We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations not met”
Review of Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expectations not met”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We recently stayed at the Beach club-the final part of our holiday to Australia.We arrived on Hamilton Island where we were warmly welcomed and whisked away on a buggy to the hotel. It was lovely not to worry about our suitcases which were duly collected by a member of staff.Check in was smooth and swift and despite arriving at 10am, our room was ready.
We were on the first floor and had a lovely view of Catseye beach and the islands. The furniture in the rooms is quite dated but they were comfortable and clean. My only concern was at night -the upstairs walkway was very poorly lit and it was very difficult to see where you were going.
The hotel is only small and at breakfast the following morning when I ordered a second cup of tea I was asked to move into the lounge area as people were waiting for a table. I hadn't finished my breakfast !and felt under pressure to move. This however did not happen again.Service at breakfast was ok but nearly every day my cereal bowl or fruit plate was not cleared away before my main breakfast. Staff were standing around chatting to each other and they weren't busy.
Whilst relaxing by the lovely pool we were offered a glass of iced water. We were also offered a sliced strawberry or minute melon ball!
The reception staff were very helpful and beach club guests are offered complimentary buggy transport around the island.
We did not eat in the hotel. We chose to eat at Mariners in the marina which I would highly recommend.
The Beach club was fine and we enjoyed our stay but compared to the 5 star hotels we have stayed in in other countries such as Dubai, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand the standard of service did not live up to our expectations.
The hotel is very peaceful and the beach front setting is lovely and in our opinion that is what you pay for.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — DATED FURNITURE
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    174
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
883
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed 4 days in Beach Club Resort.
Staff was extremely helpful and well trained. Service was good.
The trouble is that the Hamilton Island is owned by one entity,one family business .Hence,no competition.
Food on the entire Island is expensive and bad.
The whole feeling was Orvelian.1984..Big brother wathching...
In general..rip off. Will not come back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Volorand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

For a romantic end to our trip in Australia my wife & I spent 4 nights in the best accomodation we could afford in Hamilton. Being both positive and picky, the following is a summary of what we found:-
*We were delighted to have been given a nicely styled, good sized - first floor room and the luggage appeared immediately after a welcome introduction and courtesy cocktail. A couple of very minor repairs were required, such as the shutters but it is understood that some work is planned during the current (2008)winter season. The beach was a stones throw away but unfortunatley from this room at the end of the block, it was obscured by palm trees for a large part. The Bougainvillea bar almost next door may have been a problem had the resort been full, but for our stay only once did any noise intrude on the peace and quiet. The shower was excellent, plenty of powerful hot water. For another visit though I'd see if any of rooms 206, 207 and 208 were available, for the best view, yet still away from the bar next door.!
*Being picky the beach was partly man made and rough concrete at one end was a disappointment to the eye.
*The staff in the hotel were all very professional, friendly and couldn't do enough for their guests. Only one senior lady appeared particularly insincere though and also uninformed about the area. This may have been because several of the staff were lovely in comparison and well informed too.
*Breakfast and the one meal we ate at the hotel were really very, very good so hats - off to the chef that week and thanks very much! We were also fortunate to eat breakfast outside near the great pool each day and for that we were grateful. One fly in the oinment for a venue charging upmarket prices though...............when outside a guest cannot see whether the hotel needs a table for later arrivals to breakfast. On three occassions we had to wait ages and ages for a second coffee. on the last day a coffee arrived but with the question as to whether we could move inside to the lounge. Not a problem, but we'd rather have known earlier that week and drunk that second coffee with breakfast rather than near lunch time each morning!! {We assume that staff levels were adequate during the quiet - end to the season and that it was thought we'd move without more caffeen?}
*The hotel staff drove us willingly to anywhere we wanted and booked tables at both the Mariners and Romanos restaurants. Both were good but the Mariners served the best seafood we ate throughout the whole trip to Australia.
*On the Island H2O Sportz took the pair of us on our first dives - ever and their team were great fun and very kind too.
*All in all a great stay but for that high quality beach experience we'd probably look elsewhere for the money........although we'd also want to take some of the nice staff from the Beach Club with us!

  • Liked — Room size and style, 99% of the staff and the great chef that week.
  • Disliked — One member of staff only, perhaps an off day or so?
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Integritylevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2008

This is not 5 star and not even close to 4 star. Bathroom stuck in a time warp - room a little better. Only thing 5 star about this place is what they charge. Restaurant is good 4 star rating. No facilities on property - you have to go to other resorts for a spa or sauna. Staff very pleasant. We were meant to have complimetary sparkling on arrival - after two requests got a bottle that I would not even use as cooking wine. Had diner cruise I package - but the boat was under repairs.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lirosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2008

My husband and I loved the Beach Club. The location and atmosphere is so relaxing, the hotel itself is beautiful and the staff are so friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ellie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Beach Club and were quite pleased with both the hotel and Hamilton Island as a whole. We had heard that Hamilton Island was "overwhelmed by tourists" and maybe we went at the right time of the year because we didn't ever feel we should've gone elsewhere. Pleasantly surprised to be honest.

Regarding Beach Club, the food was absolutely exceptional (try their salt & pepper squid risotto!) and the service was fantastic. The staff were amazing, friendly, helpful, happy. I think that in comparison to other 5 star hotels I've been to, the rooms are below 5 star standard but having said that, when you are surrounded by wonderful staff, it's not an issue.

Staff can prepare drinks for you poolside or along the beach which made it all the more relaxing. The beach right in front of the hotel is considered "private" and i did witness two people being asked to sun bake elsewhere when they settled their towels on the beach in front of the Resort.

Regarding activities, we didn't get to do any of what we'd planned (mainly snorkelling) due to the weather but there is a large range of activities on offer throughout the island. I'd advise to book ahead as tried to organise massages and they'd were booked out the 3 days we were there.
When it comes to booking activities, restaurants, etc., the staff once again were exceptional. You basically tell them what you want to do and they organise everything for you. They spent the 3 days trying to book us a massage and kept us in the loop the whole time regarding what was happening.

Last but not least, no need to hire a $45 p/hour buggy as they have a 24 hour buggy service and they drive you anywhere you like. Admittedly my husband wished he'd had a drive of one...

Overall, a great experience!

  • Liked — Food & Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank exUru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We spent 4 days at the Beach Club and it was wonderful the service was outstanding and the food quality was terrific. The personal service is what sold us..the bartender Vald was a special treat to get to know. The room was not the most luxurious but definitely was good enough - besides you don't spend that much time in the room..the beach is right outside your sliding door. I would recommend the Beach Club to anyone visiting Hamilton Island...we have travled extensively throughout the world and if you are looking for personal service and great location for a realxing vacation then I would recommend it..I hear Qualia is great we did visit their spa and its wonderful but for how much they charge for a nights stay not sure it would be worth it.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Guamtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
544 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Property: Beach Club
Address: 9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its absolute beachfront location, the Beach Club offers the ultimate romantic island holiday experience. Set in landscaped gardens, all 57 rooms face directly onto Catseye Beach, each with its own private courtyard or balcony. Exclusive room inclusions / a la carte breakfast daily at the Beach Club restaurant / VIP return Hamilton Island airport / marina to Beach Club transfers / VIP chauffeur service / use of catamarans, paddle skis, windsurfers and snorkeling equipment / use of the gym, spa and sauna / tennis and squash court hire / use of the beach, The Club lounge, pool and restaurant. Note: Beach Club does not cater for persons under the age of 18 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Resort Hamilton Island
Beach Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing