We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamilton Island is a haven of tranquility and comfort.”
Review of Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled to Hamilton Island, off the northern coast of Queensland from Brisbane. The island has an airport which makes it very convenient. We were met at the airport and our luggage was collected and then put in our room. We had a beautiful room overlooking Catseye bay. The Beach Club is beautifully positioned right in the middle of the beach. We took walks, went on hikes, read the papers, enjoyed lovely breakfasts and swam in the pool and the sea. The staff are young and lovely and always ready to help. Getting around is very easy as the island is quite small. We walked but you can take golf buggies all over the island. We ate at several of the restaurants on the island and the food and the service throughout was excellent.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are preferable as they are more private. Those on the ground floor have a commun...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear marinam02,

Thank you for your lovely review, and I'm pleased that your stay with us was so relaxing.

You really seemed to have taken full advantage of what the island has to offer and it's great to see you did some of the bush walks. We have a number of secluded beaches that are accessible via the bush walking tracks, and these are the perfect spots for a rewarding picnic lunch.

We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

The service at this hotel was amazing. We were greeted at the airport by a Beach Club staff member who took us to the hotel while another staff member collected our bags. We didn't have to queue up at reception instead we were taken into the lounge and she ran through some details of the hotel and the island. When we checked into our room our bags were waiting for us. The pool was great and there was always spare lounges. We went at a slightly quieter time of year so it wasn't over run with people. We unfortunately had terrible weather but nothing can be done about that, I would suggest May might not be a good time of year to go although we were told otherwise. The rooms were really spacious and tidy, the bathroom had a great shower and bath tub. The breakfast was great, not a traditional large buffet style, instead you ordered your hot food from a menu so you knew it hadn't been sitting out for hours! We also had dinner at Beach Club a couple of times a it was excellent. The island itself isn't cheap but we knew that before we went, with all our meals and activities we budgeted about $200 a day and that was pretty much spot on. Highly recommend this hotel for its great location, genuinely friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA_Dreaming14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear USA_Dreaming14,

Thank you for the great review.

I also love our breakfast here at Beach Club and it’s part of my job to taste them often, we all have our crosses to bear!

The pool is a popular area to relax, even now as we approach our ‘cold’ part of the year. Temperatures are still very moderate, sun is out (most of the time!) and the pool heater is on so it is a perfect spot to forget the world’s pressures while soaking up the view.

'Til next time.

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the moment we were met off the ferry, we experienced great service from all staff.
Check in wasn't done at the front deck, but in the relaxed area of the lounging area, and we were offered a lovely tropical drink and amuse bouche, which was lovely.
We had a room on the first floor, overlooking the beach, and the room was comfortable, and all that was needed,
The bathroom was large, with a big tub and a fantastic, powerful shower.
Breakfasts were amazing and generous, a great start to the day.
We would recommend having an evening meal here too. It's not cheap, but you pay for what you get, and we had one of the best meals we've ever eaten here.
The only reason I'm not giving this as a score of excellent overall, is because we have stayed at what we consider nicer hotels in Thailand for less, but acknowledge that Hamilton Island isn't cheap, so might be hard to compare.
It's a shame we had poor weather, but this was out of anyones control.
Staff were great - friendly and professional and loved there were no kids.
Highly recommended for a peaceful, relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suska T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Suska T,

Thank you for your review and I'm glad to see the great service started right away. At the Beach Club we aim to have your feet up and relaxing as soon as you arrive.

Our restaurant is a lovely peaceful setting, and our chefs work hard to send out top-notch food. When the weather is right we set tables around the pool for an amazing experience under the stars, which I hope we can show you when you next visit.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Beach Club, absolute beachfront, but not your icon aussi beach and very tidal
Rooms are ok, without a microwave, so eat out for all meals
Breakfast is excellent, as are the staff.
This island is expensive - restaurants and activities, and small - half hour on bus,
So after 2 days of disappointing weather, we had cabin fevour and were desperate to leave
I won't be back.
Denerau Island Fiji is a much better option and half the price

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Grant J,

Thank you for taking the time to review Beach Club. Sorry to see the weather also caused you to have ‘cabin fever’. The island has over 60 activities to choose from so there should always be something to do even when the weather turns bad and failing that come make some cocktails with our barman!

Yes Fiji is cheaper, we cannot compete on a direct price comparison but on many levels I believe we offer more and all being a very short trip away. In the words of a recent guest ‘The easy transition from airport to room is unparalleled anywhere and is a big reason why we will return with friends to play golf later this year’.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fabulous place for a weekend. Excellent room although rather expensive for dated accommodation. Food is excellent. After 3 days we suffered from "cabin fever"! The weather was not great and there want much to do apart from read and watch TV! Too windy and wet for sailing, jet skiing or quad biking! Great pool. very expensive for kiwis at around $700 a night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Adrienne90

Sorry to see the weather had such an impact on your stay. The winds where quite heavy and this can sometimes stop tours operating.

The catamarans are up and about again, jet-ski’s are buzzing around, make sure you return and give us another try and I am sure the weather will put on a better show for you.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We cannot recommend this place highly enough! Our holiday in Hamilton was to mark my 40th birthday and I could not have had a better experience.From the moment we arrived through to our (very reluctant) departure, we were treated to excellent service, beautiful food and wonderful accommodation. We considered booking another hotel that was slightly cheaper but on reflection are so glad we chose the Beach Club. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and the fact that there are no children at the resort makes it a very sedate, peaceful ambience. We truly didn't want to leave.

The rooms are full of character and totally appropriate for a relaxed beach holiday - yes, some furniture is not brand new as indicated in other reviews but don't be deterred. It's totally in keeping with the "feel" of the place. They are well appointed and extremely comfortable with wonderful ocean views. It felt like a high-end resort, but without the stuffiness that you would find in similarly priced places - just perfect.

While we were there the management held a drinks and nibbles evening for guests, and a lady from the local wildlife park brought a black headed python who was very much a celebrity at the event! This was a really nice thing to do as it enabled us to chat to other guests and relax in the lounge.

The staff will take you anywhere in the Beach Club cars, on the last day I was not feeling well and someone took me straight to the pharmacy and back - no problem at all. Breakfast is great too - in fact, the only thing we'd say needed working on was the hollandaise sauce for eggs benedict (a little too vinegar-y!), and if that's the only thing to improve, then rest assured you're in for a fantastic holiday.

Thank you, Beach Club - we'll see you again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityBreakers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear CityBreakers_12

Thank you for a fantastic review, what a pleasure to read.

I do agree that our rooms fit the surrounds very well. They are not brand-new but are well maintained and do lend themselves well to the ‘beachy’ relaxed atmosphere of Beach Club.

We hope to see you back next year for the 41st birthday celebrations.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manger
Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights during April for our 30th wedding Anniversary. We have stayed previously on Hamilton Island but this was the first time at the Beach club. The most noticeable feature is the lovely lack of children. For people who are wishing for a quiet peaceful lazy time around the swimming pool, the Beach club is fantastic. It is so relaxing. The resort over all is a little dated and the accommodation prices are rather expensive. However this is the same comment for the entire island. The service and the staff at the Beach club are very very good and they are very helpful and accommodating to any guests requests. Overall, the Beach club is excellent, and I will certainly return in the future for a relaxing peaceful time with no kids.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room but not above the pool and restaurant if you want some quiet. Recommend room...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dippertydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton_Island_Aus, General Manager at Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Dippertydog

Congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us.

We do work hard on giving top service to our guests, and our child-free environment only adds to the relaxation.

Regards,

Marcus Taylor
General Manager
Beach Club Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,394 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Address: 9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range: $529 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its absolute beachfront location, the Beach Club offers the ultimate romantic island holiday experience. Set in landscaped gardens, all 57 rooms face directly onto Catseye Beach, each with its own private courtyard or balcony. Exclusive room inclusions / a la carte breakfast daily at the Beach Club restaurant / VIP return Hamilton Island airport / marina to Beach Club transfers / VIP chauffeur service / use of catamarans, paddle skis, windsurfers and snorkeling equipment / use of the gym, spa and sauna / tennis and squash court hire / use of the beach, The Club lounge, pool and restaurant. Note: Beach Club does not cater for persons under the age of 18 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Resort Hamilton Island
Beach Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing