimise the amount of time it takes for guests to transfer from the airport to the Reef View but unfortunately sometimes short delays can’t be avoided. Luckily, the wait time is usually very short for most guests. This is something that we’ve spent a lot of time considering and we feel that the current processes we have are the best option. That being said, we’re always looking at how we can do things better and I will definitely take your feedback on board.

I’m happy to hear that besides the slight hiccup at the start of your stay, you had a great time with us on Hamilton Island. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a five night stay on Hamilton at the Reef Hotel. I would recommend this to everyone. Our luggage and ourselves were transferred from the airport to the hotel and luggage put into our room. The room was large with two queen size beds, lounge area and great bathroom with seperate bath and shower. We had only booked a garden room but were put on the fourth floor and had beautiful ocean views. The deal included breakfast and it was delicious. Everything you could imagine to eat. This hotel has a bit of age but hey people chill out - you are having a break. The island was good fun and we hired a buggy for a day to get around and have a look. There are plenty of places to eat at the Marina and the ice-cream parlour was to die for. The buses on Hamilton are all free and very regular and get you where you want to be in a short time. So book a rtip and enjoy. We did.

Room Tip: If you want to pay extra get an ocean view room but really you only sleep in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moyra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Moyra E,

I was really pleased to read your review of your stay with us and your time on Hamilton Island. It sounds like you had a really great holiday and I’m glad to hear that you were very happy with your room and Reef View Hotel in general.
As you mention, if you don’t feel like walking or driving a golf buggy around, there are regular free shuttle buses that travel on different routes around the island. Our new Iphone app even has a real-time bus schedule that tells you how long until the next bus arrives to avoid waiting around at bus stops for too long.

I hope to see you back here soon.



Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews about the hotel I was a little concerned however from the first moment we arrived that opinion changed. The staff are very attentive and always smiling so it makes you feel good to be around them, the lunch we had at pool terrace was very nice, they even cater for gluten intolerant people by providing gluten free bread which was great. The view is truly amazing and even though it rained every day almost it was such a beautiful sight to wake up to looking over the reef. Breakfast did have a good variety although 2 days they only had pork sausages which made it hard for my partner as he can't eat pork. The facilities are great and it is lovely having the cockies land on your balcony each morning. Overall I rated this a 5 because I had no issues at all during my stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi Sherelle88,

Thanks for taking time out of your day to share your experience of your stay with us. We are always focussing on different areas to improve and service has been one of the areas that we've been working on recently so it's great to hear that our guests are noticing that.

Whenever you feel like having another great holiday, you're more than welcome to come back!

Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in top floor apartment. We had the main bedroom upstairs and a fold out sofa in the lounge room. Everything was clean, tidy. The only criticism is the rooms and bathrooms are starting to look slightly dated. However, obviously this isnt necessary.
Towels provided at pool, buffet breakfast AMAZING, staff friendly.

Room Tip: Top floors = amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

- you like damp rooms
- bad cleaning, includes basically towel change and bedding
- tourist machine
- half drunk people + colored drinks in the pool (includes floating plastic glasses and straws)
- unengaged service
- overpricing of everything from the food to activities (why would you even want to charge money for e.g a spin class, when you already have people on duty in the gym?)
- a kids club that cost money and quite a lot
- warn down rooms (at the Reef View)
- [--] and warn down gym
- adult kindergarten - everything is based on lowest nomination e.g you can hardly swim, don't know normal descent behavior etc. - but i guess point 4 explains some of it.
- sail 2 hours to see TGBR with 220 fellow travelers (under strict supervision + patronizing guidance)

if you want to experience above, then by all means this is the right place to come. If however you wanna experience the beauty of TGBR, then chose somewhere else.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank GrandDanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We travelled with another couple to this place. Billed as first class. Far from it. You have to wait 30 minutes in their lobby to get checked in - temp was over 100 degrees and no ac nor even a glass of water. Our room has fungus growing on the chair - from the humidity. The palm terrace restaurant has the worst service. And a terrible manager - Kate Powell. Rude. Prententious.

The Oatley family have out all their money in sister hotel. This one - reef - has been left in the dust. Even the elevators were not working. Our friends had a room on the 19 th floor. They had to walk down a few times. Avoid this place until they get new mgmt and spend some money.

Room Tip: Stay away until they spend money on the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi Ben E,

I’m sorry that you didn’t have a great time during your stay with us.

Reef View hotel is a four star rated property and while we have some luxurious features, we are not a luxury hotel. The resort that you mention in your review, qualia, is an amazing property and visitors looking for a luxury holiday would likely choose to stay at qualia rather than Reef View. However, a room at qualia is also 3-4 times more expensive than one of our rooms.

I spoke with Kate regarding the incident that you were upset about and she explained to me that the waiter forgot to split your dinner bill, as you'd requested on arrival. She also explained to me that she and the waiter both apologised and addressed the issue quickly.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time on Hamilton Island. I hope that you decide to stay with us again if you are ever on Hamilton Island but if you are specifically looking for a luxury resort, you won’t be disappointed with either Beach Club Hotel or qualia.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
594 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamilton Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $264 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing