We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hamilton Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Explore Group
from $167.44
More Info
from $58.09
More Info
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveler rating
1,213
136
31
14
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,213
136
31
14
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bait reef sunset cruise whitehaven beach fish day trip top deck the great barrier reef buffet lunch afternoon tea snorkel tour dive master full day snorkeling friendly crew butterfly bay windy weather wraps great sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the most amazing day snorkelling with Explore on the Great Barrier Reef, the conditions were pristine and the crew were super helpful and friendly. They assisted my husband who has motor neurone disease in and out of the water and we were able to make some fabulous family memories. We can’t thank you enough!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 773becd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExploreGroup, Marketing Manager at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 773becd
So great to read you both had a great day at the Great Barrier Reef with us - so glad you had perfect conditions!! It was our pleasure to have you both onboard, thanks for choosing Explore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, what a great day! Started the day by getting picked up by the shuttle they arranged for us, so nice. The crew was inredibly proffessional and kind. We went to bait reef,i went for diving and My GF for snorkeling. We had a really great time seeing Turtles, stingrays, sharks and Nemos. The food was nice and they had two indoor areas aswell as ouside areas to hang out to fit everyones needs. The toilets were great aswell.
The crew was very competent and we felt safe all day long.
Would recommend to anyone and would do it again if there was time.

Thank axelo525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExploreGroup, Marketing Manager at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi axelo525
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review, and for recommending us to others! So glad you both had a great time with us visiting the Great Barrier Reef, sounds like you were able to see lots of amazing marine life while you were there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! What an adventure! The day started by Explore Group deciding that it was too rough to head to the GBR due to high seas and that if you wanted you could decline coming out and re-book for another day. We decided any time on the water was better than none. The original plan was to head to Butterfly bay and to several other bays along the Whitehaven beach vicinity. As we motored to Butterfly bay, the Captain was checking the weather as the seas were starting to calm down and then just as we approached Hayman Island, the Captain came on and said that they would make the journey to Bait Reef. OMG! We were happy and excited at the same time. As a family of 4 who journeyed over 20 hours by plane to get to the GBR, this was our main goal in coming to Australia. And for that, we are very grateful to the Explore Captain and Crew. Let me start off by saying that the crew was fantastic!! And 100% focused in passenger safety. The ride from Hayman Island to Bait Reef was extraordinarily rough, and most, with every few exceptions, passengers at one point or another getting sea sick. The crew as amazing!! They were quick to identify passengers who were struggling and focused on ensuring their safety and enjoyment. It seemed like a long ride. Once we got to Bait Reef, the waters was still rough but any standard but almost the entire boat went either diving or snorkeling. It was so fun and again the Explore crew was 100% focused on swimmer safety. They had several crew members in the water on paddle boards with us and even a dinghy to scoop up swimmers that wanted to get out of the water. Our family of 4 are all very strong swimmers and it was a very difficult snorkel. But well worth it! Thank you Explore! Once done, we had lunch on the Reef, what a treat! And headed back to Butterfly bay. We then snorkeled Butterfly Bay and were in awe of the soft coral and beautiful fish. It was indeed and extra ordinary day, one our family will remember. Thank you to the Captain and the Crew for all that you did to get us out to the GBR despite less than perfect conditions!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank ChicagoMom847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExploreGroup, Marketing Manager at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ChicagoMom847
Thanks so much for seeing the positive side of your experience! When we can't make it to the Great Barrier Reef due to the conditions it's always really disappointing, but we're so glad we were able to make it there in the end! This has been a really lovely review to receive, we are really grateful you took the time to write in to let us know about you and your families experience! It was a pleasure to have you all on board with us ✨

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a day sailing, snorkelling and visiting Whitehaven beach on the cataraman On the Edge and it was just a wonderful relaxing day. The boat had 41 tourists plus staff and there was plenty of room to sit or lay on the boat. Staff were fantastic and made sure safety was a high priority. A nice lunch was provided but you had to pay for drinks. At times but especially on the return journey just the sail was used which was just so nice and relaxing sitting in the sun and eating the tropical fruit provided.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExploreGroup, Marketing Manager at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chris F
We're thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing day onboard our sail and snorkel experience! Thanks for taking the time to let us and others know ✨⛵

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

After having been to Airlie beach 3 times already I was looking for an alternative diving location to the overrun hardy reef. And I found it with the explore diving group!
It was a smaller boat with less people than the 200+ people on other boats, the crew were professional yet super friendly, had lots of information to share and the trip out was very quick. The Hamilton island crew had the dive masters and a particular shout out to Matt who took us out on both dives and knew the reef like the back of his hand. Matt had a wealth of knowledge about the reef and marine life and was very happy to help or hang back to look at a particular shark or anemone full of clown fish. Matt was super fun to dive with and talk to about all the fishies of the reef.
I really enjoyed the trip and my friend who tried diving for the first time can’t thank her dive instructor Celine enough for giving her the support and confidence to do the five for the first time! And now she’s wants to get certified!
Thank you to the explore group team on Hamilton island and Airlie beach. You were fantastic and I would definitely recommend this dive trip above all others!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Julzncatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExploreGroup, Marketing Manager at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Julzncatz
Thanks so much for taking the time to write in this lovely review - we really appreciate it! I'll be sure to pass on your shout out to Matt, Celine and the team! Thanks for choosing Explore!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews