We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Hamilton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef View Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hamilton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We travelled to Hamilton Island in September and what a beautiful part of the world it is. On entering our room on the 10th floor my jaw dropped at the fantastic view we had from our coral sea view room, it was better than the pictures in the pamphlet. The room was a perfect size with room to move and everything we needed including a balcony. The staff were accommodating with our needs, and all very friendly considering how busy they were. The only negative thing I could say about the hotel is that for breakfast the only option was to have the full continental breakfast for $26. I can only ever fit in 2 pieces of toast or some cereal, so we had to walk to the marina just to get some toast. It would have been nice if they could accommodate this for small eaters. Otherwise we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a Coral Sea View Room, 10th floor and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_tarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi s_tarrant,

I was pleased to read your review today and get a sense of what a great time you had on Hamilton Island.

I’m glad that you your coral sea view room was exactly as you wished and thanks for your compliments.

Thank you also for the feedback regarding the breakfast at Reef View Hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast at Reef View Hotel is a the most extensive buffet breakfast on Hamilton Island and many guests are able to fill themselves up for the whole day. We have looked at offering different options for breakfast and we will continue to look at this possibility but we don’t have plans to change our breakfast at this stage. However, as you mentioned, there are other breakfast options only a few minutes walk from Reef View Hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    917
    319
    105
    71
See reviews for
559
1,028
45
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our Presidential Suite Experience and our Hamilton Island Journey. We arrived on the Island on Saturday. As we stepped off the plane, we were welcomed by Alesha with a warm and inviting smile and immediately we were on a buggy with a guided tour to our Hotel. With 3 very excited children and 3 also equally excited adults, we checked into the hotel and headed to our Suite. For all those wondering - there was no wait time to check-in.
We were made to feel like anything and everything we wanted to do on our holiday was possible.
The Suite is incredible with so many things to do, it really gives you the perfect home away from home. The private pool, lounge deck and BBQ Area, allows the adults the perfect place for a little down time, while the kids swim and play. The views are spectacular from the hotel and each morning you wake up to to views of crystal clear water and the feeling of complete island life. Although our holiday has not ended, I wanted to write quick note to let people know how incredible the Reef View Hotel is. I have no idea what others are talking about.!
For a person like myself who is very fussy when it comes to hotel rooms, bedding and service, we have only experienced excellent service and assistance the entire time.
For those who are traveling to Hamilton for the first time or returning after several years, please make sure to read your Island Activty Guide. There is so much on offer each day for adults and children. Who would have thought I would find a buggy rally on my to do list! After working for Disney for many years and staying in more hotels than in can count, when you are looking for a luxury holiday experience, the Presidential Suite at the Reef View is a great blend of luxury and family life. This suite provides everything you could want or need and more. The staff have been amazing and we thank Alesha so much for everything she has organized on our holiday so far. We still have a few days left on the Island and a very busy day of activities await us. For those planning a holiday stay at the reef view please don't stress, your experience will incredible. I will write a more detail review when I return home and get back into my non-island life and will include pics our our Suite on the 19th floor and the views. Thanks to the Reef View Hotel for making our holiday journey a time to remember. More of the island to explore and my buggy awaits....it will be sad to leave and we wish our holiday time could be longer. But we will return soon.

Room Tip: If you have the chance try to book a suit at the hotel. The rooms are incredible and views from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizneymumTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Jeniene M,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying in the Presidential Suite at Reef View Hotel. It was a very interesting review to read because not many guests stay in a presidential suite.

I’m delighted to hear that your stay was perfect and you were very happy with the service that you received.

You recommend that visitors read the Island activity guide but I’d go a step further and recommend that guests download our Iphone app before they arrive on Hamilton Island. They will be able to see all of the things to do on Hamilton Island and will be able to easily plan out their days on island with the app.

Alycia has read your review and she wanted me to pass on her thanks to you for your compliments about her service.

Again, I’m so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I can’t wait for you to return for another Hamilton Island holiday!


Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with amazing views and amenities. The rooms are so spacious and I just loved the glass sliding doors that opened up onto the big balcony overlooking the water. Such a beautiful place with really friendly staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This This is a strange arrangement. Essentially everything on the island is under one ownership so the proprietors are able to engage in a little profiteering.

The hotel itself is an architectural peculiarity. Built in 1990 and refurbished in 2008 it is an 18 story high blot on the landscape of this beautiful island. It looks completely out of place and would probably not be tolerated under modern environmental considerations. The public areas put one in mind of the sort of architecture which influenced those Spanish hotels we all used to visit in the 1980s. This particular hotel boasts the feature of having the tallest external observation live system in any hotel in the world!

The rooms are large (big enough to take to king-size beds), clean with very nice bathrooms, and all rooms seem to enjoy a sea view, best enjoyed from the floor above the tree level. Take a trip to the 18th floor and enjoy the view from there.

The poolside restaurant in the hotel serves buffet style meals from breakfast lunch and dinner and opens out direct to the 30 metre pool. It resembles a canteen. The food is good enough, however, without being anything special.

This pool has limited space surrounding it and it is largely shady but there is a large free-form pool in another part of the complex about 250 metres away from the hotel. It has a nice swim up bar situated on an island which separates the pool into two parts. It has to be said that the resort is popular with families and they tend to frequent the shallow end of the pool beyond the pool bar island leaving the larger end of the pool largely childfree. The pool is reasonably well kept and has a large terrace area with ample room for sunbeds. The provision of sunbeds without mattresses was something of a disappointment.

This pool area provides direct access onto a very pleasant beach in an attractive bay where there is a wide range of watersports available. The swimming is reasonable although when we were there (five nights from 13 November 2012) there had been high winds and a considerable amount of seaweed had been deposited on the shoreline. Some attempts were made whilst we were there to clean this up

The standards of service in the hotel were variable – I had to ask three times for my laundry to be collected.

Overall I would assess the hotel are deserving its four-star rating. One thing annoyed however. Whilst we were there there was a conference in progress which meant that for two days one of the on-site restaurants was not available for lunch and the other not available for dinner. This might inconvenience guests reliant on the on-site facilities and we know from conversations with some families that they found it unduly limiting. We found ourselves unable to use a particular bar at certain times and I think the appropriation of major elements of hotel facilities for a conference is something of an insult to normal paying guests.

As the hotel has to be seen in the context of the selection of bars restaurants and shops (nearby and across at the marina) of which it forms part, it is appropriate to say a few words about these ancillary facilities. The shops and cafes are quite good. We were content to have a sandwich from the deli at lunchtime, and for dinner we generally avoided those restaurants offering a "kids eat free" facility, although these looked entirely satisfactory.

The fine dining facilities are all situated on the opposite side of the island at the marina and a shuttle bus runs from the hotel every 15 minutes and takes only five minutes to get there. Alternatively golf buggies are available for hire, although we did not feel the need ourselves.

The fine dining restaurants were of high quality in terms of service food and presentation. The menus are quite limited by European standards but that seems to be fairly common in Australia in our experience. The food was generally excellent. The yacht club restaurant, "Bommies", was outstanding. A pleasure in itself to visit an architecturally exciting building with a very well furnished restaurant and the food and wine were of the most excellent quality.

Room Tip: Get one above the tree line
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainchaosandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Left Sydney on Thursday morning, was checked in at the Reef View and in our room by lunchtime, loving the view of the turquoise water and leafy surrounds and ready to try one of the many restaurants on the island for a relaxing lunch. The hotel looks dated from the outside and lobby area however the room was spacious, modern, clean and very comfortable. The beds were especially good, and the bathroom was large and had a separate shower. Staff were very efficient and friendly on the island. Prices seemed high but I guess you expect that in a remote location. There's lots to do on Hamilton, liked the large pool and the free non-motorised watersports - gave kyaking and sailing a try on the last day. Our favourite restaurant was Co Ca Chu for dinner, very yummy asian food, but in demand so do book ahead. The island wasn't over-run by families but was busy (seemed to be 2 weddings per day) and this wasn't even peak season. Really enjoyed the break and getting out of the city for 5 days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi CiaraB,

Thanks for reviewing us and it's great to hear that your stay on Hamilton Island was relaxing and fun.

I'm glad you like the Island's new Asian restaurant, Coca Chu. And yes, I'd definitely book ahead this time of year because it's been very popular.

Whenever you are feeling like another relaxing break from Sydney, you are always welcome at the Reef View Hotel!

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a large resort hotel but the rooms are spacious and the staff helpful. The buffet breakfast by the sea at Sails is very picture post card and the lamingtons are a delightful indulgence. While there was some noise from the bar each night, things were closed and quiet by 11:30 pm.

Room Tip: higher up means less noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi CynthiaCanberra,

Thank you for your review of Reef View Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us on Hamilton Island and I hope that you're able to come back soon.

Kind Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great sized rooms, with a brilliant view - close to everything. Slightly overpriced food, but accomodation and drinks were about where you'd expect them to be.You can eat and drink at the majority of bars and restaurants and charge it back to your room, not just within the hotel itself

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the second floor as there ispalm trees blocking some views on floors 1 and 2
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Reef View Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Colin S,

Thanks for your review of Reef View Hotel. It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, a great feature of staying at Reef View Hotel is that you can charge meals at restaurants outside of the hotel back to your room. This means that guests don't need to carry all of their money around with them or keep going back to the hotel to get more money. Little things like this help to make holidays a bit easier for our guests.

I hope that you're able to come back and stay with us again sometime in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Matt Boileau
General Manager
Reef View Hotel & Palm Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef View Hotel

Property: Reef View Hotel
Address: 12 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef View Hotel features 364 extremely spacious, well-appointed rooms all with private balconies overlooking either landscaped gardens or the breathtaking vista of the Coral Sea. The upper-most floors boast 18 luxuriously appointed suites. All rooms face the sea complete with outdoor furniture to experience the spectacular sunrises and sunsets. Additional Reef View Hotel facilities include the Pool Terrace restaurant, Reef Lounge bar and Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Reef View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reef View
Reef View Hamilton Island
Reef View Hotel Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing