We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 in 1 Snorkel & Whithaven Beach”

Hamilton Island Watersports
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.15*
and up
Whitehaven Beach and Hamilton Island Cruise
More Info
$401.84*
and up
2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience
Ranked #4 of 17 Tours in Hamilton Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“2 in 1 Snorkel & Whithaven Beach”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The guides were great and friendly. The snorkel spot off of Chalkie's Beach was nothing great...there were maybe a handful of small fish and that was about it. We had an hour on the beach which was plenty. All in all a nice trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank bnicole00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    51
    14
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kwekwe, Zimbabwe
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good afternoon”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although the weather wasn't fantastic we still managed to get out on a the 2 in 1 - half day snorkelling at Chalkies and a visit to Whitehaven beach.

The guides were friendly and helpful and helped make the day a good experience. The fringing reef at Chalkies is home to some beautiful small fish and is a great place to head out for a snorkelling expedition. On a nice sunny day the coral will be amazing and for anyone with underwater cameras it's a fantastic opportunity to get some great shots.

My only complaint was that the wetsuits need a little repair! It was a cold day with reasonably cold water and with a gaping hole in the seam on the side of my wetsuit it was doing next to nothing to keep me warm. I guess normally this is not a problem in such a tropical location however there should be some level of maintenance and/or standards to the equipment that they will use on their tours.

Whitehaven is obviously also a 'must do' while in the Whitsundays and we had a great time there with Watersports.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DiZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sailing, snorkelling, Whitehaven Beach & cocktails!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

On The Edge was one of the highlights during our stay on Hamilton Island. Snorkelling at Chalkies Beach was great & the team provided all the gear. Next stop, Whitehaven Beach. Amazing soft white sand! The crew were fantastic-informative & friendly. The cocktails on return were a hit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Overtoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fun day with excellent guides”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked the full day tour to Chalkies Beach, Whitehaven, Coral Gardens, Hill Inlet and Betty's Beach. All locations were extremely beautiful and the guides ensured everyone enjoyed themselves.
The boat (Reef Ryder 1) was super fast which enabled everyone to see more places compared to the other sailing tours offered from Hamilton Island.
Our first stop Coral Gardens was an off the boat snorkel. The coral was dull but there were a few big fish about.
It was then off to bushwalk to Hill Inlet and a swim at Betty's Beach. This was breathtaking. Particularly Betty's Beach which was basically tourist free compared to the crowded Hill Inlet.
Next was Whitehaven for a lunch of a wrap and small muffin. We were happy to laze on the beach and catch a few rays.
Our favourite spot was Chalkies. The water was crystal clear and glorious with lots of fish and white sands.
The two guys who led the tour were excellent. Safety was paramount, commentary was informative and they made the effort to speak individually to everyone and ensure they were enjoying themselves.
We booked a jet boat tour the next day with the same company and it was also a great ride with an excellent guide.
Excellent value for the hard earned.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffyW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1/2 day snorkel & whitehaven beach trip”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent half day snorkel & whitehaven beach tour on the Reef Ryder Boat. The weather was fantastic, the boat ride was fast (1/2 hour run) and smooth (hardly any chop). The skipper (Brad) and first mate (Matt) made the trip very comfortable.

This trip was very good value, and with a fast, comfortable boat, you get to spend more time at the beach/snorkelling rather than spending most of the time travelling. The snorkelling spot was a bit murky that day and the fringeing reef at Chalkies Beach is not much to write home about (compared to the outer reef etc.) but the water temp was great and still quite a few fish about. This would be a great trip with kids as they could enjoy both the snorkel spot and the beach at Whitehaven.

Whitehaven Beach is one of the best/whitest beaches in the world - a must see while at the Whitsundays

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Island Watersports also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Hamilton Island Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing