We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but not 5 star standard”
Review of Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but not 5 star standard”
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel at the beginning of Dec. We didnt find this hotel to be of 5 star standard as they advertise. While I realise the ambiance is supposed to be of a relaxing beach club, the interiors are not very modern or fresh looking.

The staff are all very young and while some made a big effort in service, others didnt seem to be able or want to offer any standard of service.

Breakfast was really nice and had a great choice of food. Dinner menu was good but quite pricey as were the drinks.

The rooms are nice enough and comfortable but nothing special and the pool area was nice. However sunbeds were scarce and the 10 sunbeds on the beach especially for Beach Club guests were obviously not sufficient to cater for all the rooms at the hotel. We were not able to get a bed around the pool or on the beach the whole time we were there.

While we were a bit disappointed with the hotel itself, Hamilton Island is beautiful and we had great fun there. There is plenty to do and restaurants are really nice although you do have to make a reservation for most of them.

Overall, didnt think the Beach Club was value for money but I dont think there is a lot of choice of 5 star hotels on the island.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Standard
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ciarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    174
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
883
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We spent four nights at The Beach Club at the end of our Tour of Australia. We can't fault it. The Beach Club is wonderful. We thought our room was very comfortable and clean with beautiful views. The location is superb - right on the beach with what must be the nicest pool in the world!! The staff were all fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious if a little pricey - but well worth it and once again the staff were extremely attentive and very friendly. Breakfast is also very good.
We enjoyed Hamilton Island very much - quite busy but not overbearing - very relaxed.
Two "must dos" are the Fantasea Reef Cruise with snorkelling or diving - the crew were fantastic and the trip extremely well organised. Barrier Reef was magnificent. Also a must is the seaplane over the Whitsundays and Reef to Whitehaven Beach - absolutely breathtaking and truly romantic.
We would do the whole trip again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — having to leave but nothing else!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thejollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Having just stayed at Hayman Island for 3 nights, coming to this was an incredible disappointment. Considering the price for accommodatioins is almost the same per night as Hayman, all I can say why waste your money and stay here.

Rooms are all the same size, decor etc. Bathrooms are average, nothing special about it at all. Agree with a previous person about the bed, very average indeed.

Pool is a laugh, only big enough to fit half the people staying there and nowhere near enough deck chairs.

Breakfast was the only good thing, it was really quite nice but other than that, wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Breakfast was nice
  • Disliked — Everything else was just average, and not value for money.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ci1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed at the Beach Club for 5 nights for our honeymoon. The staff were fantastic, they were very attentive and willing to help. The transfer service around the island was excellent and very convenient. The breakfast was definitely the best feature of the Beach Club!

We did find that the room was a little dark and not really of 5 star quality. The bed (especially the pillows) was not particularly comfortable. The chairs around the pool go very early in the day to people who reserve them with towels and bags, we felt that was a little unfair as one particular guest reserved four chairs for herself everyday (two on the beach and two beside the pool for her and her ever elusive husband). The in room dining selection was also very limited.

We found it difficult to find places to eat for lunch everyday. We did not always feel like going down to the Marina twice a day to eat, but there are very poor choices for lunch on the Beach Club side of the Island.

The Beach House was very disappointing. The service was fantastic, but the food was very average and overpriced. We would not go back. Ever.

The Banjo Patterson day sail was very enjoyable and we would highly recommend it.

We enjoyed our stay at the Beach Club and would recommend Hamilton Island as a great honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank honeymooners55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed for four nights. The service was excellent, staff was ready to transfer you to the Marina area at a moment's notice. The rooms were great with a nice big tub for 2. Morning breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

I would rate the Beach Club Resort as a 4 star property - the beds were not very comfortable, water sports were limited to the morning only, no DVD library for the DVD player in the room and the beach was very rocky. It would have been nicer to have more chairs around the pool. As we reached our third and forth nights, room cleanings happened in the late afternoon/early evening, around the same time as turndown service. It really is the little things.

The Denison Cruise was a pleasant experience, and so was the Banjo Twilight Sail. Stay away from the H20 Snorkel Adventure for $85 as the actual snorkelling only lasts an hour...that's it. 40 mins to and from the location and 60 mins of snorkelling in the same spot.

We would definitely go back for a short stay / long weekend as it gets boring on the third day. There aren't as many people during the week and there are only so many restaurants. By the way, the Red Emporer was a big disappointment. The service took way too long and the Red Emperor Beef Plate was extrememly tough.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zanumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Stayed 3 nights in August as part of a 3week holiday in Australia
Mid Fifities Couple.

What an amazing place. Was met at the airport approx. 9.30 in the morning. On arrival was greeted with cocktail whilst facilities explained. Although we arrived early morning our room was available straight away.
Service,breakfast. pool, beach furniture, etc etc. all excellent.
We are fussy re. Hotels, but we felt this was one of if not the best place we have ever stayed.

We recommend if you do stay at Beach Club to try and get a ground floor room. These are away from the dining area and you can walk straight out of your room onto the beach, which we did each morning with a cup of tea thinking about all the rain back in England.

A special thanks to all the staff at Beach Club. Wonderful.

  • Liked — Location & Service
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jurassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The rooms are very pleasant and the views are lovely. What set this hotel apart was the excellent service. The staff were so helpful in a relaxed and sincere way. The breakfasts were memorable. I've never seen a better selection of tropical fruits and the coffee was great..very important!. We loved watching the seagulls stealing bacon off people's plates as the staff tried everything to shoo them away and we really enjoyed talking to the staff. They all seemed to enjoy their jobs and that enthusiasm is infectious. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet and private with a good sized balcony. We loved the fact that this was a "couples only" resort with no children disturbing the peace!! It was very quiet and peaceful. Yes, it is expensive and doesn't compare with a 5 star hotel in Asia but I guess that's because salaries are higher in Australia than in Bali or Thailand.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Island
0.1 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
544 reviews
7.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
11.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
17.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club

Property: Beach Club
Address: 9 Resort Drive, 4803, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hamilton Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hamilton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its absolute beachfront location, the Beach Club offers the ultimate romantic island holiday experience. Set in landscaped gardens, all 57 rooms face directly onto Catseye Beach, each with its own private courtyard or balcony. Exclusive room inclusions / a la carte breakfast daily at the Beach Club restaurant / VIP return Hamilton Island airport / marina to Beach Club transfers / VIP chauffeur service / use of catamarans, paddle skis, windsurfers and snorkeling equipment / use of the gym, spa and sauna / tennis and squash court hire / use of the beach, The Club lounge, pool and restaurant. Note: Beach Club does not cater for persons under the age of 18 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Resort Hamilton Island
Beach Hotel Hamilton Island
Beach Hamilton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing